We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful ocean views, sunsets, cool snorkeling...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samsara Cliffs Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Samsara Cliffs Resort to your Saves list
Samsara Cliffs Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5th Night Free!
Ranked #42 of 88 Hotels in Negril
Harrison, nj
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful ocean views, sunsets, cool snorkeling...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

More like an upscale backpackers hostle than resort, great budget place to stay in Negril.
The property was lush with different types of tropical trees and plants, was clean as was the room, which was on the "garden side." Negril is a bit out of the way, so there was not to much action going on as far as what a large city would have to offer. More laid back, relaxing, rather than a party atmosphere, etc... was interesting meeting the locals who could be a bit of a hassle at times, aggressively trying to sell you their trinkets.

There is a guy that comes around in a small glass bottom boat at the edge of the cliffs in the morning and for a small charge takes people up the coastline and stops at a few locatotions which provide wonderful snorkeling opportunities, so that is much recomended. Definately be at the cliffs around sunset, AMAZING!
Good little restaurant to the left and just a short walk up the street when you leave the front desk. If you want a bit more to do, definately take one of the day trips that can be accessed from the resort, such as the Appleton Rum Factory tour, YS falls, etc...renting a scooter would be recomended to to help extend yourself a bit further up the street to the very small center of town, and possibly (for the adventurous) to Montego Bay, but beware, the drivers are a bit on the "wild" side and drive on the left.
The resort has a sister hotel called "Legends" which has a shuttle every morning and then back at night. The beach there is amazingly beautiful, named "Seven Mile Beach." You can enjoy cocktails at the beach bar, jet ski, swim. It's a great to walk up a ways if you don't mind the occasional "hard sell" from the locals that are selling thier arts and crafts here too.
Wow, some even smoke "weed" right on the beach if you are so inclined.

All in all it was a nice resort, "no problems wit anyting mon"

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    343
    153
    80
    106
See reviews for
126
440
55
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

you can not call this hotel alinclusive it was discustin staff was pleasent but you no what they was after money money money my room bad and i mean bad same sheets for days came in one day found [--] on my pillow bath room horribly dirty go out on my balcony only thing i saw was trees not a garden view could not see anythink i payed 3500 pound for this holiday and nothink for it my 2 children 11 12 i felt so sorry for them there was nothink for them only a dirty pool no sports no entertainment nothink i feel like crying saved up really hard for this holiday it was 1 year to the date when i went to my fathers death because i took my fathers ashes back last year to jamaica and i stop at riu beautiful hotel but could not afford that this year 25th jan my kids was really up set i had to go to supermarket every day to buy pop because bar never open till 10 and finished at 10 no drinks till 8 in the morning or i would have to buy them till 11 why should i when it surpose to be alinclusive food what can i say sick of seeing chicken chicken chicken they seved you you could not serve yourself i was sick of asking for more one spoonful of everythink i deseve to get my money back and im going to try to its my kids i feel sorry for out of all this and then a stranger wonder into the hotel taking photos of my kids and they did nothink not ring the police or anythink my children was the only kids there this hotel is not for kids and then we had to pay 300 us dollars for air con and safety deposit box any other alinclusive hotels in jamaica i have been in i have not payed for ac or safty deposit box and iv been to jamaica 8 times and every time alinclusive this was bad and i mean bad never again they should not advertise it as family because its not we was only english there as well

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

The hotel is not your usual All Inclusive, but like a homey one. The place is kind of magic, it's over the cliffs of Negril, so you can snorkel (even dive) right from the hotel.

The food was home mada, not as many options as in a fancier A/I but charming. The drinks were nice. There is always nice reagge in the bar.

The place is beautiful and very calm. There0s a shuttle to the hotel partner hotel in the sandy beaches of Negril (Legend's). I would recommend you to stay at the Samsara if you are looking for peace and relaxation.

In general, I really liked the place, it was very very charming. The only issue were the rooms. During the day, the temperature is nice and you can rest OK, but due to the poor isolation and the materials of the building, the rooms get extremely hot and I couldn't sleep well at all. I guess that by openning the windows, it would have make it better, but I got bitten by many mosquitos, so just bring a GOOD anti-mosquitos.

If I went back, I would probably go for a pillar house, that don't have A/C but look amazing from the outside, they are made out of wood and they have anti-bugs nets on the windows, so I guess the temperatura must be great at night.

The hotel is a short ride away from Rick's Café; a must-see in Negril.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

We really enjoyed our B&B stay at Samsara. Our room was a standard with two double beds, very comfordable, a sea view balcony (they all have), ceiling fan, nice sea breeze, very clean and quiet. No mosquitoes at night. Wifi only over the road in their pizza resturant. The bar is double the price compared to local bars. Breakfast was lovely with traditional Jamaican mixed in. We did hear rumours of the All Inclusive food became a bit dull, seemed silly to be All in as local restaurants alone the road are cheaper and very nice, very friendly, just be sensible on the road. Door staff help you cross. A local shop a fewe doors down sells incuding beer. Sunbathing was relaxing and easy on the comfortable cushioned sunbeds and double sunbeds. Pool, paddling pool and jacuzzi where clean and refreshing. We nearly stayed at Xtabi and glad we didn't the whole place is half the size of Samsara. The sunsets are fantastic. Very handy having the free van trip down to Legends, the sea there is gorgeous. Negril village a very short cab ride away, with a band, car hire and patti shop, use local cabs only JD$100 per person.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed on the garden side of Samsara Resort in a cute little cottage with a front porch with a hammock and a couple chairs on it. LOVED IT!! Gardens are away from all the action which was really nice. We loved the resort and would DEFINITELY stay there again! The front desk staff, housekeeping, "crossing guards", etc. were all SO SO FRIENDLY and accommodating! We didn't do the AI because we truly wanted to experience Jamaica, their food and culture. There is a restaurant just past the resort called "Just Natural" that was VERY good and absolutely beautiful garden setting for the tables. The owner/cook was very sweet and pleasing and prices were very reasonable. We ate at "Choices" for breakfast which was delicious too! We found the little huts and stands along the sides of the road that offered great food and drinks to be the best besides the other places I've mentioned! Down the road into Negril further (past the Harley Davidson store) there was a thatched roof hut with a sign that said "Best in the West Jerk Chicken" which was truly a thrill for us! Cute little outside bar with AMAZING food & drinks! We ate there several times and it was a delicious experience! The Coco Bread in Jamaica is amazingly delicious and very reasonable. There is a bakery in downtown Negril that we went to daily to get our Coco Bread and scrumptious sandwiches. ALL prices we paid were SO REASONABLE. We saved so much money by doing Jamaica this way and saw so much more than staying at an all-inclusive (which I have done in Jamaica in the past). I have such an enlightened view of the real culture of the people who live there now after experiencing life as we did the week we were there! LOVED EVERY MINUTE! The view from the cliffs over the ocean were a huge plus! We went snorkeling and swimming off the cliffs which was fun too! Our "neighbors" were there for a wedding at the RIU resort (HUGE all-inclusive resort) and their brother kept coming to our resort because he liked it better at our resort! We used the free Wi-Fi at Ciao Jamaica for anyone needing to stay "in touch" with home or business. We highly recommend staying there and we will definitely be back again in the future!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Okay this one is a little tricky... the Pillar house we stayed in had take your breathe away views and the terrace was very nicely furnished with plenty of space for both of us to enjoy the vistas. The problems were that the bed was really small and the mattress dipped at both sides (left here with awful backache) We booked this on an all inclusive basis...big mistake! Although this may well suit some people I did not like the limited choice of foods and the fact that if you wanted Red stripe you had to pay for it. The food itself was actually very nicely cooked and the serving staff were really lovely. I think that the all inclusive just does not suit me as I hate buffets and only really drink red Stripe whilst in Jamaica. The restaurant on the other side of the road (not part of the all inclusive) was superb and I would recommend it highly. Samsara is on a lovely position on the cliifs, not too far from anything and if you are not such an anti-buffet person as I am the all inclusive may suit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steinbach, MB
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We travelled with three couples in total. We just rented the rooms not AL. But we would definitely go back! Awesome people/service! We enjoyed our stay there alot and will go back again! Only downside was we weren't able to snorkel very much out front of hotel because of waves and wind. We wanted to eat at local restaurants and this resort has the BEST resaurants around it. Check out Choices, King Royal, Bentleys Crab House and Sweet Spot. Also it is in walking distance to Xtabi and a short drive to Ricks Cafe!! Loved the atmosphere in the hotel and around it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Samsara Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samsara Cliffs Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Negril
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samsara Cliffs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Samsara Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samsara Cliffs Hotel Negril
Samsara Hotel Jamaica
Samsara Cliffs Negril
Samsara Cliff Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samsara Cliffs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.