We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samsara Cliffs Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Samsara Cliffs Resort to your Saves list
Samsara Cliffs Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 90 Hotels in Negril
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

BEAUTIFUL CLIFFSIDE VIEW! The staff at this hotel was exceptional! Jenique at the front desk was so sweet and helpful as well as all of the staff at the bar. Everyone made us feel like we were right at home. The hotel is a bit far from the airport (about and hour and 20mins) but the drivers were so nice so the ride was very smooth. Please note, this is not a party hotel! However; If you're looking for relaxation and peace and quiet this is definitely the place. The rooms are very simple. They are a bit dated and you don't get shampoo, conditioner a blow dryer or an iron but they are very clean. We upgraded to a room with AC but we never used the AC anyway because the breeze coming in from the balcony and the ceiling fan did an awesome job. The food and drinks were decent and reasonably priced. If you go here you must try the rum punch. I feel like I got what I paid for. The only reason why I would not go back here is because of the distance from the airport. Besides that I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    320
    137
    75
    96
See reviews for
114
404
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Small and unique, gorgeous views just like Ricks, how nice to sit at the bar sipping your favorite wine and watching a glorious sunset! The rooms are unique, furniture all hand made and the family owned aspect is truly wonderful! The Staff are friendly and fun and the cottages in the gardens are well cared for and individual ... relax and enjoy! Groups and weddings can be arranged super easily ... sister property The Legends Beachfront in Negril on 7 mile stretch of white sand .... shuttles daily share both resorts. Fabulous, see you there! Taking my Blues in Jamaica 2015 Negril group here Jan 22 to 29th ... cant wait to see it again!

Room Tip: You can book those amazing Pillar Bungalows right ON the waterfront, all windows open and the breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just got back from Negril Jamaica where we spent 7 fantastic days at the Samsara Cliff Resort.

Samsara is a small resort sitting directly on the sea and the cliffs. Not an extremely fancy place but for the money it was clean, views are spectacular, and the staff all friendly and fun.

Sherona at the bar and Jenique at the front desk
were fabulous and a plus to the resort.

We did not go for the all inclusive package that they offered as we wanted to get out and experience Jamaica.

If you're looking for an inexpensive, relaxing getaway Samsara is it.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Mon,
That is what we like to hear! Thank you so much. Sounds like you enjoyed yourself and we are so glad to have been a part of it. You cannot beat the cliffs! We'll definitely pass on your kind words to Sherona and Jenique. Our staff loves hearing the feedback! Until next time...
One love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Captain Ray was our transport to Samsara. He and his wife were very friendly and we enjoyed his hospitality. Then we arrived at Samsara around 10 in the evening only to be told we were given an "upgrade" to the sister property Legends. I kindly refused the upgrade as I was exhausted from traveling. The truth then came out that they were over booked etc. We kindly accepted and got back in the vehical to drive back to Legends. It would have been appreciated to know this before we arrived at Samsara as you pass Legends to get to Samsara. Legends was nice and on the beach. Beautiful view. We arrived the following afternoon to check into Samsara. They gave us 2 keys for our room, 1 for air conditioning and 1 for the door. We left our room for dinner and came back to discover our ac key was gone...I called the front desk attendant and asked about our ac. She informed me that for 36 per day we could have ac! I had previously called when i reserved the room to make sure we had ac and was told yes no problem! I stated over the phone that she had already given us a key and showed us how to use the ac...she denied ever giving us a key to the ac. We walked up front to speak with a manager and were told there wasnt one until the am. This had to be around 8 or 9pm. She then admitted giving us an ac key but only by, mistake! We left and went back to our room to sleep with no ac. The next am we left for breakfast and came back to our ac key in our room! Basically they feel they can access your room when its convenient for them. No apologies for the inconvenience. Overall a place to sleep but not somewhere I will stay again. Rooms are dated but clean. The shower is terrible and goes hot to cold on its own. Id say everyone except the front desk staff is friendly and helpful. Captain Ray is a great driver. The woman that runs the kitchen does an amazing job. I think Josephine is her name. Also all the bartenders at Samsara were very pleasant and accommodating.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hey mon,
Thank you for reviewing! We're so sorry that the upgrade to our property on the beach was not to your liking at first. However, we are relieved that once there you seem to have enjoyed your stay. It must be Jeanie your referring to or Rose, both great people in kitchen. And our bartenders at Samsara are a lot of fun of course. We are also sorry about the confusion that seems to have taken place with your AC. Please email us at stay@negrilhotels.com with the room number you stayed in so that we can look into the matter. Hopefully we can serve you better in the future.
One love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Samsara is a great little boutique resort! The best part about it is that you are able to get the best of both worlds by using the shuttle to The Legends on 7 Mile Beach. It was awesome to go to the beach from 10-4 then come back to the quiet of the cliffs for a few jumps or a soak in the hot tub. If you are young and looking for a place to party all night this is not the place for you, if you are looking for relaxation and peace and quiet, this place is perfect!!!!
We chose to do the all-inclusive package and the food was just fine. Its not a big buffet, its more like you are going to someones house for a home cooked meal. They dish up your meal for you, you cant do this yourself. Some of the dishes were great and some we didnt care for as much. You always had 4 options and a salad and dessert. I found that breakfast and supper were ususally always good and lunches were hit and miss. There are specific meal times and I did hear some people complain about this, but honestly how often do you need to eat????? Not once was I hungry and waiting for the next meal. We ate out a few times. We went to Catcha Falling Star which was awesome, I highly recommend it if you want to go out for a nice meal. The cost was about $110 US. We had the pizza at Ciao's one day($16US) and it was really good. We also went out for a couple appetizers at Kuyaby next door to Legends one afternoon. There is a mall right accross the street from Legends and their is a Scotiabank ATM machine there that will give you American or Jamaican dollars.
We booked the cheapest Gardenview room without air-condtioning on Redtag.ca and ended up with a great oceanview room(rm105). I dont think its possible to get a bad room at Samsara so I would recommend just booking the cheapest room and see what you get. Even the little cottages across the street looked really quiet and nice. We did end up purchasing the air-conditioning for $18 US/day on our second day, not because we were hot but because when you sleep with your window wide open you hear everyone coming and going and visiting etc.
The tiles in the pool do really need to be replaced, we did see a few people cut their feet during the week.. Remember to bring your own beach towels, they are not supplied. In our room we had 3 clean towels and 2 washcloths everyday. The odd day we didnt have the hottest water to shower with, some days it was just lukewarmish. There is free wifi in the bar area and it worked good somedays and somedays it was a little slow.
We went to Rick Cafe one day which is a must see. The divers are amazing!!!!There is no cover charge to get in and the service is really slow so it is impossible to spend a lot of money there!!!! We went early afternoon, there was barely anyone there and it took about 15mins at least to get one drink!!!! I think it tends to get really busy there for the sunset so if you want to jump and swim I would recommend going early. We also went on a Chukka horseback riding tour, which was okay, you do get to ride in the ocean with the horses which is neat but that part is only about 5/10mins long, and I dont think the horses like swimming in the salt water!!!!
If you want to pay $3000 per person and get pampered at a Sandals then you should book there, but if you want to pay less than half that price, this is a great little spot!!!! We would definitley return!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hey mon,
Nice review! Respect.. Very informative. So glad you enjoyed one of our garden side rooms. They were recently renovated and people are falling in love with them! Maybe try an ocean view next time ;) They were just updated too.. Saving one just for you!
One love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Better late then never... We are returning to Samsara in March of 2015 for our 3rd stay in as many years. Have to admit our first stay there was a "change" from the bigger resort we had stayed in the previous two years! By the end of our stay, however, we were hooked!
If you want a beach resort...don't stay here...
if you want a loud party all night atmosphere...don't stay here...
This resort is AMAZING if you are easy going people who want a relaxing holiday with the best of both worlds. Cliff side resort keeps you away from the hustle and bustle, but take the shuttle to Legends and you stay at one and play at two!
Samsara is a place we call home. The staff is amazing and takes care of you from the minute you enter the gates. There has never been a minute that we have not felt safe there. From the gentlemen who helped us with our luggage to the housekeepers who tended our room, we ALWAYS felt our privacy and safety was first and foremost. One event that remains foremost is when we had left gifts in our room for our housekeepers, which we always do. One morning I had returned to my room while they were cleaning. They graciously left to let me collect my things that I was collecting to head to Legends. A Supervisor housekeeper pulled me aside and asked if the things we had left on our spare bed were indeed for the staff, even though we had left a small note. This pure honestly blew my mind!
The Bar Staff and Restaurant Staff are quite attentive and even remembered us on our return trip. Some of these like Owayne,Sherona and Pauline just join in on the fun at the Bar, even when this Canadian and one American who we met last yr decided to Sing Karaoke..... I didn't say it was good.....LOL
The Drinks are Strong and Tasty!!! Not at all 'Watered Down" as some have reported.
The Rooms are Clean and Comfy, but you do need your own Beach Towel, Purchase them Locally and support somebody.
As far as the Food.... Well I for one Love it!!! Not a Huge Selection but you should always find something you will like. The weak spot though I would have to say is Lunch. Fries and Burgers maybe some peoples choice...but We ARE IN JAMAICA !!!! I for one Don't want to have North American Food here. But the Omelette for Breakfast Plus the Fresh Fruit makes up for the Lunch Shortcomings.
Supper? Dinner? Whatever you decide to call it was usually pretty AWESOME!! From the "Jamaican Night" held outside on the Beautiful Cliffs to the Fresh Buns and Soups right down to the mashed Potatoes and Beef Stew, the fresh local caught fish...Samasara does not disappoint!
We will be returning the night of March 9 and reuniting with our American friends we met at Samsara last year for another fun filled week. We all decided we needed to meet again at this amazing place!
Looking forward to seeing you there !

Greetings and Salutations from Greg and Deb Jeworski....
....meeting Robyn and Keith Day at Samsara for a reunion!
BRING IT On!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean View Never Disappoints!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NegrilhotelsManager, General Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Mon!
What a review! Thank you for all the love.. And so much love for the staff. It is heartwarming to hear. I will definitely be reading this to our amazing team. The staff are the backbone of the experience we offer and the bulk of them have been with us from the very beginning. Samsara is a truly unique place, one that is not for everyone; we are so glad that you have to come to understand and love it. We proudly welcome you to the family and we'll see ya soon!
One love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice scenery and sunset; however very dated and in need of updating.
Shower drained to the ground through a hole in the wall. We enjoyed the chicken visiting us in the morning. Needs more food choices and longer hours for bar and dining.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NegrilhotelsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Samsara Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hey mon,
Respect for the review! Happy you enjoyed our amazing sunsets and the scenery. The chicken we will have to look into ;) But seriously email us at stay@negrilhotels.com with the room number you stayed in so we can look into that shower. We would greatly appreciate it. We certainly hope you will return and give us the chance to serve you better!
One love
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samsara Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samsara Cliffs Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Negril
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samsara Cliffs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Samsara Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samsara Cliffs Hotel Negril
Samsara Hotel Jamaica
Samsara Cliffs Negril
Samsara Cliff Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samsara Cliffs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.