We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Samsara ~ Lovely Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samsara Cliffs Resort

Save Saved
You added Samsara Cliffs Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Samsara Cliffs Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West End Rd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 91 hotels in Negril
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Samsara ~ Lovely Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My Husband and I just got back from a lovely time here. It is not, however, without its faults and is definitely not for everyone. If you are looking for a glitzy pampering experience don't go here. If you want something very quiet and highly relaxing in a gorgeous setting then this might be the place for you.
Our accommodations were in the little bungalows across the street from the main hotel. We have very mixed feelings about this experience. The bungalows are adorable, very spacious, very sweet. Each has its own porch with chairs and hammock. They do not have air conditioning which we were fine with. Loved the big ceiling fan. The placement of the bungalows is a bit of a problem though. First of all crossing the road is very tricky on the hairpin turn, though Peter was always there to help. What was the most challenging was the barking dogs in the neighborhood the bungalows border. We ended up buying earplugs--problem solved. But this is the sort of place it is, kind of do it yourself. The staff when told of this problem (they must have heard it before) told us there were no other accommodations though we were wiling to pay for the upgrade. The boss/owner said that the owners of the dogs (sounded like there were a dozen of them) was told to do something about it. It did happen again from night to night. We seemed to adjust.
The bed was very comfortable.
The room lacked for adaquate lighting. The shower needs to run for a very long time before it gets hot. Little things that might bother some people
The food is very good. We tried many Jamaican dishes and all was good. Coral was such a sweetie. We had really wished there was more variety in the salads and fruits. A snack between lunch and dinner would have been lovely too.
The drinks were lots of fun and the bar is open from 10-10 which was fine for us.
Swimming here is fun and you can jump from the cliffs. The water is gorgeous and crashed against the rocks the whole time we were here. We spent our days basking in the sun and swimming in the surf and pool which was very refreshing. *** Guests must provide their own beach towels. We did not know this before going and ended up buying towels in the gift shop.
This hotel is older and has its own vibe which we found very enjoyable. There is a shuttle everyday over to the sister hotel Legends which is on the beach. We enjoyed that very much too. The sand beach is beautiful and there is lots of activity there. We enjoyed buying fruits from the beach vendors and really didn't mind their hustle. You can walk for miles on this beach. The all inclusive includes food at Legends which is the same as the food at Samsara.
Samsara is so laid back and romantic. The views are amazing.
We felt very safe at Samsara. Our room was very clean and tidy.
We have very fond memories of our stay here.

Room Tip: Choose your room wisely. Not all come with a/c. Bungalows across the street can be noisy i.e. barkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    274
    121
    69
    92
See reviews for
103
355
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

my phone was stolen from the room. When we called the phone, the thief told us he got the phone from a hotel employee and asked for a reward. the manager's response? this happen all the time.thefts like this are unavoidable. i disagree. i think security of your guests belongings IN THEIR ROOMS should be paramount. this hotel needs a lot of updating. got to Negril, but don't stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Arrived on Dec 18th with my husband and two teenage daughters. We were looking for a quiet, warm holiday at a reasonable price. We wanted to be able to stay for two weeks...so cost was important. This was my husbands 18th time to Jamaica and my 5th visit. We arrived at night so had to wait until the morning to see the spectacular view! Our room was really clean and met our basic needs. Our room was cleaned daily by Marcia who was very friendly and fun to talk to! Our balcony provided a fabulous view of the ocean and well kept property! My husband is partially disabled and has difficulty walking, but he was able to manouever in most areas of the property except for the restaurant. The restaurant is located above the bar, which provides a wonderful view of the ocean with open windows to feel the warm Jamaican breeze! Meals were graciously provided for my husband and family at a table on ground level just outside the bar with a view of the ocean! Food was tasty, well presented and served to us with a Jamaican smile! An improvement on the food would be to have more fresh fruit available during the day and more choices of salads. Meals were also very repetitive and could be changed up a bit, My daughters would have liked to have had a snack bar available as part of all-inclusive package. The staff in the restaurant were extremely friendly and willing to help in anyway! Especially Miss Pauline - Food and Beverage Manager and Georgia -Cook/Baker- makes tasty buns! Servers, namely Carmenia, Kareem, Sherona and many more that I am sorry I cannot remember their names...The cliffs were fun for my daughters to jump off, sunsets were more than spectacular every night! We went to Legends, the sister hotel for one day, but found it too busy with many people on the beach. The locals trying to sell us stuff were not too bothersome. Welcome to Jamaica! The security man, Michael was always there to help deal with any problems. We liked the peaceful quiet up on the cliffs for the rest of our holiday. We went on one day trip to YS Falls which was recommended and set up by Roxanne at the front desk. It was awesome! Our driver, Gregory made the trip very interesting with his love of Jamaica! The Spa services at SamSara were enjoyed by our whole family. My daughters had their hair braided and we all had wonderful massages by Lisael. I will never forget the sound of the waves on the cliffs and the ocean breeze while I had my massage! This is an older property, but the management, staff and view made up for any shortcomings we experienced! The bar was fun, even though it did close down at 10, which could be a little early. Owayne provided drinks with a smile and a little song and dance when encouraged! Our family, especially our daughters felt very safe on this property. Construction during this time did not disturb us to any extent as we could see the improvements were definitely necessary. For vacation dollars spent we felt SAMSARA CLIFFS RESORT more than met our expectations! This was a wonderful relaxing family vacation. We will be back soon!!

Room Tip: We had an Oceanview room with double beds with air conditioning. We only used the a/c in the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here with only moderate expectations...they were not met. First of all DO NOT do the all-inclusive if you make the mistake of staying here. The only thing good about this place is the location ..but trust me there are 10 resorts with just as good, if not better locations on the cliffs. The food was terrible for the most part with only one or two exceptions. The drinks were very small and limited to overly sweet drinks served by very unhappy bartenders. In Fact, the entire staff with the exception of one or two were extremely unhappy which is very depressing. Grounds are poorly lit at night, hot tub is cold tub, and air-conditioned rooms aren't really air-conditioned , they have air-conditioners that may bring the room down to a toasty 75 or so. There is a nice pool. Bar closes at 10 pm if you're lucky. Oh...and sharing legends which is even more disappointing is no big bonus...vulture beach impastas flock to their space to sell you low-grade goods. This is an honest account of this place from someone who is just not that hard to please. Do yourself a favor - Don't Stay Here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

having been transfered from the sister hotel legends after a week of disgusting food,booming music from the next door bar till 5am,all inclusive bar that shuts at 10 every night and a beach full of drug dealers i thought this would be better,it was but not by a lot ,the food was better at least it was hot but the same boring menu, no fruit,ice cream unless you paid,no salad unless you call coleslaw the salad option,jerk chicken full of bones,stodgie tuna pasta,we paid for the all inclusive but both hotels are not,more like a bed and breakfast.the bar shuts at 10 even new years eve,little cups of beer and the spirits watered,we spent extra and went out for food ,but it aint cheap,the italian over the road was good pizzas excellent as was the restaurant next to legends but we had paid all inclusive and didnt get any value for money.this isnt my first holiday aboard (ive done most of europe and asia)but it was my first to jamacia and i wont be going back.the good things about the holiday the sun and the snooking off the cliffs .some of the staff were a bit offish esp at legends with things being a bit too much trouble,the manager there paul wilson did go out of his way to help us(thank you),and at samsara id like to thank patricia on the front desk,owayne the bar man,our cleaner cant remember her name,and the man who seemed to be running things tom .to sum it up waste of a holiday,waste of money,waste of xmas and new year we wont be coming back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Juwst returned and prior to leaving read several of the reviews especially the poor ones. Good thing as when we made our initial reservation we did not realize we had to specify a/c not just a ceiling fan

The physical plant needs some upgrading, for xeample the a/c units are above the door and while they work great they drip on entrance area

No beach towels provided so make sure you bring your own or are prepared to buy ones there

Legands Beach resort was nasty with all the people trying to sell you anything or sing to you

Although it was suoposed to be all inclusive the food included was very limited , usually two entree's and two other sides and at best it was average.If you wanted hamburger or something like that it was extra and even then wasnt that good

Best to just take european plan and get local fair , like food from 3 dives shack , about a 5 minute walk but well worth it

Seemed as most women employee's were allof , not interested but men went out of their way especially Peter at front desk and Kareem at restaurant

what was good

Pools, cabana, cliff diving that was set up so even my 10 year old could go, nobody trying to sell us anything

best part was that things seemed to wind down by 10-11 so one was not kept up all night with bar noise, music . You can get that at Legands

dissappointed that we were not told about front office construction , even on new years day , before we arrived. Made taking afternoon siesta difficult

We would consider going back but not on all inclusive plan and with hopes that some of the physical plant issues are resolved

hope this helps others

Room Tip: go for the4 cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I'm a little late with my review but my bf and I stayed here May 2nd-9th, 2012. We booked through negrilonestop.com. Check-in was fast and easy. We stayed in a pillar house, which sits near the edge of the cliffs, and the view was spectacular! Listening to the waves at night was so peaceful. The bed wasn't great but it wasn't horrible either. There was a tv, a closet, a desk and a hammock on the balcony which is where I spent most of my time. There was also a comfy swing under the pillar house and I can't stress how beautiful the view was from here too. The room was always kept clean with fresh towels, wash cloths and bath soap. The highlight of the pillar house was the outdoor shower located under the pillar house. It was so exotic!! The grounds are nice, chairs are plentiful for kicking back and relaxing and watching people cliff jump was fun! The spa facility looked really nice but i didn't get a chance to try out a service. There is a shuttle bus that goes to their sister resort, Legends, which was free and ran twice a day. This was convenient and saved us money when it came to taxis. We didn't do all-inclusive and I'm glad we didn't. The food was mediocre and flavorless, especially breakfast, and the drinks were not necessarily top shelf; they were really watered down. Some of the bar staff weren't really friendly either. There is a restaurant across from Samsara, Ciao, that serves great pasta and drinks and we also ate at Just Natural which was a 5 minute walk from the resort. Xtabi resort serves amazing breakfast dishes, especially their French Toast breakfast!! This resort is about a 10 minute walk from Samsara. I miss the outdoor shower, the swing, the hammock on the balcony and most of all, the views. I would visit this resort again if they offered a discount on the pillar houses or lowered the price overall.

Room Tip: If you're not on a budget, a pillar house is the way to go! T4 is the one we had and the most se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Samsara Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samsara Cliffs Resort

Address: West End Rd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Negril
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#42 Business Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samsara Cliffs Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Samsara Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samsara Cliffs Hotel Negril
Samsara Hotel Jamaica
Samsara Cliffs Negril
Samsara Cliff Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samsara Cliffs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.