We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samsara Cliffs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Samsara Cliffs Resort to your Saves list
Samsara Cliffs Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Place to Relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We loved our trip to Samsara. I read reviews before we left so I was prepared for several of the issues others had addressed, such as the lack of beach towels. You can purchase beach towels there for about $10 US dollars or you can take your own. Our room was clean and we had plenty of hot water. We did the all inclusive plan and enjoyed the food. The staff were very friendly and even helped us locate a doctor that would come to the hotel when my husband got sick. Legends was just as nice and we spent two days relaxing on the beach. You can take the shuttle offered, catch a cab or walk. A cab ride will cost about $5 US dollars and all you have to do is start walking and you will be offered a ride by several drivers. We used Clovis and Collin for our cab drivers and enjoyed both of them very much. As far as being hassled to buy things, we did not feel hassled or threatened in any way. Just say "No, thank you" and move on. We can't wait to go back. Its low key and quiet. Its not a 4 or 5 star resort, so if that's what you want, go somewhere else. If you want a clean, laid back place to enjoy great views, Samsara is the place for you.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 1B very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    338
    147
    80
    102
See reviews for
123
432
54
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Samsara is simple, clean and far from ordinary. I loved the experience of staying in the tree houses and nothing more liberating than the showers outside below your tree house. I dived off the cliffs and opened my eyes to the vastness of the sea underneath. That water is so clear you can see miles a far. Samsara offers relaxation all while you are in the midst of Negril and can quickly get to other attractions. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The tree houses were very cool and we felt the ceiling fan was more than enough to keep us comfortable. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was my 3rd trip to Negril and 1st time staying on 'the cliff side.' I am very glad I did!
The location of this hotel, right on the cliffs along the West End road, is great and you can use the beach at their sister resort "Legends." They have a free shuttle that goes back and forth between Samsara and Legends quite frequently that you can take, or you can rent a bike, scooter, or hire a taxi (we rented scooters - best way to see Negril IMO). The beach is nice but can be a little busy at times - I'd rather have the cliffs as home base and make forays to the beach. You can still swim at Samsara, there just isn't any sand (jump off the cliffs or take one of the many ladders into the surf).

Myself and a friend recently spent 4 nights at the Hotel Samsara. The price was very reasonable and we had a room with two beds (the room had a loft with the second bed). Our room (and most if not all that I saw) had its own porch with a hammock, and was just a few feet back from the ocean side cliffs.

The food was decent, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Directly across the street is a restaurant called "Caio Jamaica" and they make the best Pizza I had ever tasted (seriously).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous location! Quiet, pleasant, charming. Jump off the cliffs into a very warm ocean. Nice pool. Cold whirlpool. Beach beds. Massage area. Kind staff. No hagglers inside the resort. Cognitive, involved, proactive owner. The concierge/manager (?), was a very personable young man whom seemed to be a jack of all trades (customer service, karaoke host, crossing guard). Some renovations occurring currently due to the hurricane but that did not hinder our stay. It's really hot on the cliffs compared to the beach. You will want/need air in your room. Bring beach towels and shampoo. I saw a lot of the all inclusive people with insulated cups for their all you can drink piña coladas and other fancy drinks, good idea!! We did not have all inclusive because we like to have experiences outside the resort but did have a few breakfasts and lunches at Samsara which were good. Left my wallet accidentally at the bar area one evening and received a call from the front desk stating they had it safe and sound, credit cards and all!! Sheets clean, room smelled bleachy after afternoon cleaning. 2 for 1 happy hour drinks 4pm-7pm each night. Our experience was wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Samsara (and certainly the rest of Jamaica) felt like coming home, wonderful place, good food, amazing friendly people. They do anything to make your wishes come true. Next year we'll be back to see your new lobby ;-) With love from the Netherlands! Marjorie de Jong

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inuvik, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We travelled to Jamaica and stayed at the Samsara and fell in love with everything! We definately looked for a place that wasn't cookiecutter resortlike and more off the beaten path...we found it! Samsara was the perfect getaway for us! My husband and I travelled with our 23 month old daughter and had a great time. The location was superb and the resort was perfect for us. All the staff were super nice and very eager to please. Everyone was super helpful and friendly. We opted out of the all-inclusive and chose room only. We stayed in the cottages on the cliff side and everything was just perfect. 1A was awesome! Big spacious room with 2 queen beds and a little couch and tv. Lots of closet space and furnishings and a verandah with patio chairs and table and even a hammock..but most importantly a gorgeous view of the landscape and cliffs. Samsara is very tolerant about smoking pot! Nobody cares as it should be..but no one was really smoking pot in the public areas which was also very considerate for the guests who do not partake. It seemed that all the guests just smoked in their rooms and on their decks and patios and no one really cared. It was fantastic! With that being said, Samsara is not a party resort by any means. Its a very lowkey casual resort that becomes a ghost town at 10pm when the bar closes. The bar served tasty drinks and cold beers and the restaurant had yummy foods. The menu service was great. We never had a meal we didn't enjoy at Samsara but we didn't eat there often. Ciao Jamaica across the street makes a mean lobster pizza! My husband claims that it is infact the best pizza ever...I'll happily agree and the garlic shrimp calzone is a very close second! There are plenty of great places to eat all within walking distance..we chose to take cabs as the streets are narrow with no sidewalks and we had a little one in tow. Choices, Pablo's, 3 Dives and Ciao were our staples but Canoe, Sweet Spice and Juicy J's were all tasty too! We never used the exchange privileges at Legends on the beach. But its a nice option to have. The resort itself offered enough for us that we didn't feel the need to be on the crowded beach with all the vendors and partiers. We stayed for 9 days and did alot of day trips. The 3 days we had with no itinerary were great! Samsara has 2 great pools, a jacuzzi and many spots to enter the sea! This was a great resort for the cost and we had a great vacation!

Room Tip: The cottages are awesome! We stayed in 1A and loved it! Note that there is no fridge or A/C but I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Santee, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Cindy and I have been there twice, each time stayed in the 'monkey huts', as I fondly call them. Planning to go again next year. The staff were exceedingly helpful and friendly, and made our stays as stress-free as can be imagined. The grounds and buildings are clean, colorful, relaxing. And the views are indescribable.Plan to take a LOT of photos, especially at sunset. I would dive from the cliffs into the crystal clear water every morning before a delicious Jamaican breakfast. The sister resort Legends on the gorgeous white sand beach is equally fun and enjoyable. Excellent all around, and highly recommended. Peace.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Samsara Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samsara Cliffs Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Negril
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samsara Cliffs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Samsara Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samsara Cliffs Hotel Negril
Samsara Hotel Jamaica
Samsara Cliffs Negril
Samsara Cliff Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samsara Cliffs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.