We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean, friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alfred's Ocean Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alfred's Ocean Palace
Save
You added Alfred's Ocean Palace to your Saves list
Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Ranked #58 of 88 Hotels in Negril
Warsaw
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Basic, clean, friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Sorry Cindy it took us so bloody long! Basic rooms (a bit hard matresses), great location, fantastic hosts, mind-blowing gigs. Stayed for 3 weeks, got what promised. Cindy was fantastically helpful and Alfred just 'bought' us with his numerous offers of trips on his boat together with other guests. Be careful though if you're looking for a place to relax after hard days - gigs are really loud! Anyway, I'd definitely recommend this place to budget guests. Oh, and great housekeepers - always felt secure while leaving my stuff with them.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
norfolk ontario canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

If you want to be where you can relax and explore this is probably just the spot.
All inclusive vacations have given way {for me} to a much more enjoyable type of vacation.
All ins sort of tie you down but a small place on the beach such as Alfreds can be an enjoyable and even much more exciting experience.
Alfreds is not fancy but it is clean and comfortable. The Food is great and reasonable.
Same goes for the bar and its staff.
Great place to spend a lazy afternoon and meet other tourists and locals or walk the beach and discover more beach bars and small hotels.
Alfreds really comes alive on tues. fri. and sunday nights.
The reggae nights are a blast. They close off the property at the beach area and charge a pittance admission price for other tourists and locals. The Band comes on about 9 pm and you never know what guest artists may appear during the night. Its great entertainment with a real mix of locals and tourists.
So if you have been stuck on the all in thing try something different, you may never go back to all ins again.
Not all vacation spots could pull this off but Negril is the spot to feel safe, explore the restaraunts and beach bars and just enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

Been going to Alfred's 5 yrs. straight now and never think about staying anywhere else. There's nothing fancy, but the rooms are clean, the people great, and you're always treated like part of the family. Don't spend much time in the room anyway and you're right on the beach. It's not all-inclusive so you have to get out and explore. Super friendly atmosphere and the perfect location if your looking to explore J the way the locals live. Food at Alfred's is always good, Sondra & Beulah do a great job of cleaning your room, and Damian, Rudy, & Chris make the best drinks on the beach. 3 nights a week there's a Reggae party that usually lasts until 1am. You can always find someone around that can help you find anything you want to do. We've made quite a few friends and it's always hard to leave. Cindy and Alfred are great hosts and we always feel safe. There are some hagglers around but a simple "no thanks" will usually send them on their way. All in all, a great place to stay if you're looking to experience J without the all-inclusive amenities and explore.

  • Liked — Atmosphere, beach, food, people
  • Disliked — Water pressure, shower will back up occasionally
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

cannot be beaten for a low cost stay
great beach front location
reggae parties 3 nights a week are great
good food
very friendly staff, cindy is a wonderful lady and gracious hostess
will be returning for another stay in 07

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edisto Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2006

I was at Alfred's in October of 2005, and I fell in love with the place. I could not wait to get back, so my last visit was March 2006. I think Alfred's is the best spot on the beach! It is clean, affordable, and as close to the beach as you can get. Cindy and Alfred are great and they have a wonderful group of people working there for them. We felt right at home, and we left knowing we had some new friends who would be happy to see us on every return visit. When we got there on our last trip, we felt like we had never left! Thanks to Damien, Wayne, Rudy and everyone else for making us feel so at home - we miss everyone and will see you again soon!
--Heather & Donny

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2006

What a great bargin, I have stayed there many times on my visit's to Negril. By far the best value on the beach. The rooms aren't fancy but comfy. the staff and qwners make you feel like family whie your there. There are hustlers but be kind and refuse and they usually leave you alone. I will buy them a beer and [--] with them and befriend them and they will tell others to leave you be. Meet a friendly native and let him show you the sites and the way the natives live. He will most likey invite you to his house or his mothers house for some real Jamacian cooking. (what a treat). Have done this many of times and will do it again. Or ask to go to a real jamacian diner away from the tourist traps and eat some awesome jamacian food. Learn how they live outside the tourist destanations. We can eat at a real local spot if your with a native for a 1/4 of what you'll pay in Negril, And I am talking a wonderful meal. Say A taxi from alfreads to ricks(on the cliffs) will cost us like 300 ja it will cast a native 10 -20 ja. So get out and see how life really is while your there.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, WI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2005

Visited Jamaica for the 1st time and had a wonderful time at Alfred's. Long walks on the beautiful beach, Great food at reasonable prices and of course the rum punch was always fresh and delightful. We enjoyed getting a true taste of Jamaica, but feeling safe at the same time. I do have to admit the hustlers were a BIG turnoff, it's too bad that can't be controlled better. The river walk, horsebacking riding and the hummingbird sanctuary just enhanced the trip. Thanks Cindy & Alfred, see you again!

  • Stayed April 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Alfred's Ocean Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfred's Ocean Palace

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 88 Hotels in Negril
Also Known As:
Alfred`s Ocean Palace Hotel Negril
Alfreds Ocean Palace Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfred's Ocean Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.