We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seastar Inn - The experience gets better and better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seastar Inn

Save Saved
You added Seastar Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seastar Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 2653, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct Get 40% Off
Ranked #10 of 91 hotels in Negril
Troy, New York, United States
2 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Seastar Inn - The experience gets better and better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is my second review of the Seastar Inn. April 2013 was my fourth stay there. This review is based on my experience as a solo traveler.

I have put some thought into why I have been back to Seastar for four trips in a row now. There are least several other great hotels in Negril that are well reviewed, but for me...Seastar is home. When I stay in the West End..it's Seastar, hands down.

There is no guessing at Seastar. The consistency and quality is the best I have experienced in 12 trips to the island. You will be satisfied each and every time.

Chris is the owner and he and the staff have a way of making sure guests are taken care of. Clarol, Barbara, Rochelle, and Rambo...as well as the bartenders Randy and Alvin, are simply great people who genuinely care about your visit. Okema is always wearing a smile and even the staff that I have not interacted with much are friendly and accommodating. Garret, the caretaker, is a guy Friday for the place and he helped me out with a scooter issue that would have otherwise been a nightmare. If you are looking for a spot where you can really settle in and relax...this is the place. The staff will take care of you and make sure you have a good time.

If it is your first trip and you don't know the area...the answer to how to get somewhere is just a question away...I've seen Chris give guests rides to the beach and to the ATM in his personal car, or arrange for the Seastar van to bring a party of 5-6 to The Jungle nightclub. I bumped into the Seastar's security guard, Rambo, off the resort and he stopped to have a chat. I asked and he gave me advice on where to go and what to do.

After one stay you will understand what I mean...and you will be back...it's THAT good.

The sense of security and comfort is coupled with huge, clean rooms, great food, an unmatched pool area and bar, and easy walking distance to the stunning views of the cliffs and Rick's bar. If you are looking for amenities similar to what you would expect in American or Canadian hotels...this is the place for you.

I love Seastar and it would be difficult to go to Negril and stay elsewhere on the cliffs. I'd miss "my home away from home" too much. Feel free to email me specific questions.

Insider tips: 1. the fish fingers are my new favorite menu item. 2. If you order a pizza and don't finish it, you can ask the bartender to keep it in the kitchen and they will warm it up for you later. 3. Barbara, at the bar most days, makes a KILLER dirty banana. 4. The jerk pork is great but it is almost TOO BIG to eat alone! 5. The free beach shuttle leaves at 11 am and will pick you up at 4 pm anywhere you want. Tipping the driver is courteous. 5. A good beach that is annoyance (higgler) free is Boardwalk Beach. I have taken my kids there as well as a friend and her 2-year old child and it is safe, and clean, with a nice bar right next to the water.

Room Tip: Room 17 is awesome, and I like Room 16 too when I am seeking lots of privacy. The safes in rooms 17...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    40
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
77
36
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was our third stay at the Sea Star and it was just awesome.
From the staff hugs and the warm greetings everyday it is special here.
Other than the saturday night reggae show this is a pretty quite and relaxed place.
The food quality is what sets this small hotel apart from the crowd, IMHO.
We loved it so much we are booked for six weeks next year, can't wait to go back again.
This hotel has a huge repeat crowd, so book early.
The daily shuttle to the beach is super and you ride in comfort also, a Big Plus for us.

Thanks to Chris and Francine for the great stay and of course the Best Staff In Jamaica for all you do for your guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Not sure I could visit Negril without staying here. It is the person place to start your vacation and get into the groove. Chris the owner is extremely accommodating and ensures you as a guest are well taken care off. The entire staff is outstanding and add to the enjoyment. Thanks Seastar team for another fabulous stay.

If you are high maintenance go elsewhere.

Room Tip: New rooms have a large fountain outside that adds wonderful white noise if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Seastar is in the West End of Jamaica (Negril). The Inn is generally well appointed, beautifully landscaped, and excellently staffed. Because there are twenty-ish suites, the staff has the ability to get o know their customers very well. Before the end of our stay, we we getting hugs as well as traditional Jamaican fist bumps "mon"! Saturday evening buffet proceeds a local traditional rasti stage show. The hotel pool has six swim to the bar stools, and Randy or Alvin are wonderful bartenders, waiters, and conversationalists. Barbara is an attentive and "hug some" staff who quickly impresses you into first name interchanges with everyone. Easily 95% of the guests were return guests. Some have been returning here for over ten years.

The hotel is a three block, dirt road walk to waters edge, which is a cliff here, not beach. Negril has a beautiful 7 mile stretch of beach, but that needs use of the free hotel shuttle. Rick's Cafe and its legendary cliff divers is about a 15 minute walk, but follows the main, paved road with speedy drivers (this is a left hand side of the road country) where shoulders are often very narrow.

It is about an hour to an hour and a half drive from the airport in Montego Bay, so be sure you arrange to be met, or you will pay $80 to $100 per couple to get to the hotel! This may mean you will have to wait for other flight's passengers and cause a delay in departure.

The proprietor, Chris and his wife Francine (congratulations on the new baby!) are gracious and work hard to make your stay work. The hotel is a stable stop for the many bar hopping tours in the area. Food is above average, a generally menu items are always available. Chris has a constant renovation and upgrade activity on-going ( see my note below). Satellite TV, wireless Internet and air conditioning are available free. All rooms have a terrace with hammock!

Be sure to sample (carefully) Francine's Jerk Sauce!

This is an interesting and restful place to stay. It has a "Cheers bar" friendly atmosphere, but I think it's present almost five bullet rating is inflated in comparison to five star hotels I have reviewed! Good vale, comfortable, and affable but not knock you socks off luxurious!

Room Tip: Not all rooms are equal! We were initially given what I would call a second class room. The bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach Park, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I just got back from visting the West End. We stayed at the Sea Star for a week, and I have NO COMPLAINTS! The staff is wonderful (Barbara, Randy, Henry, Chris, etc). They make you feel so comfortable and at home. The food and drinks were awesome, and the property is located right in the heart of West End. Everything is in walking distance. It's away from all the big resorts and you basically get a chance to hang with the locals, enjoy local food and fun. Make no mistake, THIS IS NOT AN ALL INCLUSIVE HUGE RESORT! so yes, there are dogs that bark at night which is to be expected since they are guard dogs. The volume on the tv isnt loud (but who goes to Jamaica to watch tv?!). Yes, everyone is smoking even if your in a non smoking room you can still smell smoke. No, you don't get fancy shampoos and conditioners so just bring your own. If you want to stay at a fancy resort with all the ammenities, then this def isn't the place for you. If you want to be engrosed in Jamaican culture, meet wonderful people (Jamacians and the regular travelers); than this is your place. The streats are super safe to walk even at night, but be ready for people to sell you stuff. Hey, you gotta make a living! But they don't pester you long. There are so many resturants around and the sea star will plan anything you want to do. Check out RealNegril.com to find all the best places, and if you see something you like, the sea star will gladly arrange to take you there! Plus, they provide free transportation to the beach! I will be going back to the sea star; LOVED IT!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

You cannot find a nicer place to stay in all of Negril. the staff is awesome. Chris and Francine make you feel like family not guests. The rooms are beautiful, the restaurant has great priced, good food. the pool area is clean and the bar is always open!

Room Tip: there is no fitness center, but who cares!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg Manitoba
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We were invited to come along on a winter vacation with family and new friends. Ten of us in total. We had heard how wonderful this place was, though it is not on the beach. It was fabulous. We were booked for two weeks, and after the first week we had to extend our stay for a third week. We did have to do some room juggling, as the resort was booked up. But it was well worth it. Okema at the front desk helped us along. The staff is excellent here, from the security guards, the cooks, wait staff/bartenders. Everyone is fantastic. Every one is so friendly you feel like you've been there before, and that you belong. It is a short walk to the cliffs, with many restaurants, including Ricks Cafe. They also have a shuttle van that will take you to the beach and pick you up on schedule. Thank you very much Chris and Francine for having such a great resort and great staff. We will be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seastar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seastar Inn

Address: P.O. Box 2653, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#8 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#10 Business Hotel in Negril
#10 Family Hotel in Negril
#20 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seastar Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seastar Inn is located about 500 yards from the West End cliffs. Accommodations are nestled amongst beautiful, ultra-clean, manicured gardens. An enormous variety of tropical plants, trees, shrubs and flowers shroud the property. Featured onsite is a large, private swimming pool with swim-up bar, gazebo, and lounging chairs. There is also a recreational area with big screen television, dartboard, table tennis and pool table. The Seastar Inn also hosts its very own full-service restaurant and bar featuring a complimentary continental breakfast, with an extensive lunch and dinner menu. Saturday Night Live Reggae Show with buffet. Wireless Internet in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Seastar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seastar Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seastar Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.