We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY good value in Negril. Comfortable and spacious room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seastar Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Seastar Inn to your Saves list
Seastar Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 2653, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“VERY good value in Negril. Comfortable and spacious room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My wife and I have traveled to Negril 3 times in the last year and stayed in the following hotels; Tensing Pen, Catchafalling Star, The Palms Negril, Coco la Palm, Sunset at the Palms, Samsara, and Seastar Inn. Seastar inn was by far one of the best values in Negril. Seastar is located about a 3 minute walk to the main road down a side street in negril on the corner near a small market. Obviously not being on the beach or water is a drawback to some but we personally didn't mind at all. What we loved most about this place was our room. We had a small fridge, spacious, and cold air and a comfy room. The free breakfast was nice and the pool/sundeck was very clean with a nice swim up bar. I'd recommend this place to anyone looking for an affordable place to stay on the west end of negril. As always, i welcome travel friends on facebook under (Jeremy Gearries) if you are needing any advice on travel to Negril or any other island, view pictures, videos, and other travel tips.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    47
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
94
39
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This place is a hidden gem up on the West End of Negril. It's not on the water, but has a nice big pool with swim up bar to hop in when it gets hot. The rooms are big for Negril standards and clean as a whistle. The staff is all great and how could it not be with the owner Chris and his hands on leadership. They offer a wide variety of food choices and the food is very solid. And the beds are the most comfortable that I have slept in in Negril. You can bet that I will be back.....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

As a room was only available for four nights, that was what we booked. That’s what happens when you risk last minute bookings. We spent 8 nights in total, half at Seastar and half at another hotel.

Although not a 5 star luxury resort, it was made obviously clear to my wife and me that the reason Trip Advisor rates this establishment so highly is due to the superior service and hands-on management by Chris and Francine. These people were genuinely concerned that everyone enjoy themselves and has a good time. This is what sets them apart from other places we’ve been to. Anything we asked for, we got, promptly, and for very reasonable prices (if not for free!)

Food: Tasty and great value. Saturday night buffet is especially good. Menu food was also impressive and fairly priced, especially the fresh fish.

Location: Free shuttle to 7 Mile Beach was fine. The public road/area to the hotel could use some aesthetic improvement, but that is not the responsibility of Seastar as far as I can see. It is fairly close to other interesting restaurants and attractions as well.

Rooms: We loved the air conditioned room and the daily housekeeping was reliable. Nice hand-made hammock on balcony made by Francine, the co-owner. She also made great sauces, which we bought, but, unfortunately, the dipsticks at the Jamaican airport confiscated. I’m sure security is now enjoying Francine’s sauces! Next time we’d likely take a room facing the front, instead of the back, for two reasons: 1) Noisy dogs barking quite a bit at night in back (not belonging to Seastar from what I could tell) and 2) the back yard where the guard dog is kept and the adjacent side balcony could use a slight aesthetic touch up. Otherwise, the back facing room is great for privacy.

Staff: Not just the managers, but all staff and drivers were friendly, helpful and quick. Wish I could remember names, but we enjoyed their company!

Entertainment: Top notch on Saturday nights, with quality talent.

In conclusion, this place is a great value, with Manager/Owners who understand the meaning of good customer service, which seems to be very rare these days. Thank you Chris and Francine, and keep up the good work!

Michael & Donata

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

well it is not fair 4 me 2 write a review for the sea-star.
words will fail me,but i will try.
the best place in the known universe,at lease on Saturday nights.
the greatest staff on heaven,earth,and hell.
the only better owners?...jesus
security...mike tyson
food, well the kitchen staff would not come home with me...all of them...so i am going to hide the fact that they have the the best food any where at any point in history...so i am not telling about the food.
bar-tenders...pity the poor bar workers these guys Work and make a person want the same drink you just gave to whoever,because it looks so good.
the female staff are good looking? no! they are fine and smart...stay away from the big manager she also would not come home with me, something about her husband and child...lol
and yes when i left i was happy to leave a very small thank you for the clean up crew(my mom was a maid).
over all from 1 to 10 i would give the star a very weak 12 lol...
bottom line the owner is the salt of the earth, his wife she would be the bubbling brown sugar.
i truly could tell a story about personal care but i felt so ashamed that someone would give me personal service like that. oh yea...hail to the night security.
the little kids behave when they see him.
OK...go to the sea-star...why...i am sure i saw Elvis and tupac partying together that Saturday.
maybe i 'm wrong...when you get back let me know.

Room Tip: no advice there...i stayed at #5...also#1, both were better than most other resorts,unless you go to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Our first trip to jamaica, and after reading a lot of reviews, decided on the Seastar Inn, negril. Stayed 7 nights April 6th and we have to say that the staff completely make this small, comfortable Inn a fantastic place to chill in Negril. They remember your name after your first meet and never forget it! They always look out for you and ask why you missed the free continental breakfast (hungover a couple of mornings!!) The rooms were clean, maybe a little dated (room 16) but the new dining/ entertainment area is fantastic and adjoins the pool area. The owners are great too and will even make a call for you to help if needed. We ate there 3 evenings also and the food was always good. Happy hour from 4-6pm helps with the pennies and there are always people sitting around chatting! The pool was clean and there is a swim up bar option too, i even tried it once....LOL. free shuttle to the beach runs everyday, driven by always happy Henry! You are also within a few minutes walking distance from Rick's cafe, Ivans restaurant at catch falling star (fantastic and the most romantic place we have ever visited). A cheap cab ride to anywhere for different evenings out makes it a good mix.
There is a casual ambiance with smoking......
My wife and i loved our first trip to jamaica and would gladly return to the Seastar Inn.
The saturday One Love Reggae show is superb and comes with a very tasty dinner buffer, $12.00 for guests!! can't beat that for 5 hours of entertainment!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet and on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Short 8 day stay end of March / 1st of April that was nothing short if spectacular.

For 15 years we have been confirmed beach bums but this trip all 8 days were at the Seastar and we really had a wonderful time.

Staff at this resort are absolutely wonderful and a big selling point, each and everyone of the staff went out of their way to impact our stay. Genuine smiles, warm,cheery, sweet dispositions, just incredible people working there!! We love them and miss them already!! Our hearts were heavy and hurt saying our goodbyes.

The owners Chris and Francine are absolutely lovely and truly wonderful people. I know for a fact that you will not find more hands on, caring owners of a property in Negril and probably the entire island! Chris the evening you spent with my son and I telling us your wonderful story will stay with us forever, just an incredible life story about hard work, love of what you believe in and staying the course ....... we loved it. Thank you!!!!

Our room was nice, plenty of space, a/c worked good, any request we had concerning our room was immediately dealt with.

Hotel grounds are lovely and very lush and scenic, bar and pool area are tremendous asset to the property. Very nice relaxing bar area with wonderful tunes playing all the time. The Saturday night show was off the charts. We had a wondeful time attending. Food and beverage at Seastar are tastey, good value in pricing, and incredible service to back it up.

Really can not find any faults with our stay and absolutely would stay again.

Thanks for a great stay!!

Mike, Beth, and Shane Barnett.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I just returned from Seastar and cannot wait to go back again. The food was excellent and very reasonable. Chris & Francine were both perfect and the Saturday night show was awesome. The pool was very nice and the rooms were always clean. The best part was the staff, what a fantastic group of people. Barbara was always smiling and dancing. I loved it here and will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seastar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seastar Inn

Address: P.O. Box 2653, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#7 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#9 Family Hotel in Negril
#15 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seastar Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seastar Inn is located about 500 yards from the West End cliffs. Accommodations are nestled amongst beautiful, ultra-clean, manicured gardens. An enormous variety of tropical plants, trees, shrubs and flowers shroud the property. Featured onsite is a large, private swimming pool with swim-up bar, gazebo, and lounging chairs. There is also a recreational area with big screen television, dartboard, table tennis and pool table. The Seastar Inn also hosts its very own full-service restaurant and bar featuring a complimentary continental breakfast, with an extensive lunch and dinner menu. Saturday Night Live Reggae Show with buffet. Wireless Internet in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Seastar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seastar Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seastar Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.