We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this little place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheap Thrill Corner

Cheap Thrill Corner
Negril Beach, Negril, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 152 restaurants in Negril
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“love this little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

awesome staff. they take great care of this place. loved the patties, banana chips, and ginger beer they sell. they place rocking music too!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    28
    5
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brookville, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place on 7 Mile Beach to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is seriously some of the best Fresh homemade Jerk Chicken on the beach. If you walk away hungry from here it is your own fault. Not to mention for the price it is also the "Best Value". Loved the atmosphere and hospitality. JJ and his brothers are great cooks and people to just hang out with and talk to in the evening. It doesn't matter if when it is, if there isn't something cooked that you want, sit down enjoy the local music and an ice cold beer and they are all happy to fix you a nice fresh meal of whatever you want on the menu!!! Try a "Patty" also - YUMMY they hit the spot. So if you make it to 7 mile beach stop in and say "HI" have beer and some Jerk Chicken you won't regret it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“If you travel to Negril you must not miss Auntie's Thrill Corner on the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely a must visit if you want to experience the most authentic Jamaican food on the beach!!! Cousins Bob,JJ,Leo and Angela have transformed their Uncle Everton's patty shack...this fun and lively group uses their Auntie's delicious (secret)recipes and delivers unforgettable fresh fish,grilled lobsters,brown stewed and jerk chicken in a kick back and entertaining atmosphere. Great music, "full body contact dominoes" and lots of interesting and entertaining characters are all part of the mix...I've been going to Negril for over 32yrs and I am so happy Auntie' Thrill Corner is such a great throwback to the authentic family places on the beach...tell Bob Kathy said you could have her grilled snapper:-)
Kathy K-Chicago

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stopped in during our late morning walk and ended up staying for lunch. The sign said they had Ackee and Saltfish, which I love but the hotels charge too much for it. Not only did they make it, but Abby let me watch her and she gave me a step by step lesson on how to make the dish. They were very accommodating and I'd recommend it to anyone who wants the real thing on the beach. It isn't fancy, but that is part of the charm. My husband had a beef and a chicken patty, which he said were very good and he used the homemade jerk sauce.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“From the ocean to the grill to the plate, have a cold beer while you wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just returned from another fabulous 2 week stay on Negril Beach. Of course, I had to see my old friends Gunshot, Bobby, RJ, Leo and Abba at the Cheap Thrill Corner. Wow! what major improvements they have made.I absolutely and truly believe 100% from my 10 years of going to Negril Beach, that I have truly found a peice of HEAVEN! The food is as fresh as can be! From Abba hand cutting the fresh chickens to prepare for the brown stew chicken and jerk chicken. To Bobby, hand cleaning the grill everyday to ensure the grilled food always tastes its BEST. To RJ, tending to the lobster trap that houses fresh lobster that you, yourself hand pick to eat. I myself, had a great oppurtunity to assist RJ in swimming out to the trap and bringing it back to the beach to handpick the lobster I had for lunch. Something of which I will truly cherish. This is the most hardworking and happy family I am proud to call my friends. They all work together each day doing their own part in the resturant to make your dining experience an absolute delight! It truly is like eating at your Auntie's. I have grown to love these people and their friends so much that my wife and I spent most of our trip with them. They are truly an up and coming Negril dining establishment and remember, "Fresh is always best!" To Bobby....Soon Come! Captain Gus

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheap Thrill Corner also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish

Been to Cheap Thrill Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheap Thrill Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.