We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheap Thrill Corner

Cheap Thrill Corner
Negril Beach, Negril, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 151 Restaurants in Negril
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stopped in during our late morning walk and ended up staying for lunch. The sign said they had Ackee and Saltfish, which I love but the hotels charge too much for it. Not only did they make it, but Abby let me watch her and she gave me a step by step lesson on how to make the dish. They were very accommodating and I'd recommend it to anyone who wants the real thing on the beach. It isn't fancy, but that is part of the charm. My husband had a beef and a chicken patty, which he said were very good and he used the homemade jerk sauce.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    5
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“From the ocean to the grill to the plate, have a cold beer while you wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just returned from another fabulous 2 week stay on Negril Beach. Of course, I had to see my old friends Gunshot, Bobby, RJ, Leo and Abba at the Cheap Thrill Corner. Wow! what major improvements they have made.I absolutely and truly believe 100% from my 10 years of going to Negril Beach, that I have truly found a peice of HEAVEN! The food is as fresh as can be! From Abba hand cutting the fresh chickens to prepare for the brown stew chicken and jerk chicken. To Bobby, hand cleaning the grill everyday to ensure the grilled food always tastes its BEST. To RJ, tending to the lobster trap that houses fresh lobster that you, yourself hand pick to eat. I myself, had a great oppurtunity to assist RJ in swimming out to the trap and bringing it back to the beach to handpick the lobster I had for lunch. Something of which I will truly cherish. This is the most hardworking and happy family I am proud to call my friends. They all work together each day doing their own part in the resturant to make your dining experience an absolute delight! It truly is like eating at your Auntie's. I have grown to love these people and their friends so much that my wife and I spent most of our trip with them. They are truly an up and coming Negril dining establishment and remember, "Fresh is always best!" To Bobby....Soon Come! Captain Gus

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Sea to table--amazing foodie experience in Negril”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

For a TRUE foodie--that is, someone who appreciates food on every level--you can't beat a dinner, locally sourced and arranged just for you from this unassuming spot!

I got to participate in my meal, from the pulling of the lobster trap from the sea and choosing our lobsters--to choosing the fish that they prepared for us.

We opted to have our lobsters grilled with butter and garlic and had the fish both brown stew-style and spicy roasted. Served with rice and peas and homemade breads and salad. A great meal at a fair price and you're giving your money to local people who work hard and are preparing a meal just for you.

Auntie's is located next to Sea Splash hotel. Easy to miss.

One of our best meals in Negril and the best lobster ever in life!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sons of Joe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is one of the most fun and yummy places to eat and drink!! You will be amazed by the delicious food they cook there! If you want to eat real jamaican food, they have curried chicken, brown stew, yams dumplings, rice and peas and more...If you want jerk chicken or lobster hot off of the grill, they have that too...You can pick your lobster, and watch them clean and cook it if you like..So tender and buttery...The guys that own it are brothers...Leo, Jon Jon, Bob and Jr...They are such fun guys!! There dads name is Joe, so my husband calls them "Sons of Joe." They also have fresh hot patties everyday...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“This is what Jamaica is all about!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Auntie's Thrill Corner is THE place to stop on 7-mile beach if you're looking for a "true" Jamaican meal! Be careful that you don't walk buy it (it's next to the Treehouse Resort). Within minutes of arriving, you'll feel like you're a guest in a friend's home. The food is top notch and served up with a smile at a very fair price - much less than if you went to a tourist trap establishment.

Folks, this is a different culture and a different country. Don't expect the glitz and glamour of a US restaurant. Also don't expect to be waited on "hand-and-foot". There's no prep-cook filled kitchen so it may take a bit of time for your meal to arrive while they prepare it over hot coals for you. Relax and have another Red Stripe!

Don't forget to grab a patty if you're just strolling by on the beach....heck, grab two - you'll be glad you did. They're awesome!

We ate here three times in four days and I can't wait to return to Jamaica just to stop here!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheap Thrill Corner also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Cheap Thrill Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheap Thrill Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.