We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch the sunset here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swordfish Restaurant and Bar

Swordfish Restaurant and Bar
Negril West End, Negril, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 150 restaurants in Negril
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Watch the sunset here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We came here after ricks cafe for some great food and alone time. We had the whole upstairs to ourselves! We watched the sunset right by the ocean. Food was delish! Curried goat-yum! Wish I had a second stomach to put more in it. Clean and well kept, service was great too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    30
    10
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waupun, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Runaway Bride : - )”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Luv this place. The lobster Mac and cheese is to die for. The service, staff and scenery where equally as terrific. The ice cream was a daily stop. Can't wait to come back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent fare and reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A beautiful spot away from the 'busyness' of 7-mile beach. I believe this is where the chef from our hotel went to work after he left the hotel. Very clean. Could be very romantic. We both had the local lobster - quite different from Canadian! It was excellent, and the price was great as well. I would highly recommend the Swordfish.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“A hidden gem, a stunning rooftop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

It was just after Christmas when my wife, stepdad and myself were wandering Negril looking for a good place to eat. We walked by several, and even walked in a few that looked promising. In most cases we were met with indifference at the door (if we were met at all) and weren't made to feel particularly welcome at any of the ones we tried.

And then we came upon the Swordfish. Outside the door, Kemp, the owner, invited us in. As we came in the main section, a lovely waitress smiled and asked us if we would be dining with them this evening. That's better.

The Swordfish is a gem, with incomparable rooftop dining, and incomparable hosts in Kemp and his wife. The food was very, very good (certainly on par with anything we'd found to date...and we've been to Negril 15 times or so) and the service was outstanding. We visited twice during our stay this time around, including dinner on New Years Eve. Again, the view from the roof is simply outstanding, the breezes intoxicating, the bar right there, the reggae playing. It was heavenly.

We are heading back to Negril in a month or so, and look forward to seeing our friends at the Swordfish again. It was great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Sackville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Jamaican Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We heard from another couple who had eaten there how good the food was. We went for breakfast the next day and we were sorry we had not discovered this place beforehand. We went up to the top and were able to watch the water and boats go by. We all tried the different Jamaican breakfasts and all were very good. My favourite was the salt fish and beans.Mmmmmm This will be one of our first restaurant stops next time we go so we can try more dishes.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swordfish Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Swordfish Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swordfish Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.