We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Capital of Casual” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Haven Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sandy Haven Resort to your Saves list
Sandy Haven Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 90 Hotels in Negril
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Capital of Casual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the Sandy Haven for 3 nights and could NOT have been happier. The hotel is run by Steven and his wife Anne. They are hands on an friendly. They made our stay feel so intimate and personalized. It was as if we had stayed there for years yet we had only been there for 3 days.
The hotel is on the 7 mile beach as is the swimming pool. The hotel beach bar serves drinks, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is served there as well well weather permitting. If it is overcast, meals are served in Bongo's the hotel restaurant. The food is fantastic. We ate in several other places and have been to Jamaica many times and found that there was no reason to go anywhere else for food...unless you want a change of scenary.
The rooms were clean, modern, comfortable and private. The layout of the hotel is such that even if you don't have a beach view and have a garden view, you have total privacy and quiet. The hotel website is accurate for what you can expect.

Bottom line is that even thought this hotel has been open only 13 months, it operating like it has been open for years. Comfortable, charming, affordable and in a fantastic location cannot be beat if you want to spending a few days or a few weeks in Negril.

LC

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    78
    26
    25
    16
See reviews for
33
165
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have been visiting Negril, Jamaica for the last 20 years. Although we have stayed in Montego Bay and Ocho Rios, Negril like no other place in Jamaica. We have stayed at some all inclusive hotels, villas up in the cliffs and a few different hotels on the 7 mile beach. The Sandy Haven is an excellent choice for anyone looking for comfort as well as beautiful modern style. The owners Steve and Anne are very professional and are involved in day to day operations and details. Steve's background as a hotelier gives him an edge. We don't think anyone could do a better job then Steve and Anne .. they certainly compliment each other. Staff are very professional... Safety is a non issue. We were there this year as a group of 12 and some people stayed at different hotels however next January everyone has decided to stay at the Sandy Haven!
Everything was great ...beach location is perfect. Food is awesome and don't miss Bongo night on the beach!
Dave and Susan

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We just finished our 10 days holiday at the Sandy Haven and every thing was really enjoiable. For sure this is the best hotel of the strip: a small haven from the confusion of the beach and a relaxing option from the all included huge hotels in Jamaica. If the idea of spending your holiday together with several hundreds of other person in the same hotel doesn't appeal to you then check out this place. The service is absolutely fantastic, the food fab and the beach great. The owners are great too, always around for a chat and a laugh. Really a great place

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My family and I had a wonderful stay at Sandy Haven. Comfortable, clean, modern, newly renovated, well-maintained grounds, and very friendly staff are a few of the reasons why I would return. Sadie was the front desk was especially upbeat and nice to us and helped make cab trips and confirm of dinner reservations. The meals were great and the waitstaff were especially accomodinating during breakfast. They set up a beautiful table arrangement facing the magnificent ocean on the morning of my mothers birthday. They also served us breakfast on the beach during our last morning stay. The only cons were that the treadmills in the exercise room were both out of order and the hot tub was being worked on during our stay. When walking down the beach, Sandy Haven certainly stood out as one of the nicer hotels on the strip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is in the perfect location for strolling up and down Negril beach. Recently renovated, it is a clean, modern and quiet place to stay, with friendly staff, and is just over the road from the legendary Best in the West bar.
Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Sandy Haven is hands down the nicest of the smaller boutique hotels along the 7 mile beach.

The beach was beautiful, stunning, perfect. The lounge chairs were SO nice and there were always fresh towels.

The rooms were very nice and clean - we LOVED our ocean-view balcony! We did get the mattress pad and it made the bed very comfortable.

The included breakfast was wonderful - french press coffee, fruit, muffins and toast was plentiful and delicious. The breakfast area was so nice, too - just off the beach and the ocean.

We ate at Bongo's a few times and the food was good, but I would recommend checking out a variety of places if you're there for a few nights. Our favorite night eating at Sandy Haven was when they had the beach BBQ with a live steel drum band!

A few gripes:

- Check in and check out took a long time and at each they miscalculated something and almost over-charged us. It wasn't intentional but a bit frustrating.
- The hot tub didn't work or wasn't hot - even after we asked about it a few times it was never fixed.
- Service was overall a little slow, however the staff was lovely. I agree with some of the other reviewer comments that there was a lot of confusion about charging for food/drink, whether to the room or otherwise.
- The bar nor the front desk rarely ever had change for larger bills (whether American or J's).
- The music playing at the beach bar during the day could be irritating. I think it was up to the discretion of whoever was manning the bar, and occasionally some of the younger guys would play a song for one minute, then switch to another. It did not make for a relaxing background while you're lounging on the beach - would have preferred it just be reggae music!

Overall, even with the few gripes, we had a lovely time. Particularly if you get a good deal, I would absolutely recommend Sandy Haven to other travelers. I think if we go back to Negril, we'd spend a few nights on the 7 mile beach and a few nights on the cliffs, where there were several more beautiful boutique type hotels.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony that has an ocean view for the beautiful sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Jamaica
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the hotel the first time.Beautiful, well organized and designed resort.Staff very friendly and always helpful.Food are very good and price are compare to other hotel good.Location perfectly.It is a new hotel and provides you with everything you can think of.Fitnes Center is great.You step out of your room and you have the beach and a very big plus you an nice pool too and jacuzzi plus SPA. The restaurant BONGOS provide you Jamaican and International dishes which are great and the restaurant is beautiful as the whole hotel designed.A very BIG PLUS is there is upsolutly no noise in the night from any other hotel which is perfect.Many hotel where we stayed you could not sleep up to 2 am in the morning during noise but not in thsi hotel.Parking and airport shuttle service is great.The beachchairs and towel at teh beach could not be better.The beach bar is perfectly and have an nice atmosphare and flat screen for in teh evening to watch TV.You step out of your room and walk on the beach great.We really enjoyed our stay and we will come back.This hotel is perfectly great and WOW.Check it out.

Room Tip: If you really would like to relax and hear the ocean in the night ( keep the sleiding door open of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandy Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Haven Resort

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandy Haven Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive boutique resort built in modern urban style set on the famous 7-miles white sand beach location of Negril with 35 units of luxury guest rooms and suites. The Sandy Haven Resort experience goes far beyond bricks and walls. The prevailing atmosphere is that of a meeting place for friends and colleagues to mingle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sandy Haven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Haven Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.