We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Negril” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Haven Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sandy Haven Resort to your Saves list
Sandy Haven Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 90 Hotels in Negril
London
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“The best in Negril”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We just finished our 10 days holiday at the Sandy Haven and every thing was really enjoiable. For sure this is the best hotel of the strip: a small haven from the confusion of the beach and a relaxing option from the all included huge hotels in Jamaica. If the idea of spending your holiday together with several hundreds of other person in the same hotel doesn't appeal to you then check out this place. The service is absolutely fantastic, the food fab and the beach great. The owners are great too, always around for a chat and a laugh. Really a great place

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    91
    32
    29
    16
See reviews for
37
188
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long Valley, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My family and I had a wonderful stay at Sandy Haven. Comfortable, clean, modern, newly renovated, well-maintained grounds, and very friendly staff are a few of the reasons why I would return. Sadie was the front desk was especially upbeat and nice to us and helped make cab trips and confirm of dinner reservations. The meals were great and the waitstaff were especially accomodinating during breakfast. They set up a beautiful table arrangement facing the magnificent ocean on the morning of my mothers birthday. They also served us breakfast on the beach during our last morning stay. The only cons were that the treadmills in the exercise room were both out of order and the hot tub was being worked on during our stay. When walking down the beach, Sandy Haven certainly stood out as one of the nicer hotels on the strip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is in the perfect location for strolling up and down Negril beach. Recently renovated, it is a clean, modern and quiet place to stay, with friendly staff, and is just over the road from the legendary Best in the West bar.
Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Sandy Haven is hands down the nicest of the smaller boutique hotels along the 7 mile beach.

The beach was beautiful, stunning, perfect. The lounge chairs were SO nice and there were always fresh towels.

The rooms were very nice and clean - we LOVED our ocean-view balcony! We did get the mattress pad and it made the bed very comfortable.

The included breakfast was wonderful - french press coffee, fruit, muffins and toast was plentiful and delicious. The breakfast area was so nice, too - just off the beach and the ocean.

We ate at Bongo's a few times and the food was good, but I would recommend checking out a variety of places if you're there for a few nights. Our favorite night eating at Sandy Haven was when they had the beach BBQ with a live steel drum band!

A few gripes:

- Check in and check out took a long time and at each they miscalculated something and almost over-charged us. It wasn't intentional but a bit frustrating.
- The hot tub didn't work or wasn't hot - even after we asked about it a few times it was never fixed.
- Service was overall a little slow, however the staff was lovely. I agree with some of the other reviewer comments that there was a lot of confusion about charging for food/drink, whether to the room or otherwise.
- The bar nor the front desk rarely ever had change for larger bills (whether American or J's).
- The music playing at the beach bar during the day could be irritating. I think it was up to the discretion of whoever was manning the bar, and occasionally some of the younger guys would play a song for one minute, then switch to another. It did not make for a relaxing background while you're lounging on the beach - would have preferred it just be reggae music!

Overall, even with the few gripes, we had a lovely time. Particularly if you get a good deal, I would absolutely recommend Sandy Haven to other travelers. I think if we go back to Negril, we'd spend a few nights on the 7 mile beach and a few nights on the cliffs, where there were several more beautiful boutique type hotels.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony that has an ocean view for the beautiful sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Jamaica
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the hotel the first time.Beautiful, well organized and designed resort.Staff very friendly and always helpful.Food are very good and price are compare to other hotel good.Location perfectly.It is a new hotel and provides you with everything you can think of.Fitnes Center is great.You step out of your room and you have the beach and a very big plus you an nice pool too and jacuzzi plus SPA. The restaurant BONGOS provide you Jamaican and International dishes which are great and the restaurant is beautiful as the whole hotel designed.A very BIG PLUS is there is upsolutly no noise in the night from any other hotel which is perfect.Many hotel where we stayed you could not sleep up to 2 am in the morning during noise but not in thsi hotel.Parking and airport shuttle service is great.The beachchairs and towel at teh beach could not be better.The beach bar is perfectly and have an nice atmosphare and flat screen for in teh evening to watch TV.You step out of your room and walk on the beach great.We really enjoyed our stay and we will come back.This hotel is perfectly great and WOW.Check it out.

Room Tip: If you really would like to relax and hear the ocean in the night ( keep the sleiding door open of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I traveled here in January. We do not generally stay in resort style hotels as we prefer off the beaten path or unique accommodations. Having said this, we very much enjoyed our stay at Sandy Haven. If you are going to stay on 7 mile beach in Negril, then this place is worth checking out. The hotel is completely new, rooms were new and clean and we had a beautiful ocean view room, nice pool, beautiful furniture. Ownership has spared no expense for this boutique style hotel. Amazing beach bar with drinks to match (Red Stripe was extra cold and bar staff whip up a mean and delicious dirty banana). The beach here is wonderful (jet skis etc aside). Easy access to the main road makes for simple and cheap travel by taxi to the cliffs for a change of pace and some very good eats. We did not try the restaurant although it looked as beautiful as the rest of the place. Ownership was extremely helpful and always around to answer questions or address and issues you may have. They helped us arrange transfer back to Kingston (a beautiful 4 hour journey through the country) and we made our flight with plenty of time to spare.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here in September 2012 and we have nothing but praise for this resort! ALL the staff are amazing, polite and so kind! Nothing was ever a problem and we were made to feel like we were at home!

The grounds and rooms are immaculate, there is always someone there if you need them. Our room was always clean, tidy and the air con was great with the hot weather. The pool area was exceptionally clean and all the staff were always so jolly. The food is delicious too! We arrived quite late and checked in around 9pm, they explained the restaurant was closed but they could rustle something up for us, we understood this and it wasnt a problem for us, we just thought we were going to have a sandwich or something....the guy returned with the restaurant menu and said we could order anything we wanted and the chef would cook it for us! We thought this was so kind as the chef stayed past his shift to accomodate us, he cooked it outside on the BBQ for us, and it was DELICIOUS! We both had the pasta dish with prawns and it is one of the best pasta dishes we have ever had. Amazing. We were really grateful and thanked him so many times. From that moment on, the service maintained its high standard.

Breakfast was equally as delicious, the waiting staff were attentive and polite at all time. The banana pancakes and muffins are sooo divine. We even ordered them to take back to our room, the food at this resort is of an exceptional level. We loved it! We often ordered our dinner to our room and every single time it was fresh and delicious.

Above all, the staff are amazing. In particular, Kimesha is adorable. She would visit us all the time to clean our room and we would always have a laugh with her and talk, she would always be singing too which was so sweet! She really made our stay enjoyable, She knew it was my birthday and on the day of our departure had written me a birthday note, it was such a sweet and thoughtful gesture that I cried! If the management are reading this.. Please pass on our best wishes to Kimesha., she is an invaluable assest to your team; Furthur into the holiday my partner proposed so Jamaica will always have a special place in our heart, and we will definately return to Sandy Haven.

All in all, this resort is a must! Its views are beautiful and its right on the gorgeous sandy beach, there is tons of sun loungers to relax on with towels and its always clean. The bar staff and not forgetting Pops are also great fun and always there to lend a hand or offer advice.

We love this place! See you in the near future!
Romina & Hashim

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandy Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Haven Resort

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandy Haven Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive boutique resort built in modern urban style set on the famous 7-miles white sand beach location of Negril with 35 units of luxury guest rooms and suites. The Sandy Haven Resort experience goes far beyond bricks and walls. The prevailing atmosphere is that of a meeting place for friends and colleagues to mingle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sandy Haven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Haven Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.