We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal excursion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JuJu Tours

JuJu Tours
West End, Negril 00000, Jamaica
876-789-4309
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 78 activities in Negril
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: When hearing the words "tour company", most people picture the big, stuffy tour bus, packed with strange travelers. JuJu Tours is the complete opposite of that stereotype! We are an American owned company whose number one goal is to meet American standards. While practicing safety and maintaining professionalism is our number one priority, JuJu maintains a very laid-back "vibe" on all of our outings. Our tour guides are both knowledgeable and energetic American and Jamaican nationals. In order to offer our customers the best of both worlds, one female and male tour guide from each country attend all tours – dreadlocks, flip-flops and all. Every outing is completely private, for both big and large groups, allowing our guests to have a more intimate trip and customize the excursion to their liking. No other tour company on the island offers and delivers such personalized experiences. JuJu has over forty tours to choose from. Large groups, families with kids, couples - we have something for everyone. Amongst our array of different choices, both “touristy” and “off-the-beaten-path” excursions are available. Our primary mission, however, is to live up to our tag line “Jamaica Unleashed, Jamaica Uncovered!” Whether it be the secret cliffs to jump from, the limestone caves to explore or the rustic restaurants to enjoy a true Jamaican meal, we aim to help our guests discover Jamaica’s hidden charms and treasures. Proudly, JuJu is also the only company on the island that officially offers nightlife tours to the local dance clubs and reggae beach bars. We understand travelers tend to be hesitant about leaving their resorts, (most especially at night), and that is why two tour guides join all parties inside the venue and take them home at whatever time they choose. We have safe and comfortable vehicles of all different sizes. Roundtrip transportation, admission into all attractions, an authentic Jamaican lunch and beverages (yes, that includes booze!) are included with all tours. We also throw in a complimentary high-res photo CD of each trip for each customer.
Durant, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Phenomenal excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked a Westend Sunset Tour for 13. Angie (the owner) showed up on time with a glass bottom boat, for just our group. The stereo wasn't working, so she hired Donavan, a guitar player and singer, off our beach to go with us. We had the most wonderful excursion over to the cliffs. Some of our group cliff dived at Xtabi and then we ate jerk chicken at 3 Dives...delicious. Donavan led us in song on the way back...so much fun! We couldn't make it to Rick's because of the weather, so Angie picked us up a couple of days later by bus and we shopped and then went to Rick's. You don't get this kind of experience in the mass excursions and you will pay as much.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The hype is real”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

On our recent visit to Jamaica we decided to spend some time off the resort to see a bit of Jamaica. After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor on JuJu Tours I decided to give them a try. I contacted Angi with a request for Dunn’s River Falls and to do some zip lining. We exchanged several emails, and with each one she provided additional insight to make the experience more worthwhile. Given that we were staying in Negril and going to Ocho Rios for Dunn’s River Falls (3 hours each way) we also decided to do a Montego Bay Tour to best maximize the day. For our zip lining we decided to do this at YS Falls and while there also do an Appleton Rum Tour since it was also in the area. Angi’s suggestions proved really helpful in making our experience great.

Our tour guide was Garth for both days and he arrived promptly at 9 am both days to begin our tours. He’s very knowledgeable and we had some interesting conversations not only about Jamaica but about life in general, like old friends. For the ride there was water, Red Stripe, and rum punch available for us. On the way to Ocho Rios we stopped at Discovery Bay to take photos. After arriving in Ocho Rios, Garth took us to really cool hole in the wall fish spot for lunch. During our climb of Dunn’s River he was right there with us going up the falls, taking pictures the whole way. We headed back to Montego Bay and spent a few hours just walking the city to see some of the local churches, civic center, and to learn about the history of Jamaica.

For the second tour, on our way to YS Falls, we stopped at a fish stand on the side of the road for lunch and a taste of how the locals do it that we enjoyed. After eating we jumped in the car to head to YS Falls. After arriving there we decided to go do the Appleton Rum Tour first. No worries from Garth as he kept driving and took us to the Appleton Estate so we stopped at YS on the way back. For the Appleton Tour, he was also there to take pics during the tour for us. We didn’t get any pics zip lining at YS as there was rain coming and the path to get there for Garth to takes pics was a bit away. As we completed both tours and were heading back, Garth inquired as to if we had had any real jerk food while we were there. Since most of our time was on the resort, the answer was of course no. As we passed one of the many street vendors on our ride back, he stopped the car and we picked up some authentic jerk chicken and pork to eat on our ride back to our resort.

I must say the personal touch that JuJu provides is top notch and the experience was definitely one where I feel I got to see more of how the locals on the island live. Garth was an energetic, knowledgeable and fun tour guide and we had a lot of fun the two days we were out with him. He took care of us like we were family. A couple of days after we got home, Angi followed up to send us the pictures (all 140) that Garth took during our tours via email link. The pictures were also great and we have some really cool pictures as memories of our time in Jamaica. Go with JuJu and you won’t be disappointed!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, CO
1 review
“Bridging the cultural gap with good JuJu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Countryside Tour was an unforgettable experience. Having our guide Nicole at our side was incredibly instrumental in bridging the cultural gap that would have been too daunting to attempt without her (or Angi's) assistance. This is an extraordinary and unique tour that I will never forget and always recommend whenever possible. If this intrigues you, please read on.

Our tour guide Nicole was there to pick us up right on time. We picked up some exotic fruit at a stand and headed to the nursery school. When we walked in, the kids all yelled, "Angi!" like Angela Eastwick (owner) was Santa at Christmas or something. (Good JuJu on her part, no doubt!) All the kids wanted us to hold them. They were so adorable and genuine. We laid out many pairs of shoes that we brought from the US and helped some of them try them on. The teacher determined who got what. Everyone was grateful. We also brought some jump ropes, a mini soccer ball, and two catch-and throw games. They were excited to use those at recess. We also brought three packages of pencils and a bag of lollipops. I didn't know whether the kids were supposed to have candy, but I wanted every kid to walk away with something, even if it was just a lollipop. The teacher kept the rest as a reward for future good behavior. The kids performed some songs for us, recited the months of the year in Spanish, and we all did the hokey pokey. It was incredibly heart-warming. At one point, my face got sweaty when I was holding three kids at once, and one little girl mopped up the sweat off of my face with the sash of her dress. I will never forget that moment. Since we had given all of our gifts and spent so much time at the nursery school, we decided to skip the elementary school visit. I didn't want to go there empty-handed.

We met Auntie Blossom and meandered through the Rastafarian garden. It was super interesting to hear Blossom discuss her way of life and all of the produce that she raised in the garden. She used her machete to hack us some sugar cane for chewing. My husband and I had never tasted sugar cane in its raw form so that was a treat. We washed up the fruit and ate it there, too. I especially loved the naseberry--yum! Just don't press the skin of the mango directly to your lips like I did because I gave myself a pretty good case of "mango mouth"--a rash like poison ivy. The mango flesh does not contain the irritant, though.

We also got to see Auntie Blossom's house and discuss the neighborhood and greater community that surrounds her. She described how all the neighbors are a big, interdependent community. She described how she helps to raise her neighbors' children and grandchildren and vise versa. She described how her tin roof blew off in the last hurricane, but how twenty young men came by the next day to afix a new one. It occurred to me that here in the US, where success is often measured by the accumulation of wealth, people work themselves to death to have bigger and bigger houses that then must be secured by gates and fences, thus isolating the inhabitants from the greater community. The wealthier the neighborhoods, the less the neighbors need each other. I'll bet there are neighborhoods here where the neighbors have never even met each other. We have mortgages and insurance, and Jamaicans have the fruits of their labor and a community that comes to the rescue when someone needs help.

We went to the beach near the Rasta garden but it was super windy with "rough seas" so we did not go in the water. It was interesting to see a beach that was not overrun by tourism, though, and we collected some nice shells for our children.

Boots and the Bob Marley swim hole/house ruins were a delightful surprise. It was fantastic to be able to visit the area with no one else around and hear Boots' proud stories of its connection to Bob Marley. The swim hole was so pure, clean, blue, and inviting. It was the perfect antedote to a hot and humid day. It felt like swimming in holy water, especially when Boots said that Bob Marley swam there everyday when he stayed there.

At the end of the tour, Nicole took us to eat a meal at Sips and Bites. My husband like the curried goat and I really liked the snapper in brown stew/sauce. We discussed the day and what we had learned. Nicole was great in every way. She patiently answered all of our questions. She allowed us to set the pace for the tour, but she was always prepared for the next phase. It was extremely unique and rewarding to be able to visit people and places that, as mere tourists, we would not ordinarily have had access to in a meaningful way. Because of the good philanthropic work that Angi does there, we were received with open arms by the local people. This was not just a tour, it was an authentic connection to a people and their way of life. If you can find it in your heart to spend a few dollars on some school shoes or supplies for the children, I promise you will walk away with much more than you gave.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DON'T BE SUCH A TOURIST!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just got back from Jamaica and another great experience with JuJu Tours. (2nd tour) Let me start by saying this is the only tour company we will ever use while in Jamaica. We have used others in the past but none give you the personal touch like JuJu tours. My wife and I wanted to do something special this year and knew that after our tour with Angi last year she was the one to contact. Of all things we thought, where in the world would be the most beautiful place on earth to get baptized?... Jamaica! So Angi arranged everything with brother Porter. (Who I will never forget and hope to see again soon) We went to an area in Broughton where the fishermen bring in their catches, sang some hymns, went into the Caribbean Sea and came out a new man (and woman) It was amazing.
Met some new friends along the road. Got to hang out at MiYard in Negril had some great curried chicken. Climbed the lighthouse. Saw some crazy dude run down the wall and jump off the cliff there at the lighthouse. Stopped by Rick's Cafe. (couldn't help it, we had to do one touristy thing)
What could possibly make the day any better?? How about pictures taken by one of the best photographers in the world and oh yea... a cooler of Rum Punch and Red Stripes!!!
Check them out at jujutours.com and tell her Jeff and Naomi sent you.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Just absolute amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I signed up on trip advisor just to leave this review. Just got back from an absolutly amazing life remembering trip. Juju tours catered to all our needs for the four days of visit. From the airport pickup all the way to the airport drop off. Angie gave us the most special one on one treatment that anyone can ever ask for. Ive been to many different countries all over the world and I would just go back to Jamaica just because of the way we were treated. Cliff diving, zip-lining, bob-carting, waterfalls, you name it we did it! We got to see Jamaica as a total local and not as a tourist. Cant wait to go back and see whats in store for next trip!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JuJu Tours also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Westmoreland Parish, Jamaica
 

Been to JuJu Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JuJu Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added JuJu Tours to your Saves list