We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no frills comfortable bargain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Legends Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Legends Resort to your Saves list
Legends Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“no frills comfortable bargain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Legends is an old school beach place in a great location if you like being on the beach without the touristy trappings. We felt at home there and enjoyed the freedom of movement that a 7 mile long beach provides. The restaurant is good, the staff friendly, especially Karlene.

Room Tip: Balcony level on the beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    190
    134
    76
    83
See reviews for
93
232
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Feasterville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Legends and Samsara are sister resorts meaning you can use the facilities and the all inclusive benefits of both the "resorts". - Let me inform you before starting the review that none of the 2 places can be defined as a resort.

Legends Beach resort, as the name suggests, is a beach front resort- meaning the bar and the restaurant is beach front- none of the rooms are.

Rooms: I found the room more better than the samsara, because the AC actually made the rooms cooler. Still, no iron/ironing board, or hair dryer, no refrigerator.

Bar and food: They have a nice menu for drinks and the bartenders are also nice and always cheerful. they make the drinks quite strong. the food is like samsara. Minimal Choices. the funny part, they have wait staff that serve you the food - like in the soup kitchen. very embarrassing to hold the plate upfront and ask for more food if you think you would need more.

Entertainment: I dont know if they have hired these 3 entertainers or do they just come wandering to this place to entertain the guests but thats all you get in the name of entertainment. there are these 3 guys that were playing jamaican music and singing on their own- they were good but were asking for money from guests that I found weird. these same entertainers were present in of of the nights at Samsara as well.

Beach: AMAZING! the water was blue and calm the best beach to relax in the Sun. I have also being to Mexico but when I compare these two places I feel the water in Jamaica is better.
there are a lot of hawkers in the beach area that continuously be asking you to buy stuff from you. Michael the security guy was helpful in providing us with the beach chairs and umbrella.

I stayed here one night and 3 nights at samsara- I have also given a review about samsara. Both these resorts are considered on the lower price range compared to the other resorts but then you would get what you pay for.

this is not a 24 hour service resort- Bar open from 10am to 11pm. restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner- 3 hours each. Food choices are minimal. So if you are coming to Jamaica for the first time and are looking for am ALL INCLUSIVE experience in the real sense I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This resort was as comfortable as you can get without feeling too touristy. The rooms are well kept and the staff extremely friendly and inviting. We stayed in the portion of the resort that is across the street from the beach. Initially we weren't too happy, but as it turns out, we were right next to the pool, so whenever we didn't want to walk over to the beach (which was actually just a short walk -- less than a city block in distance), we'd hang out at the pool. We didn't get a chance to get to Samsara, but I understand that it is the more upscale version of Legends. Perhaps on our next visit. Jennifer, the Masseuse (located next door to Tabu) gave the most exhilarating holistic massage.. and she has a wonderfully calming personality; not pushy at all. Tell her Dee says "hi" when you get your massage.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.. if you want to be where the action is, look to the beach side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasper, tn
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Legends is an amazing place to go visit while in Negril, Jamaica! I stayed here for a week. The rooms are kept spotless, the grounds are cleaned throughout the day. The staff is INCREDIBLE! Everyone was so friendly, helpful and always available. I will for sure return to Legends one day soon. The beaches were gorgeous. Everything about Legends was GREAT!!!

Room Tip: The rooms across the road from the beach are cheaper than beach side. You wont have a beach view...s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is a local resort. It is not like the RIU or any place like that. It is nice, clean and quite. A place to relax and enjoy the sun. It is right on the beach. The staff if nice. The security are nice to tourist but are borderline rude to their own people. The food is very good. Even when I stay at other hotels I still go to Legends for dinner. They have a buffet they usually serve fish, chicken and every type of pasta. The food is authentic. The buffet is 22 USD per person. They usually ahve live entertainment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

In May 2013 we stayed at Legends Samsara, a 3 star hotel and 5 star hotel in Montego Bay and preferred the flavor, personality and excitement of Legends. At Legends, you feel like you are actually in Jamaica. You get to interact with the culture and everything feels authentic. The cliffs at Samsara are amazing and snorkeling and cliff jumping were so much fun. The food is AMAZING, healthy and natural (much better than the 5 star resort we stayed at later). Mama, Paul, Callan, Jennifer and the rest of the crew take excellent care of you. The troubadours and personalities on the beach made the experience so dynamic. The beach, the cliffs, the water, the people, the place were all excellent. We can't wait to come back. Next time, I'm bringing my parents!

Room Tip: Rooms by the beach are far better than across the street. Also the rooms at Samsara seemed to be of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel is right on the beach, The staff very friendly, food very good and you eat on the beach basically. Beach guard Michael is a cool dude, taking care of your belongings.
Minus are annoying "homies" that hang around the beaches, but this is common to all non-isolated resorts. After several days you get used to it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Legends Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legends Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Legends Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Legends Beach Resort is a beachfront boutique hotel situated directly on the famous 7-mile white sand beach in Negril, Jamaica. This friendly and intimate resort commands breathtaking views of the shimmering turquoise Caribbean Sea embraced by miles of powdery white sandy beach. Legends is located in a prime section of Negril within walking distance of shops, water sports, entertainment and local restaurants. The resort comprises two sections, one on the beach and one lushly gardened section across the street. Within the garden section is a large pool surrounded by a spacious sundeck. The beachside section also contains a small pool. Other hotel facilities include free Wi-Fi, gift shop, safety boxes at reception, massage treatments, and tour desk. The resort's beach frontage on Seven Mile Beach provides access to shallow, sandy-bottom water that remains calm in nearly all weather conditions. Complimentary roundtrip shuttles transport guests mornings and afternoons to partner resort, Samsara Resort, on Negril's famed seaside cliffs, where reefs providing snorkeling and scuba-diving directly off shore. This Jamaica resort offers 50 guestrooms arrayed on the sea side of the street extending through Negril parallel to the beach and across the street in a lushly gardened section. Buildings feature exteriors of pastels and vibrant colors. Ceiling fans and wood-louvered windows provide an alternative to rooms' air conditioning. Decor features tile floors, tropical-wood furniture, and richly colored fabrics. Fresh blossoms strewn about rooms greet guests on arrival. Coconut palms and lounge chairs with soft red cushions line the resort's frontage on Seven Mile Beach. Water-sport rentals, including jet skiing and parasailing, are available. Vibrantly colored buildings, blooming tropical gardens, and an open-air restaurant and beach bar manifest a friendly oasis to meet new friends, enjoy reggae music and discover exotic cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Legends Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legends Hotel Negril
Legends Jamaica
Legends Beach Resort Jamaica
Legends Negril
Legend Beach Resort Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legends Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.