We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Legends Resort

Save Saved
You added Legends Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Legends Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 91 hotels in Negril
Granite City, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

had a great time.the manager paul is very friendly.also the gardener callan was sooo awesome. he carried our bags for us to our room and answered any questions we had. he had a smile everytime he saw us. if you need anything to make your stay more comfortable hes the man to see.mama the cook was awesome also.there wasnt any workers there that wasnt friendly.
we met people from all over the world.one of the girls we met from europe told us about the outdoor band at a place right out of resort that you didnt have to cross the street and they had a bon-fire and tiki tourches out. the place was called bourban beach,bands are there on thur. we had so much fun we stayed till midnight.then the next night we walked to the left of resort to another outdoor band at a place called alfreds.it was awesome also.they have bands there on fri.nts.its an older resort but clean and friendley. really worth the reasonable price we payed to stay for 7 days.we hated to leave all our new friends.theres even a shopping mall that is better priced than the gift shop at resort. crossing the street is no big deal and there is a cross guard right there to help you ,it was never that busy.i would get beer and ice to keep in room at all the little stores not even a 5 min. walk away.we crossed road every day from our beach side to the garden side because the pool over there was big and clean.also it had some shade there.
we went to samsora resort also.we took the shuddle at 10am to it.they pick you back up there at 4 but the security guard there called us a good cabdriver to go to the lighthouse for pics then back to resort.it was only 15.oo.we really liked him his name is garth and gave his no. to some people at the resort who really liked him also.dont be afraid to leave the resort and mingel with the locals,you get the real feel of jamaica that way.im sure will be going back to legends in near future

Room Tip: we got a beach view over the bar in those 5 rooms.make sure you or your travel agent talk to paul be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    173
    125
    72
    81
See reviews for
87
212
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murton, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

this is my second visit to legends,glad to say nothing has changed, the staff are just as friendly must commend the manager i have never seen a manager work so hard he even sweeps the pool area well done boss man.
This hotel is great for people who love live reggae shows as i do, there is live music every night within walking distance
look forward to going back to legends in the future
thanks again boss man for your kindness

JAMENGLISH53

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We and I myself have been to legends many of times. I have NEVER seen a bug ( roach) Of any kind in that place. I even stayed in a crappy fixer upper room and never saw a thing. Momma ( Evon) the cook is awesome and makes good food with what she has to work with. Michael is very awesome at his job , He WILL keep you safe on that property!!!!! I have never had a bad thing to say about legends. I would like to know if Michael ever got a new shovel ??? LOL
One person was very right about a couple bartenders but I hear they are gone!!!! The rest of the people are great. Housekeeping is great. They do not have washers and I was there for 14 nights and God love some girl, She worked there but I did not know her) Washed all my clothes by hand and hung them out for 10.00 and a tip of course. Like another said, If you want to be a king or queen go someplace else! If you want to chill, enjoy yourself, enjoy good people and not pay big money GO TO LEGENDS!!!!! Miss you all and see you soon. Susan Lee

Room Tip: I like to stay on the beach side although you do have to go thru bar area to get to the beach. I hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Spent a long solo weekend (April 18-21) at Legends and had a terrific time. First stay at Legends. Had previously stayed (twice) at Grand Pineapple Resort (formerly Negril Gardens), just up the beach from Legends, and at Sunset Beach Resort (twice) in Mobay. The trips to Jamaica just keep getting better and better. Met some nice people from various parts of the US and different countries (Germany, Netherlands, Canada, Puerto Rico) during my recent stay at Legends. There's a free shuttle between Legends and her sister hotel Samsara on the cliffs of the West End of Negril, so I took the shuttle and got in some snorkeling at Samsara. Kuyaba (superb, albeit somewhat pricy, food) nextdoor, with Bourbon Beach Bar & Grill adjacent to it. Small store next to Bourbon Beach where you can pick up icy cold Red Stripe and other necessities. A shout out to my driver, Shane, and the gardener (Carlos?), who is very personable and always on the job.

Room Tip: My room was beach side. Didn't make it across the road to check out the garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ulm, Minnesota
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I booked at legends 4/16/13 to 4/23/13 we arrived to the resort and of course they over booked so they sent us to samsara for the first night so for the the trouble they said when we come back tomorrow we will get a free upgrade to a ocean front room wow thanks sounded good. I was excited for the next day so we get there to check in and oh of course they gave the room away and they sent us to there crappy property across the street to stay and we were way in the back lol it was supposed to be garden view buy all you see is garbage and grass out one door and a small garden out the other door..The A/C unit leaked bad into the room and was puddles all over,the bar is not that great very expensive, and the locals on the beach at legends was horrible they were loud and annoying also there wasn't much room on there beach...not happy at all and would never ever stay there again.

Room Tip: don't book a garden room because they will put you across the busy street away from the ocean an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosinee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at Legends April 16-April 22, 2013. First off this review is not based on the employees as they employees were fantastic people. Mama is the cook and she is so very friendly, Paul the manager was very helpful and Mike the security guard was also amazing and always quick to have that smile. The all inclusive was not so great, they only serve from 10:00 AM- 10:00 PM and the bar closes at 11:00 PM, with no refrigerator in our room that was not very cool because you cant even get water after 11. Out of a group of 6 people (3 couples) 2 of the couples had a cockroach in our room, One room was sprayed and after that the bugs were worse, therefore we just left our cockroach as we didnt want more bugs. The food some days was good, but not so great (Dont order a burger from Jamaica, they are not good). We spent a lot of our money at restaurants although we paid for all inclusive. The beds are a little hard, but huge I had no problem sleeping in mine. The maids are awesome, they love when you bring little gifts for them or their children. The maids take your towels in late morning and then bring them back in the afternoon after they are washed, which really wasnt a problem for us. I stayed in a beachside room ( which really isnt beachside, but a short walking distance through the bar area) We did check out the gardenside which are across the street and it didn't look very appealing our beachside had much prettier garden. I forgot his name already, but the gentlaman whom takes care of the grounds was also a wonderful and happy person. If you want a taxi somewhere go right outside of the hotel gates and ask for Damion (Blue toyota wish) or Shane (White toyota), the best cab drivers there and they will take care of you as well as protect you. Tell them the "6 Musketeers from Wisconsin" sent you ;-) If you want to do any snorkeling or adventures find Peter on the beach, he is amazing and willing to settle on pricing. He will also protect you if need be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Let me be clear about one thing. If you want a 5 star experience, suck it up and pay for a 5 star hotel. Legends is fantastic value for money. The rooms are basic but comfortable, but you're there for the beach anyway. The food is homey and nothing special, but it's made with love by Big Mama!

We stayed beachside. The air on was noisy, but we got used to it. Nice patio and a decent shower. The furnishings have seen better days, but, again, if you want pristine, go to a Hilton.

The staff are amazingly friendly once you get to know them. They, like most of us, respond to politeness and friendliness. If you're rude or treat them like servants and don't tip, they're not going to knock themselves out waiting on you. If you say please and thank you it goes a long way! We found the ladies really took to the kids. So much so that when my sister and her husband visited as a couple a few months later, the staff asked not only about their kids, but mine, too.

If you go all-inclusive, there are some limits on the types of drinks you can order, but there's still plenty of choice. (And for the love of all things holy, go easy on the rum punch. They do NOT mess around...) if you can, order a la carte one night and have lobster 'pon de grill. It's worth the extra money!

Tip Michael the beach attendant at the start of your trip and he will make sure you have loungers, shade if you want it, and will keep an eye on your things.

Room Tip: Ask for beachside to avoid having to cross a busy road. There is a crossing attendant, but it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Legends Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legends Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#48 Business Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Legends Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Legends Beach Resort is a beachfront boutique hotel situated directly on the famous 7-mile white sand beach in Negril, Jamaica. This friendly and intimate resort commands breathtaking views of the shimmering turquoise Caribbean Sea embraced by miles of powdery white sandy beach. Legends is located in a prime section of Negril within walking distance of shops, water sports, entertainment and local restaurants. The resort comprises two sections, one on the beach and one lushly gardened section across the street. Within the garden section is a large pool surrounded by a spacious sundeck. The beachside section also contains a small pool. Other hotel facilities include free Wi-Fi, gift shop, safety boxes at reception, massage treatments, and tour desk. The resort's beach frontage on Seven Mile Beach provides access to shallow, sandy-bottom water that remains calm in nearly all weather conditions. Complimentary roundtrip shuttles transport guests mornings and afternoons to partner resort, Samsara Resort, on Negril's famed seaside cliffs, where reefs providing snorkeling and scuba-diving directly off shore. This Jamaica resort offers 50 guestrooms arrayed on the sea side of the street extending through Negril parallel to the beach and across the street in a lushly gardened section. Buildings feature exteriors of pastels and vibrant colors. Ceiling fans and wood-louvered windows provide an alternative to rooms' air conditioning. Decor features tile floors, tropical-wood furniture, and richly colored fabrics. Fresh blossoms strewn about rooms greet guests on arrival. Coconut palms and lounge chairs with soft red cushions line the resort's frontage on Seven Mile Beach. Water-sport rentals, including jet skiing and parasailing, are available. Vibrantly colored buildings, blooming tropical gardens, and an open-air restaurant and beach bar manifest a friendly oasis to meet new friends, enjoy reggae music and discover exotic cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Legends Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legends Hotel Negril
Legends Jamaica
Legends Beach Resort Jamaica
Legends Negril
Legend Beach Resort Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legends Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.