We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Legends is clean and you get the bare minimum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Legends Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Legends Resort to your Saves list
Legends Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Legends is clean and you get the bare minimum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We stayed at the Legends with minimal expectations based on the reviews we saw on trip advisor. The selling point for us was that they were spacious and clean. The rooms are dated, there is no in room safe (if you want a safe, it is $3.00 per day and safe is not in your room). We purchased a beachfront room and our room was across a very busy street and next to a garbage dump that smelled horrible.

After a couple of days, we were just happy that we had a clean spacious room where we could vacation affordably. The staff was incredible, Tiffany who works in the restaurant and bar was amazing. Wonderful people can always make your stay more enjoyable. I would recommend this place if you are on a tight budget, just lower your expectations.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    190
    134
    76
    83
See reviews for
93
232
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Hotel in a very poor state of maintenance. It is very old and not renovated.
1) Air conditioning could not be used because it flooded the room. The water from the unit went inside the room instead of outside.
2) The fan could not be used because it had only one speed : top speed !
3) Could not open the window because of noise of the street and the music of the open air night club next to the hotel.
4) Buffet very scarce in terms of choice and very boring

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roscoe illinois usa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

we arrived thinking we would get a beach veiw NOT!, the all inclusive was not what they said it would be, their domestic drinks were served in 6 OZ ,old gold plastic juice glasses, red stripe beer is ok, but hey come on!, bottles (clean) are extra, they put a red plastic band on your wrist that they tell you you canot take off and when they see you come to the bar they walk away, aka the red wrist band , the buffet area was small, dirty ,and dimly lit , mostly so you could'nt see how bad it realy is, the staff had a attitude , and I
swear what wasnt ate the night before was reinvented for the next day,the rooms have no wash cloths, there is no coffe pot or refrigerators in the rooms, the phones looked like they came from a third world country, TV was filthy,missing remote, we asked for pillows ,that fell on deaf ears, you have to beg for a cup of coffee in the morning ,no self serve coffee in dinning area, the music next door was blarring from 10.00am to 4.00pm ,you litterly could not carry on a conversion,we had to take our meals at the resort next door and paid again, the furnishing in the bar area looked like it came from a dumpster, the pics make it look good, SURPRISE!, if you go there for a honey moon you will be divorced before you get home , my wife was in tears , they have no guilt or shame, this is what you get when the locals run a resort, I could go on but I am out of room , and get upset again ,

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

Traveled with friends to Negril in search of some fun in the sun and to escape the Canadian winter. I am fortunate enough to travel quite often for work and stay in top end hotels all over the world so I am fairly use to the various travel "woes" one can experience. The term "can't be all things to all people" perfectly represents Legends. This is a small family run property that definitely goes out of its way to ensure that your stay is enjoyable. The rooms are basic and clean, providing a perfect place to reside after enjoyable days on the beach. Nobody should be coming to Negril to sit in their rooms. The service is what stood out in my mind. ALL the staff consistently greet you with a smile and will help to accommodate any requests. A few examples that really made my trip was Paul the hotel GM packed a cooler of beers one afternoon for my friends on our boat cruise over to Ricks Cafe and to watch the sunset. The hotel organized the entire outing and even provided us with an amazing guide in Smokey Joe. Smokey made everyone feel some comfortable and really encouraged us to enjoy our vacation to the fullest. Our group definitely bonded with Smokey as he lead us on another day adventure of snorkeling and a deserted island lobster lunch. The sincere care that Smokey exhibited towards our group was much appreciated and didn't go unnoticed. When relaxing on the beach at Legends we had the pleasure of a gentleman named Micheal's and his watchful eye. Micheal made a point of greeting us every morning and setting up our beach chairs and umbrella without request. He spends the entire day keeping watch over the guest and their belongings to ensure that any of the so called "beach hustlers" do not bother the Legends guests. It seemed to be an unwritten rule that on 7 mile beach when out front of Legends that you are not to solicit guests into buying souvenirs. Micheal rules that Legends beach section as a dictator and no locals dare to cross him, always looking out for the guests. Case in point is that I left my beach bag at the beach everyday unattended for hours on end and every time I came back it was there with everything in it. If your looking for a hotel that has all the basic accommodations, but focuses on phenomenal service then Legends is for you!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

This was my first time traveling to Jamaica - Ive been all over the Carribean and decided to take a trip to Jamaica with some friends. As soon as we arrived at the airport they had our shuttle bus ready to go. Our driver (CHAMPION) was amazing - we even stopped for Jerk Chicken on the way to the resort.
Once we arrived we were quickly checked in and taken care of. The whole trip was very enjoyable - the best part was that Samsara (their sister hotel) was located about 15 minutes away - they had a free shuttle bus to take you there. The cliffs at Samsara were incredible - ive never seen cliffs like this before. The beach at Legends were very clean and the water was crystal clear. The snorkeling was great - either by the cliffs or off the beach - I did both.
Anywhere we ate was amazing - on the resort or off - it was all great.
The best restaurant we ate at was Ciao Jamaica (across the street from Samsara). Food was great, service was amazing and the prices were very reasonable.
We were never bored - we always had something to do - we felt safe and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
I would def recommend Samsara and Legends - and Jamaica in general
Great experience - I will be going back soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Being a bit of a globe trotter I consider myself to know when someone has a good thing going. I'm not sure what all the folks below are complaining about. Perhaps they are a bit too westernized and their pillows weren't fluffed enough ;-P

To me and the other 7 people I traveled with we considered Negril this is the best spot on earth and Legends / Samsara the best place to enjoy it from. The people, the vibe, the food and the availability of everything that is good just makes this the ultimate attraction.

Ask for Mike or Smokey on the beach at Legends. They will be your guides for the duration. Take a glass bottom boat ride to Rick's Cafe for a jump and over to Booby Key for fresh lobster from the ocean BBQ'd on the beach. Incredible value (15 dollar lobster dinner on a remote isolated beach?! try and beat that!).

Just so your aware Legends and Samsara are both owned by the same people. When you book at one you get the advantage of shuttle rides back and forth. Its the perfect balance. Legends provides the beach front vibe (exciting, uptempo, adventurous) while Samsara has the cliff side chill spot (Beautiful sunsets, relaxing, isolated resort style, incredibly warm staff). Then to top it off they also own Ciao Italian Restaurant. Honestly the best pasta, pizza and calzones I've had and I live where there is a big Italian community. Jamaicans know how to cook!!

Overall I have no complaints. The staff literally became family, food was great, the spot is gorgeous and Samsara provides a breathtaking sunset you cannot miss. Yaah mooon!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

I would like to start off by saying anyone who wants a North American version of Jamaica need not bother, for those of you with a sense of adventure and who would prefer to know your actually in Jamaica then I suggest you stay at Legands/Samsara resorts. The staff is wonderful, the grounds are lush with florals and the beautiful aroma of sand and surf. If staying at Legends on the beach you will be witness to the most breathtaking sunsets in the world. Michael and Smokey Joe are on the beach to ensure your satisfaction and safety during your stay. Ask Smokey to take you on a tour of the reef & BobbyKey island for a freshly caught lobster and fish lunch or a fantastic adventure to the world famous Rick's Cafe and dare yourself to take the leap. If your looking for a delicious meal head over to Bourbon Beach to the left and enjoy authentic Jerk Chicken and be sure to pit stop at the Fruit Man to have your fill of exotic out of this world fruit. If you decide to take a walk to the right of the resort head over to Niah's Patty's where you will have a freshly made Patty of your choice (be sure to try the curry chicken other flavours include Ackee and Saltfish & Italian, add Calaloo to any of the above) its a bit off the beaten track but when walking up the beach look for the billboard that reads "Niah's Patty's" then take a right through the market. If your craving a delicious Italian with Jamaican flare meal call a free shuttle and head to Ciao Jamaica(Newest addition to the Samsara resort on the Cliffs) be sure to try the Coconut Shrimp and the Lobster Diablo. If your craving a Pizza they deliver delicious pizza that rivals the best you can find in North America right to you on the beach (be sure to try the Jerk Chicken Pizza).If your looking for a late night snack ask where the Conch stand is located that night (usually wherever the party is) and have either Conch soup or Conch w/Rice and Veg or hit up any number of Jerk Bins along the strip for a BBQ style Jerk Chicken. I cant say enough about this place I have been to some very high end resorts and have never had as great of a time as I did in these 7 days. This resort is family operated and it shows in the level of service they provide, you feel like part of the clan. I will go back here again and again as will the 7 other people I traveled with.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Legends Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legends Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Legends Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Legends Beach Resort is a beachfront boutique hotel situated directly on the famous 7-mile white sand beach in Negril, Jamaica. This friendly and intimate resort commands breathtaking views of the shimmering turquoise Caribbean Sea embraced by miles of powdery white sandy beach. Legends is located in a prime section of Negril within walking distance of shops, water sports, entertainment and local restaurants. The resort comprises two sections, one on the beach and one lushly gardened section across the street. Within the garden section is a large pool surrounded by a spacious sundeck. The beachside section also contains a small pool. Other hotel facilities include free Wi-Fi, gift shop, safety boxes at reception, massage treatments, and tour desk. The resort's beach frontage on Seven Mile Beach provides access to shallow, sandy-bottom water that remains calm in nearly all weather conditions. Complimentary roundtrip shuttles transport guests mornings and afternoons to partner resort, Samsara Resort, on Negril's famed seaside cliffs, where reefs providing snorkeling and scuba-diving directly off shore. This Jamaica resort offers 50 guestrooms arrayed on the sea side of the street extending through Negril parallel to the beach and across the street in a lushly gardened section. Buildings feature exteriors of pastels and vibrant colors. Ceiling fans and wood-louvered windows provide an alternative to rooms' air conditioning. Decor features tile floors, tropical-wood furniture, and richly colored fabrics. Fresh blossoms strewn about rooms greet guests on arrival. Coconut palms and lounge chairs with soft red cushions line the resort's frontage on Seven Mile Beach. Water-sport rentals, including jet skiing and parasailing, are available. Vibrantly colored buildings, blooming tropical gardens, and an open-air restaurant and beach bar manifest a friendly oasis to meet new friends, enjoy reggae music and discover exotic cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Legends Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legends Hotel Negril
Legends Jamaica
Legends Beach Resort Jamaica
Legends Negril
Legend Beach Resort Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legends Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.