We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$235 Spa/Tour Credit!
Ranked #17 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

May 3-7, 2014 Sandals Negril. Overall wonderful. The weather forecast indicated rain but it was perfect. Afternoon showers are typically expected but it was only overcast one evening.
Smiling faces everywhere and just a relax and enjoy mentality. A perfect combination of music and fun, to quiet and lazy. Different experiences from area to area. At one end were quiet cabanas which were well worth the extra money. Another day in the lounge chairs and floating in the water. Great and plentiful in activities. I felt very safe and had expert instruction on snorkeling and sailing. Dinner under the stars on the beach is also extra but was a moment to always remember.
The facility was immaculate and beaches raked to perfection. The rooms were spotless and fully stocked. If I drank 2 diet cokes, they were restocked immediately.
Breakfast was the best meal of the day. Lunch and dinner were absolutely fine. Dinner reservations should be made in advance. I loved the Italian restaurant.
The negatives are barely worth mentioning, but there are a few. If you make a reservation, get the name of the person you booked with. They didn't write ours down.
The provided ocean floats were few and far between and hard to come by. They could definitely have a better sharing system or have more available. If you don't want marihuana, probably best to make that known. If you do, you will have plenty.
Honestly, nothing to complain about. The security was top notch and I always felt safe.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,396
    844
    314
    140
    105
See reviews for
127
2,845
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This is our third Sandals in a year, The first one was Sandals Antigua which was TERRIBLE (worse service we have ever gotten in any hotel), then Sandals in Nassau, Bahamas which was great! So we were open to experience our third one in Negril.

We had butler service and upon arrival we were immediately taken to our room... and that's when the disappointment started... the room was very dated, the decor from the 1980's, small uncovered balcony (if it is sunny is too hot, if it rains you can't use it), and didn't resemble the pictures I saw online of the room. This was a two story room (spaces are small, view was ok) the wooden stairs were tilted towards one side.. it was bad and moldy and at that same moment we decided this was our last time in a Sandals. However I complaint about this room, and considering that we payed $7,000 (including first class airfare) it was not worth it. (room 2304)

After 4 nights we were moved to a swim up updated room... WHAT A DIFFERENCE! We felt in a different hotel! It was spacious, beautiful, it changed our whole experience!! (room 6118)

Something that remained consistent was the excellent service, throughout the staff, and specially our butlers...they were on top of everything, and will bring us food and drinks to the beach without even asking them!

Butler service is worth only if you like that extra attention and service at your hands. But if you are more of the do it your self kind of person (make your own reservations, go for your drinks and snacks etc...) you could save the extra bucks.

Food in the hotel is good, but not excellent.

The location is great, along the 7 mile beach.

After moving to the new room, we are open to go back to a Sandals!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We just returned from a great 4 night stay at Sandals Negril and the other reviews giving it high marks were right on point. Starting with our arrival at MBJ, we checked in at the Sandals club, had time for a drink and were soon boarded on to our bus to the resort. Once on the bus we had to wait for a few more arrivals, but from the time we landed until we hit the road was only about an hour, at most. I had heard the commute was anywhere from an hour to three hours, but it took us about an hour and 45 minutes including a stop at a cool roadside place for a few drinks and some great authentic jerk chicken.

Once we arrived we were taken to the Sandals Club (part of the concierge service) for an expedited check-in, including cocktails. After checking-in we were also able to reserve a cabana and schedule a candlelight dinner on the beach for the following day. After we checked-in to a beach-front, club-level room, we took a walk around the resort and while on the beach various vendors would approach us, but Sandals security was always right there to make sure if you declined that they moved on and didn't make it uncomfortable. I appreciated the opportunity to acquire their goods if I wanted, but knowing I wouldn't be bothered if I didn't, and even the vendors were polite when declined.

On our first full day we rented a cabana (a bargain for a small additional fee) and Omar took great care of us, making sure we always had our beverages of choice and food when we wanted it. While its all-inclusive, they do accept tips for things outside the normal all-inclusive package, such as cabanas. On this day we took advantage of the paddle-boarding (a lot of fun) and relaxed and took in the environment, including the marine life near the cabanas (starfish, conchs, crabs, and cool, harmless stuff). We enjoyed it, and Omar's attention to detail, so much we booked the cabana for the following day.

On our second full day we relaxed at the cabana for an hour or so, and then went on the snorkeling excursion (included at no cost). I've been snorkeling several times in the Caribbean and this was the best yet. The guides were professional, the water was very clear, the marine life was abundant, the reefs were beautiful, and there were some cool relics (cannons, anchors, etc.). After having lunch at the cabana, we took a brief lesson on how to sail the Hobie catamarans and took one out for about an hour. It was awesome to set sail on our own in the Caribbean for awhile. Again, we enjoyed the cabana and Omar's service so much we tried to book it for a third day, but unfortunately, a large party beat us to it.

On our third full day, I woke up early and went down and placed some towels and a magazine under one of the thatch huts on the beach to "reserve" it for us (you need to do that if you want one because everyone else does and they go fast). We spent a great day at the beach and met some nice people from other parts of the world for most of the day before moving on to the pool. We spent the last few hours of sunlight at the pool, again meeting very nice people from elsewhere and enjoying the swim-up bar.

All of the food was good or exceeded our expectations, the staff was extremely nice and catered to our every request, and the resort was very clean and neat at all times. In the evenings, the entertainment was good and you are free to enjoy the property as late as you choose. The only minor issues we had were that we were told that we would be called at 8am the first day we had the cabana to let us know which one was ours and we did not receive that call and I had to call them. Also, after making dinner reservations for our third evening, when we showed up we were not on the list. Both issues, however, were quickly resolved, but I recommend verifying reservations if you don't receive confirmation.

Overall, Sandals Negril was an amazing experience for us, and I recommend it to anyone interested in visiting the Caribbean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Hello Brian,

And thank you for your wonderful review! It seems you truly enjoyed every moment of your stay at Sandals Negril and your photos truly captured the beauty of the resort. We are so happy that all your needs were met and we look forward to welcoming you back again for another romantic getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsonsburg, Maryland
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

all inclusive butler suite
Me and my wife arrived excited to celebrate our 23rd anniversary and a much needed rest. The ride from the airport was a pleasant ride with a stop along the way. We were greeted promptly upon arrival and shown to our room. Upon arrival to our room it looked a lot different than the brochure. it was very old and dirty my wife was going to exercise in the morning and her back was covered with dirt after laying on the floor. Then we started to notice a lot of ant crawling all over our things with roaches in the tub. I asked to change rooms and they said they had no other rooms, the air conditioner in the room did not even work properly and evenings were hot. After 2 days they finally showed us another room next to the one we already had ( it was in the same conditions with the local wild life crawling around in it also. The water was not very clear and when you stepped on the soft spots in the water it released a nasty odor. also no one bothered to tell us that there was a spiney type of creature in the soft areas that would sting you. The Jamaican people were very friendly but my experience with sandals this is the worst resort I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: older rooms have ants ,roaches and the ac don't work. and did very little to make it better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hello Robert,

We were so disappointed that you had this experience at Sandals Negril. What your described does indeed sound below our high standards and certainly not indicative of the norm for us. We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy some aspects of your stay with us and it was very disheartening to know you left with an unsavory impression of the resort. I would like discuss this matter with you further and I have sent you a private message for a few additional details. We look forward to making contact with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My husband and I went to Negril in the Easter week. We really enjoyed our time in Sandals Negril. We want to thank all the people who made our vacation like living in a paradise.... We want to thank the Aqua centre, especially dive master Philip. He is amazing and the BEST! We also love to thank Tiji (spell must be wrong) who took beautiful pictures for us. Our butlers and many more. Please see the pictures attached and all those wonderful people. Thank you!

Room Tip: Housekeeping needs to improve. For example, after 3 days, we finished our shower gel and shampoo, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Hello there Ge Z,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and share about the amazing time you had at Sandals Negril. We loved your pictures! Your gracious remarks will truly be appreciated by our wonderful staff and thank you for acknowledging all of their hard work.
We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I cannot say enough how awesome Sandals Negril is. Me and my wife just returned and are ready to go back again! The genuine hospitatliy of the staff and Sandals team was simply outrageous. An example of this, we had the Butler service with Kenrick and Jerry-FANTASTIC GENTLEMAN; my wife was sick one of the days and called Kendrick to see if there was leftover rice or noodles. Kenrick in turn called the Chef and he made her special chicken soup to help her feel better. Also within an hour other staff members were calling to check on her. Also anytime we took an off-site excursion Jerry and Kenrick sorted out the ride and made sure our igloo was packed with cold ginger beer (my wife's favorite), red stripe and water. We also attended an inter-departmental football(soccer) match and stayed for the after party and had a blast. Derwin the executive manager of house keeping was our personal guide and became friends with him. These are just small stories but the big picture is.... SANDALS NEGRIL, Kenrick/Jerry the Butlers, and Derwin made our stay and vacation a once in a life time! My suggestion is have them call Tyrone the cab driver and explore the true Jamaica-ONE LOVE!

Room Tip: The Butler Suite was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for your review, Scott!

We are thrilled that you had such a fantastic time at Sandals Negril and that our staff was able to make this trip an unforgettable experience. They are always willing to go the extra mile to ensure that our guests have an excellent time and their efforts shine through reviews like yours!
We hope you will "soon come back"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, Ohio
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Sandals Negril for 7 days in the middle of march and it was probably the best time of our lives. Service, food and the people were top notch. It boggles my mind when I see people complain about this place.
We had the grand luxe beach front package. We ate at all the restaurants except for the japanese place. Our days consisted of scuba diving, eating, drinking and laying in the beautiful sun. You can eat (gained 13 lbs) and drink all day long at no additional cost. They have a refrigerator stocked with alcohol ,water, juices and soda in your room which you can consume and they just restock your fridge the next day at no additional cost. i keep saying no additional cost because it just seems crazy to me to have everything at your fingertips and you don't have to worry about spending more money.
Now we did have to pay for scuba diving certifications. That was the best decision that we made on this trip. We took our padi cert and went diving with the instructors and some of the people staying at the resort. It was absolutely the highlight of our vacation. some of the wildlife that we had seen were blowfish, seaturtles, lionfish and dolphins. We were on our third dive of the week and one of the instructors was pointing so i looked and there were three dolphins swimming about 15 feet away from us. I have to say the dive team is the gem of the resort. They are a very patient and knowledgable crew. So a big thank you to Kemar and the rest of the guys. Im horrible with names but i will get them down next spring. Oh yeah, Smiley was the photographer on land in water and on boat. A definite asset to the resort.
We took the cattameran(party boat) to Ricks Cafe on thursday and also stopped by margaritaville or Jimmy Buffets i think? It is a must to do this.
To end i do have one complaint. Hedonism is next door to the Sandals property. My complaint is to the dude that was wearing nothing but a fanny pack and a smile. I still haven't been able to erase that image from my memory.lol.

Cannot wait till next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negril
#7 Family Hotel in Negril
#8 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#11 Spa Hotel in Negril
#14 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Located on Negril's pristine 7-mile white sand beach•Phenomenal bedroom oceanfront suites set upon a relaxing crystal lagoon•Ultra luxurious one-bedroom millionaire honeymoon suites with private plunge pool•Seven exquisite dining options•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa “Jamaica's Leading Hotel” (2nd consecutive year)•Five Star Diamond Resort, American Academy of Hospitality Science ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com and Orbitz so you can book your Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Negril Beach Hotel Negril
Sandals Negril Beach Resort And Spa
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Negril Jamaica
Sandals Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.