We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little bit of Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$235 Spa/Tour Credit!
Ranked #17 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Little bit of Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My boyfriend Nick Jaye came back from Sandals Negril on Thursday just gone, we were very sad to leave! Suffice to say we have never been on such a relaxed and romantic holiday before!! We met some amazing people, staff and guests alike!! Special mention has to go out to Captain Smiley who made our day when we went out on his glassbottom boat, saw some beuatiful fish, starfishes, corals and fab conk shells! He became a good friend and regularly came over to chat with us when he finished his morning trips....Another person has to be mentioned, Travees Simpson off the Beaches Catamaran, which we took a trip on to Rick's Cafe. Let's just say that Travees ended up towing my boyfriend Nick over to the cafe, as Nick said " like a beached whale", when he realised the sea was a bit choppier than he first thought! Both he and Smiley joined us for the fantastic Beach Party as our guests and we all had a great night, Limbo Dancer, Fire Eater, balancing act, coconut rum cocktails and incredible food!

We had a really good couples massage in the Red Lane Spa, with Marcel and June, great masseuses, just be warned in advance there is a $30 tax surcharge when you get there....

Restaurants were great, the Bayside was best for breakfast, most fabulous fruit smoothies made fresh every morning by Deniese and Robert. Lovely welcome greeting from Kendra and many other staff there including Omar Lawrence who kept my boyfriend Nick up to date with the football...Nana made sure any comments we had about the food were noted and even made sure we had the first two slices of a freshly baked Banana Bread one lunchtime that we became addicted to! Brilliant evening shows there with dance and steel drum acts... We also loved Cucina Romana, lunchtimes were buffet style with great hot and cold food and desserts, evenings it became a more formal but very pretty sit down restaurant with a very tasty menu!

Kimonos was fun, hibachi restaurant, we went twice and both times had Geon, who was Jamaicanese, great voice and lovely food. Sundowner was a little hot when we went there one evening but Barefoot on the Beach was great for the Beach Party!

Our two butlers, Basil and Darron made sure our rooms looked very pretty, we were at the duplex suite to start with in Coconut Grove building, lovely room, little tired and needing a bit of tlc....one afternoon there was a torrential downpour and our roof leaked a bit so we mentioned if could be checked and next thing you, we were upgraded again to a stunning room in the Sundowner building above the swim up suites. This was awesome with a beautiful bed and sitting room area, larger balcony with spectacular sea view, big bathroom with two sinks, huge walk in shower and lovely deep bath with jacuzzi!! Considering we were originally booked for a concierge room, things were incredible! "Jamaica No Problem! "

We had a romantic sunset evening meal especially prepared for the two of us, after our bed was decorated with a cute dog made of towels, petals and leaves, a bubble bath prepared for us with candles and flowers, so romantic!!

Our butlers made sure we had a good spot on the beach for our sunloungers which they reserved for us every day and brought us drinks and snacks, which we shared around. Another lady has to be mentioned, Lois Nelson, who also kept the drinks flowing..... During our stay we met some incredible people from the USA, including young couple, Chase and LauraLee, who we're planning to keep in touch with, along with Chase's mum and dad...

Nick also struck up regular conversations with the manager, Andre, nice chilled out guy, Edward Yamid and many other staff in the restaurants and on the resort generally, including Duane, the gardener, Norman Drysdale and had breakfast a couple of times with Ian Howell who ran the gym and fitness classes, we managed to get to the gym every day of our ten day trip!!

Apologies to anyone I've missed off my list, there were just so many amazing people at the resort who made us feel so welcome from the word go! As they say in Jamaica, yeh mon!

The only downside is the long trip from the airport in Montego Bay to Negril which could spoil the holiday if you get travel sickness! Had some fab photos taken around the resort, best and funniest ones were taken in the sea! We also had the most delicious lobster cooked for us on the beach by the Fireman, such yummy food!

Be warned if you decide to do the Dunn's River falls trip that you have a 3 and a half hours trip each way to get there, ours got cancelled which kind of did us a favour!

We will definitely go back some time, bliss!!! Made some wonderful friends out there too, from the USA, Canada and Jamaica!!!

Room Tip: If you can afford Butler service, go for it, made the holiday so relaxing, made sure you get a sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,398
    845
    314
    140
    105
See reviews for
127
2,848
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (968)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I had a magnificent time at Sandals Negril! This was my first trip to the island and it will not be my last. The staff was amazing! Shout out to Sean, Dewayne, Emile, Basil, Denato, Aneisha, Omar, Demroy and all the others who made our "Ladies Getaway" special. You know you had a blast when leaving is difficult for the guess and staff. I forget the name of the DJ at the Piano Bar; however, he was AWESOME! Great crowd interaction and just a good ole time. I danced like I've never danced before because his vibe was contagious. For those of you who have never been to this resort, do not stay away based on negative reviews. Its all in what you make it and yes some staff not worth mentioning weren't as pleasant but that's their issue. Me and the other five other ladies I traveled with smiled and laughed all weekend long. We had butler service which I considered a bonus because the guys - Sean, Denato, Basil, Dewayne and Omar - are so nice and accommodating! Oh and Geon (?) the chef at the Japanese restaurant had an amazing voice and the food was phenominal. We sang along to every song!!! Special shout out to Rachel at Beach Bum vacation for helping me plan such an amazing trip starting in Jan. 2013. Your patience and responsiveness was much appreciated! Okay, I'll stop here :-) I felt Irie all weekend long!!! Yeah Mon, everyting was cool!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond hill
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were married September 17 1988... Honeymoon destination was Jamaica. Five days before our wedding hurricane Gilbert wiped out Jamaica and we couldn't go. So here we are now 25 years later celebrating our silver anniversary .....no better place then in Sandals Negril Jamaica .
The resort is nice, yes there is lots of renovations going on. That was disappointing . The construction workers were pleasant . We wish that we were told about the reno,our room was a garden view but we had construction walls to look at instead. We asked for an upgrade but the rooms were all booked, so we made the best of it. Maybe the management should offer a romantic dinner to those who have the "garden rooms". That would have been a very nice gesture.
The food was amazing lots of new tasty dishes to enjoy! The Italian restaurant was our favourite, we went twice....if we had more time we would have went for a third night!
My drink in hand was the humming bird,
Our stay was for a week....the two last days we went the Beaches resort. It is about a 25 min walk and we'll worth it. Much BIGGER BEACH, and the water was Crystal clear. We saw star fish and sting rays. Took great pictures! The best pizza ever was at beaches! Ask for Marcello! Marcello your #1. You should be at Sandals not Beaches!!!
All the vendor we met between the two resorts were friendly , Brian your the best. Go see Doctor Love.... Bring your camera.. Great dragon!
If your looking to have the best tasting lobster on the island go see fireman or Roy. You won't be disappointed .
The staff at sandals were all friendly and always happy to see us. You all made us feel at home.
The weather was hot hot hot! Bring lots of sunscreen,
We love the good bye song on the bus before we left, that was a nice touch to a beautiful trip.
We loved Jamaica..... We will be back!

Room Tip: Ocean is nice.... Very close to the water, Swim up rooms looked nice but the ocean really can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were very underwhelmed at this Sandals. It was our first time at a Sandals resort and don't think well go back. The food was awful and the accomadtions weren't much better. After traveling the carribbean extensively, it was the first time we have had no view or porch from our room even though we paid for that category. The resort is going through remodeling but there is no excuse for my husband having to go ask them to stop jackhammering at 10:30pm. The water pressure was awful but they did try to fix it. Unless you have a butler or concierge service, you feel like stepchildren. Luckily, someone nice gave us their float as they had two from their butler and we couldn't get one! The servers are very nice but it didn't make the food any better. I had never seen a red snapper sandwich that was formed into a hamburger-yuk! I know all of you Sandal groupies must think we are crazy because you all love this franchise but it is not for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We regret to hear that we did not meet quite your expectations for service and quality. We have many guests who feel the direct opposite and have boasted of our accommodations. However, as hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process so we thank you for your review.

We are always looking for ways to improve our resort to exceed the expectations of our clients. Since we are in a constant state of evolving our resorts and updating our amenities, I will be sure to send your feedback to the General Manager and relevant departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoschton, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Will review the resort later...wanted to review the water sports today based on my experiences this AM. Tried to arrange water skiing and standup paddle boards...was completely blown off by the staff! Surly attitudes, as though they wanted to be anywhere but here. This was two different persons in two different places. I asked politely, so behavior was not driven by my tone. My guess is that these guys are contractors, not Sandals employees. Very disappointing, especially based on the high price we paid for the stay. Not reflective of prior experiences at high end resorts in the Americas!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our honeymoon here in 2011. It was absolutely amazing. Outstanding service. Great Restaurants. You have to do the 4 wheeling tour, it is fantastic. We heard a lot of horror stories about Jamaica from people, but we had nothing of the sort. Every Jamaican we met was super friendly. No problem, mon. We got our photos taken from Sandals. They have a great camera, and we really enjoyed our little photo shoot. We have pictures that we will treasure forever. We plan on coming here again for our 5 year anniversary. We cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Top floor was great, no noise from neighbors. Waking up to an ocean view was spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your great review of Sandals Negril! We're thrilled to hear that you had an amazing honeymoon with us. You enjoyed every moment of your special vacation and we couldn't be happier.

We can't wait to welcome you back for your 5 year anniversary in the near future!

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We spent 10 days here for our honeymoon and it was fantastic. Immediately upon our arrival, Shavana ushered us into the club room, handed us a drink and made us feel welcome! So wonderful after 10 hours of traveling. She showed us to our room - which they had upgraded!! - and told us about the resort and how everything worked so we weren't totally lost.
We spent our days on the gorgeous beach drinking pina coladas (our favorite bartender was Leighton - he was always super friendly and attentive and suggested fun drinks for us to try), taking the kayaks out, going on the evening catamaran cruise and just enjoying the experience! Our favorite excursion was scuba diving - Wayne "Mr Cool" got us through our certification course and took us out on our first dive - I was extremely nervous, but he made the whole experience fun. My husband went out on 5 more dives with Wayne and loved them! He was definitely one of the highlights of our trip.
The food here was great - we weren't sure what to expect from an all inclusive, but we were pleasantly surprised. Our favorite was the Japanese restaurant - Geon was our chef and he was hysterical - singing pop songs the whole evening and cooking delicious food!
We were so sad to leave and can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: We had the 2 story "spiral staircase" room and it was fantastic!! Very quiet and yet still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We're ecstatic to hear of your great honeymoon spent at Sandals Negril! Ten splendid days in paradise - what a stay! Sandals Negril is well-known for it's Scuba Diving. You'll always find excellent dive sites here and you'll always have an incredible experience. We're so happy that your visit was the kind of stay for which we strive! Thank you so much for your review!

We can't wait to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negril
#7 Family Hotel in Negril
#8 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#11 Spa Hotel in Negril
#14 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Located on Negril's pristine 7-mile white sand beach•Phenomenal bedroom oceanfront suites set upon a relaxing crystal lagoon•Ultra luxurious one-bedroom millionaire honeymoon suites with private plunge pool•Seven exquisite dining options•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa “Jamaica's Leading Hotel” (2nd consecutive year)•Five Star Diamond Resort, American Academy of Hospitality Science ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com and Orbitz so you can book your Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Negril Beach Resort And Spa
Sandals Negril Beach Hotel Negril
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Negril Jamaica
Sandals Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.