We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White sandy beach, the best!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Spa Credit
Ranked #13 of 92 hotels in Negril
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“White sandy beach, the best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 30 years of marital bliss staying in this resort for 5 days. This is our first time staying in Sandals Resort and it will not be the last! First and foremost, the beach is located in the seven mile stretch of white sandy beach in Negril. The best! Second, the food was delicious. We dined at the Bayside buffet which is the main dining room when we are pressed for time. We went to different specialty restaurants for dinner, Barefoot on the Sea has seafood menu; and the Sundowner which served seafood and meat. We also dined at these restaurants: ( they need reservations) - Kimonos which served Japanese; and Cucina Romana for Italian dishes. You can make reservations on your first day. I can't say enough but the food was just amazingly delicious and their portions were just enough. Third, they have top shelf liquor and their mixed drinks were also good. And last but not the least, the STAFF are hardworking, friendly people who would go out of their way to make sure you have an enjoyable stay at the resort. We took a walk along the beach from Sandals to Beaches Resort ( which is a sister resort of Sandals), approximately 2-3 miles, the resort security monitored the time we left the resort and logged us back in when we came back. We really felt secured when he did that. We are giving an overall rating of 4 out of 5 because the resort needs upgrading on some amenities, the carpets in the room needed to be changed. Even though our rooms were cleaned everyday, there was a smell that lingers, it seems the shower curtain was not dried enough and used again. We don't want this minor detail ruin our stay, we really enjoyed it. We did not book any tours, we did not have to, we just stayed in the beach, soaked in the sun and enjoyed every moment of it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,082 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,945
    660
    264
    120
    93
See reviews for
106
2272
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tracy, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The resort is first-rate. The food is amazing! All meals, drinks and entertainment in one package price. What a great way to truly get away from it all!

I am a scuba diver and heard this was the place in Jamaica for scuba. That is an understatement! The staff of the watersports facility is more than willing to set you up for scuba, snorkeling, sail surfing, paddle boarding, etc... Captain Hopeton (A.K.A. Captain Hook) was fantastic. He was all about safety and fun. Always ready with a joke and a smile, he will put you at ease every time you head out. He never knows where we're going to dive until we get started, but guarantees we will get there in "Five to seven Jamaican minutes..." Kamal was the dive guide for several of our trips (I did about 4 at Sandals and another 4 or 5 at the sister resort right down the beach, called Beaches) and he knew just where to look for the best sea creatures, he respects the reef we are diving on and is mindful of all the divers' safety. Not enough good things can be said about these two as well as the entire watersports staff.

Your all-inclusive experience includes all the amenities at Beaches, the sister resort designed for families. It is a short walk down 7-mile beach (Don't worry, you only have to walk about 1.5 miles of it.) to this resort, where you will find an equally impressive facility and staff.

This is our third Sandals vacation and we have already booked our fourth! If you are a scuba diver or an avid snorkeler, you will find what you are looking for in Negril. Sandals is a well-run company with a terrific staff. Jamaica is the ever-friendly island in the Caribbean. You will not be disappointed!

Thanks Captain Hook!

Room Tip: You will spend little time in your room. A balcony is a nice touch, but you will still be happy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful and fulfilling vacation at Sandals, Negril. The staff were amazing and level of service was a first for us. You didn't need a Butler to feel like you were treated extra special...all the service staff greeted and catered us with enthusiasm and respect. The restaurants were delicious, and constant service on the beach for the "Drink" of the day, the only comment I have is that we were somewhat disappointed with the Japanese Restaurant not having an authentic Japanese Chef preparing the meals to their standards. Although the cook was entertaining and the food was fine it was not prepared in the manner we expected for Japanese cuisine. The Spa was marvelous and worth every penny. Our room had a fab bed and was always cool due to the fan and air conditioning, which was something I was a little worried about before arriving due to the humidity....Over all, we loved it and received the same respect we gave. :))))

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We came to Sandals for a friend's wedding. Overall I was left with mixed feelings about this place.

The good -
-Most of the food was delicious, particularly Barefoot by the Sea, the Breakfast and Lunch Buffets and the late-night snacks
-The facilities were nice, we felt secure and overall everything was well kept
-The beach is beautiful
-The resort activities are generally well managed and fun
-Their sister resort, Beaches Negril, is a $5, 7-minute cab ride away
-Rooms are generally clean and well-kept for their age

The bad -
-You only need to provide a last name and room number to sign up for the $14.99/day - 42.99/week internet service. Someone used my name and room number, and I discovered this as a rude surprise the day we checked out. The staff was insistent that I pay the charge, but eventually settled on confirming with "tech support" that the e-mail address used likely was not mine. Fortunately I did this 30 minutes before our airport shuttle was leaving, else I get stuck on waiting for Tech Support to research this issue on "Jamaican Time"
-Though the Hibachi place looks nice and sounds appealing, skip it - the food is way too salty
-The beds in the "Luxury" rooms are quite uncomfortable

The ugly -
-You never lose the feeling that the entire staff is looking upon the guests with disdain for their excessive consumption. This alone makes me very unlikely to come back.
-The prearranged taxi services make it prohibitively expensive to go off the resort (likely this is intentional), even though the distance is not far off from the $5 ride to the other resort
-Some guests are less than honest (see "the bad" above)
-It's an "adults-only" resort, but you get the occasional 30-year old that thinks they're still 19 in Cancun

Room Tip: Pay for the concierge/butler rooms, they're worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We regret to read that you were disappointed with your stay with us. We always strive to offer amazing vacation experiences and anything less than perfect calls for improvement on our part. It seems we did not meet your expectations in a few areas of our service. Our service has been the highlight of many reviews on TripAdvisor, which leaves us quite disappointed that your experience was not indicative of the norm. For this, we apologize. We want to ensure that our future guests do not share the same experience. Therefore, your feedback will be sent to our General Manager for immediate evaluation and action as needed.

Thank you for your review. We hope that you will afford us a chance to make things right during a future stay with us.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at Sandals Negril the first week of June. Upon arrival at the airport, we got our bags and found the Sandals lounge. There was a lady with a clipboard who took our bags, put the sticker corresponding to which Sandals we were staying at on them, and then a man took the bags and put them on a cart. I assumed this man would be handling our bags and taking them to the shuttle so I tipped him... this was not the case. He simply put them on the cart. My wife and I stepped into the lounge to use the restroom. While we were in the restroom I heard the anouncement that the bus going to Sandals Negril was leaving so we didn't get to enjoy any drinks or snacks at the lounge but, that was ok because we were ready to get to the resort. The man who took our bags to the bus wouldn't leave until every couple tipped him. That was a bit awkward when a man who didn't speak English didn't know what he was asking for and took a while to realize he was basically being forced to tip. Our driver was on the phone basically the whole trip to the resort and therefore drove incredibly slow. What would have been just over an hour was well over 2.

When we finally arrived we were greeted with cold towels and taken to the concierge lounge to be checked in. We were served the drink of the day as we filled out our paperwork in a nice air-conditioned room. After check-in, our concierge took us to our room. We had booked a Concierge Beachfront Walkout and we soon realized he had taken us to a 2nd story room that was far from the beach. I told him this was not our room and he said it was a "complimentary upgrade" and that this was in fact a butler suite but, since we didn't pay for a butler, we would still just have concierge. I did lots of research on the rooms before booking and I was quite certain this was no upgrade. I asked to see the room we booked to make a comparison and he complied. We definitely chose to stay in the Beachfront Walkout because the ease of access to the beach was what had drawn us to this resort in the first place. This room was smaller, but I knew it would be before I booked it. However, the minibar was bigger in this room.

As for the room itself, it could use some updates, but we were satisfied. The AC unit is above the door and is supposed to cool the whole room. At night, it would get a bit too cold, and during the day, it wouldn't be cool enough. It would be VERY hot after a shower since there isn't a fan in the bathroom to pull the steam out and the AC didn't blow into the bathroom. The bed was nice and comfortable, the TV stations were in English mainly, the view was amazing, and the closet space was very useful. One night we were awoken around 2am by a smell that greatly resembled an electrical fire. We looked around and noticed the smell was stronger outside so I called the front desk, room service, the concierge, the operator, and no one answered. Finally, I asked the security ranger on the beach patrol and he said something about fumigating. It was really weird and a VERY strong smell.

The service was good but left something to be desired. This was our 3rd all-inclusive resort and we were a bit shocked to have to go the pool every morning to grab towels. At the other resorts, there are workers that grab towels and follow you to your seats, and then lay the towels out for you. It wasn't a really big deal, just something we missed. Also, you have to go EARLY and grab some chairs because they fill up quick. We found it to be annoying that people would go and reserve chairs and we would either never see them or they would only come out for an hour or so and still keep their stuff on them so no one else could use them. We didn't ever have a raft but, we heard some couples talking about how they got one and kept it in their room so they wouldn't lose it to someone else. It's a very "every man for himself" type setting there among the guests.

While on the beach, you get offered shells, ganja, mushrooms, bracelets, cigarettes, coconuts, braids, jet-ski, ganja, parasailing, and more ganja. Basically, if they offer anything, it followed by the offering of "smoke." The security can't keep them off the property, they can just keep them from harrassing you after you say no. One of the security rangers, Clark, was very friendly and helped make our vacation memorable and fun. Aside from vendors who don't work for Sandals, you also get hit up by the spa workers at least once a day wanting you to schedule a massage or treatment. The service and attention we enjoyed was from the servers that worked the beach from the bar and the photographers. The servers would bring drinks to your chair so you didn't have to walk to the bar and they were pretty attentive to our beverage needs. One day on the beach a photographer, Dale, came and took our pictures and we booked an evening session with him that night. He was very nice to us and he got some great pictures that we purchased before we left. We would occassionally run into him around the resort and he would go out of his way to come say hello to us and see how we were doing. Great guy.

The food at this resort was the best we have had at an all-inclusive so far. The nachos at the Beach Bistro are amazing, we had them at least 3 times while we were there. The pizza at Bella Napoli was greasy but very good. Breakfast at Sundowner's was our favorite. Kimonos was very entertaining and they give you PLENTY of food. Cucina Romana has a beautiful location and the dishes are nicely decorated and delicious. Bayside confused us a bit because it is shown everywhere as a buffet and we were tired so we didn't want to get too dressed up for dinner so we decided on Bayside. When we got there, we were seated and handed a French menu. Maybe we didn't read something right but, the food was excellent. The bread they serve was one of the best parts and the steak was good as well. The room service menu is basically just sandwiches for lunch and dinner so it could definitely use some more items to choose from.

We spent most of our time at the beach but, we did visit the main pool and swim-up bar for a couple of hours one day. The playmakers made it fun with some games and the pool was nice.

This resort was our favorite when it came to the food, beach, and room location. All in all, we had a pretty great time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Not many places out there ever meet and exceed expectations...Sandals Negril did just that! The staff was ultra curtious and so much fun! The food was great! The room was wonderful! The things to do were plentiful! And the views were breathtaking! We look forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Sandals Negril. We can't wait to see you again and offer you an even better vacation!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband & I stayed at Sandals Negril for our 5 year anniversary May 29-June 5th 2013. We literally could NOT have had a better time! We stayed in one of the Crystal Lagoon swim-up suites & it truly felt like paradise for 7 nights. Our butlers were Theda & Tavia, both equally amazing in every way. We aren't much for Underwater sports so we didn't snorkel or scuba dive, but we DID learn to paddle board, hobie boat (2 person sailboat), and kayak. We only left the resort once to go to the Rick's Café & jump off the cliffs! We had a great time there and highly recommend doing that. Other than that you've got free food, free drinks, pools, unlimited drinks, free activities, etc...so you don't have to leave the resort at ALL your whole stay. We were gone for 2 hours and that was enough for us!

We've been home for a week and keep making jokes to each other about how much we miss Tavia and Theda! :)

Splurging on the butler rooms is definitely the best way to go if at all possible! If you absolutely can't afford it or just don't need/want that service, any room on this resort would be a great place to spend the week! It's a very small resort and the beach is VERY narrow, so pretty much any room is right "on the water".

Also, one thing to consider is this: a 5 star luxury suite in AMERICA vs. a luxury suite in Jamaica is like comparing apples & oranges. Two completely different things. If you're the type of person (or couple) that likes to look for things to complain about then YES you'll definitely find them. Sure there are things that just make you go "hmmmmmph" about their rooms (even the NICEST rooms) .......but if you're the type of people who just want to relax in PARADISE for a week, you'll have a great time!! :) It's all about what you make out of your trip!

Room Tip: Swim Up Suites are SUPER fun, but we'll try different rooms each time, just so long as we still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Negril. We're thrilled to read you had an incredible and memorable anniversary stay with us. Our top priority is always to exceed the expectations of our guests and we're so happy we were able to be apart of such a great memory.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Sandals Negril Beach Hotel Negril
Sandals Negril Beach Resort And Spa
Sandals Negril Beach Hotel
Sandals Negril
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Negril Jamaica
Sandals Resort
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#7 Family Hotel in Negril
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#13 Business Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Located on Negril's pristine 7-mile white sand beach•Phenomenal bedroom oceanfront suites set upon a relaxing crystal lagoon•Ultra luxurious one-bedroom millionaire honeymoon suites with private plunge pool•Seven exquisite dining options•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa “Jamaica's Leading Hotel” (2nd consecutive year)•Five Star Diamond Resort, American Academy of Hospitality Science ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Tingo, BookIt.com, Venere, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.