We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jonny B” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Spa Credit!
Ranked #16 of 91 hotels in Negril
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Jonny B”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at the resort from 4/8 to 4/15 in a ground floor ocean front room in an older wing much in need of
updating. All of the staff were very friendly and accommodating and all aspects of service were generally
excellent (well, the beach sports guys did have a touch of attitude). The maids do a fine job but those responsible
for restocking complimentary room items can be spotty. The food is not much above mediocre and, in our opinion,
the Japanese and Italian restaurants fall below that. The Italian restaurant has by far the best ambiance but the
staff needs to shape up. We say stick to the buffet and the Sundowner with a daytime nod to the pizza place and
the Bistro. The fact that the only beer available is Red Stripe (yuch!) is most annoying. The beach is not good
and misrepresented on the website. The main pool is small and dominated largely by loud, drink swilling types
up until that bar closes at 6 pm. I suspect that most guests were there with steeply reduced special offers which
still ends up being a bit pricey for value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,091
    716
    280
    121
    97
See reviews for
113
2451
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I can't say enough good things about Negril and Sandals. It was our 4th time in Jamaica, guess we just can't get enough of the great food, great people an spectacular beach. Sandals is the way to go, no question. We had a beautiful room that was immaculately kept and only steps from the beach. Having stayed in the Palms building the room offered a wonderful and sapcious patio where we had our moring coffee daily. Its an excellent choice for room category (Beach front Honey moon Suite) and for sure if you take it , you will not regret the Butler service. It may take you some getting used too at first but don't skimp when booking and miss it. Myron and Neisha were our Butlers for the week, and in a word or two they were Spectacular, Honest, Sincere and there to serve you if and when you want it. 2 Very Lovely people. Food was great. We loved the lunches at Barefoot by the Sea and Cuccina for dinner where I actually got the cooks to sing to us...Become a Sandals family memeber, the perks will pay off in the end. A special Hello and thank you to Kyle for the returning guests dinner on our last night, a nice way to end our stay, but a great way to have us return......You can't go wrong at this resort, although a bit older than some other Sandals locations, still up to par. One Love!!!

Room Tip: Beach front Honey Moon - Palms Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at Sandals Negril 4/7 - 4/14 for a wedding and my birthday. We travel a lot, but this was our first trip to Sandals and really didn't know what to expect. It turned out to be the most relaxing vacation EVER! Let's get the easy stuff out of the way first:

Check-in/Check-out: Easy, especially with the butler service. If there's a wait, don't be shy -- the Playmakers have no problem getting you in vacation mode with pool games and you'll forget that you're still in airport gear!

Room: We had a Honeymoon Beachfront Walkout Suite. The room was beautiful and just as pictured. We saw a few non-butler rooms, and the added cost is definitely worth it if you want more than just a place to lay your head at the end of the day.

Beach: Narrow, but that wasn't a big deal. The beach is very clean and calm water with beautiful views up and down 7-Mile Beach. You have a lot of watersports to choose from if you need some action while on the beach. The vendors don't really bother you -- security will promptly usher them along if you show the slightest sign that you're uncomfortable.

Food: It's very good, but please don't expect a 5 star dining experience). There's no shortage of food here -- if you need something special, they will find it. Our vegan friend who was with us was surely able to eat.

Gym/Spa: The gym has what you need for vacation workouts if you're inclined to use it. Great experience at the spa -- it's pricey, but you'll leave feeling like you can walk on water.

Pools/Hot-tubs: The pools looked nice, but we really didn't use them since we had a gorgeous beach right there. We called the hot-tub by the piano bar the "warm-tub." It's nowhere near as hot as the one by the main pool, which was always crowded, but it was still comfortable and a great place to meet people.

Bars: Plenty of bars, and there were NO watered-down drinks. Those bartenders know what they're doing!

With all that said, what made this trip exceptional was the staff, especially our butler, Basil J. When Basil said "no worries," rest assured all would be perfect. The room came stocked with good liquor, but Basil found our favorite bottle of rum and had it ready and waiting for us on the first night. He surprised us with drawn baths (still hot when we got to the room). Beach chairs and cooler was always set up early and stocked with precisely what we liked. He double-checked the room to make sure I didn't leave my flat iron on when I rushed out to a wedding. He found my husband's missing earphones. All the little things that you don't want to worry about on vacation suddenly weren't a problem because Basil was on it! It took a bit of getting used to having a butler, but by the end of the trip we were plotting ways to extend the trip or move Basil to the States with us! The rest of the staff was also amazing (shout out to Playmakers Kevan, Sheniqua, and Petal). We felt a bit of pressure from the photographers at first, but it's all good -- for people like us who always forget cameras, it was good to have them around (especially Anthony, who is hilarious) and they got some really good shots of us.

We see why people keep coming back; we would return to Sandals Negril in a heartbeat. Already planning our next trip!

Room Tip: Book a butler room; don't gamble on getting an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Me & the wifey just returned from Sandals Negril after celebrating our 2nd Anniversary. We've been to several Sandal resorts in Jamaica over the past 2 yrs. When we arrived, we were told that our concierge honeymoon grand luxe beach front room wasn't available. Our room was downgraded to a garden room, with no beach view, for one night. The staff did an EXCELLENT job with providing us a $150 room credit, the difference in price between the two rooms, and a huge bottle of Remy Martin for our troubles. Once we moved to our room, it's was great! The bathroom was small, but the balcony was lovely. The view to the ocean was spectacular! The food was okay. The buffet was average at best. Sundowners and Barefoot by the sea was good. The Italian restaurant was okay. Kimonos was the highlight of the restaurants. The swim up bar was pretty big. The bars were great! Donovan and his night team was perfect! The beach had suffered from some erosion as it was very narrow in some spots. The photo staff was cool, but suffocating throughout the stay. They were just as bad a the locals roaming the beach trying to sell weed, cigarettes, and other items. Once again, the night life at the bar played very little reggae music, which was very upsetting to us. I don't want to hear black eye peas and Justin Timberlake in Jamaica. Other than that, the resort was pretty decent. The entire staff was very good and always were looking to help. Lois(female), Norman from the various restaurants, and Fabian from snapshots were our favorites. Sandals must improve on providing more of an authentic Jamaican night life before we visit another Sandals resort in Jamaica.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, N.S.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I travelled to Sandals Negril for reunion week this year, we were very dissapointed in the resort. We have been going to various Sandals resorts for 7 years now and this may be our last Sandals. The resort is old and not clean, our first room was very small but had a good supply of ants. We were moved the second day to a slightly larger room but not what we booked. The third day they moved us again (we did not ask for this move) to a larger room but it still was not what we expected or received at other Sandals resorts.
I do have to say that the staff was great!!!! They should all be proud of the work they do because they do it very well. They went out of their way to make us as comfortable as they could, unfortunately they do not have much to work with as far as a resort goes.
We started going to Sandals resorts for the relaxation (we both work very hard all year and looked forward to 10 days of kicking back at a quite calming resort) and touch of class these resorts brought. Men would dress in dress pants, shirts and shoes and the women wore dresses and nice jewelery, these were dress codes that were inforced. The last two years now have seen a change to cargo shorts, T shirts, baseball caps and flip flops (some did not bother to wear anything on their feet). We pay a premium for that touch of class but it is sadly going away. If I wanted to go away to see a buch of drunk slopy people I could go to any resort and pay half the price to do it. PLEASE SANDALS bring back and inforce the dress codes, bring back those special evenings when people looked great and the resort made you feel special. Since our return I have talked with 4 other couples that go to Sandals every year and they all agree that Sandals is no longer that special resort. Couples Resorts are starting to look good and for a fraction of the price!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our tenth time at a Jamaican Sandals and our fifth at Negril. Why? Sandals offer a product that suits us perfectly; we know what to expect and we know we'll enjoy it.
On this occasion we had a one bedroom loft suite,well appointed and with one of the comfiest beds ever.
As always, people will have different views on the same food. We tended to have breakfast and lunch at the Bayside and ate at most of the restaurants in the evenings. The quality at breakfast and lunch was generally very good, inevitably we preferred some dishes to others but you'll certainly never go hungry at Sandals. For those requiring their fix of fast/junk food there's a pizzeria and beach bar - both always seemed very popular.In the evenings we liked Barefoot On the Beach the best but had no complaints about the other restaurants.
Clearly, many go just to relax. We prefer to be active and indulged our love of water skiing on a daily basis. A great way to work off a few extra calories!
The gardens and grounds merit a mention too. Thoughtfully planted and carefully maintained, they offer a generous splash of colour to the resort.
We've always found the staff at Sandals to be exceptional and this time was no different. They're a friendly, hard-working and courteous bunch - someone trains them VERY well. Our special thanks to two superb waitresses, Faithlin and Terriann. Whenever they were looking after us we had a great time. Also worthy of a mention is Micheal at the piano bar for mixing the finest Cosmopolitan I've ever had and Jeneisha who started every day with a big smile and delicious smoothies at breakfast. The last mention goes to two guys who ensured every day was ultra-enjoyable: Carlton and Gregory on the ski boat, we kept them as busy as our bodies would allow!
Obviously no hotel can be perfect. Sandals Negril isn't the newest and looks a little tired around the edges in parts. The main pool can only be described as small. If you like a big pool the one at Whitehouse is vast by comparison. The hotel is quite close to the road and some rooms do suffer from an element of traffic noise.
These are minor gripes though. What it boils down to is would we return?
As Arnie says "I'll be back"!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We just returned from Sandals Negril staying 4/6 - 4/13. We have stayed at many different resorts in Jamaica and elsewhere. The staff at this resor will make your Vacation.

The Sandals lounge and transfer were very smooth from the airport and we arrived to be greated by the great staff. We were taken to the Conceirge for check in and after a brief overview and we booked our dinner reservations for the Italian and Kimonos right at check in as was recommended by the Conceirge we were off too our room!

We were upgraded to a Loft Suite - Room 2206, this was a great room. We were unfortunately not big fans of the stairs and their is only one bathroom that is located upstairs. For us, this seemed a struggle so we opted to check in with Carrie Ann at the Conceirge and ask to be moved to our originally booked room and that was the Honeymoon Conceirge Walkout Suite. She brought me to room 5116 and I loved it. Not as new as the loft but the convenience to the beach was great. We had the sweetest little housekeeper and I can't remember her name but she did a great job all week. Mini Bar was stocked daily and we stepped out our room and we were in front of the beach. So Close!! Loved this.

The Beach was not as we were expecting its very narrow in some spots. The swimming area in front of the Paradise buidling is the better of the 3 - All are very shallow. We did have to get up early to reserve chairs as we wanted the ones in front of our room. You could walk the beach and the vendors were fine, just a polite no thank you and they were on their way. We have stayed at other spots in Negril where the beach was better as you could tell they had erosion as we heard many people say it used to be wider. Down near the river suites and the piano bar it was much wider and more room.

The pool we didn't use very much. Was good temperature and very quiet. The entire resort was pretty quiet.

I have to give the biggest shout out to the STAFF - When I say they make your vacation - They are top notch! I do believe everyone asked how your vacation was - Right down to Natoya who was super pleasant making my eggs in the morning. We also had our first experience with Juney when we got there at the Beach Bistro, what an amazing young lady. Super sweet and she remembered us for breakfast the next day too!! Literally every person you met there was great.

On about the staff - Carrie Ann and Cassandra at the Conceirge were great, so professional. Your wish is there command.

The star staff shout out has to be to Chris at the Piano Bar during the day! We miss him already - a true Brand Ambassador to Sandals! He loves his job and takes amazing pride. It is the cleanest bar and if your glass empties it will not stay empty for long.... He would never allow it. On a few of the rainy afternoons we had he made our afternoons :)

We did the return dinner and it was great at Bayside, it was a rainy evening but the food was good and they did a nice job.

The Italian Restaurant was very good and we enjoyed two meals there. Here again our waiters were great and attentive. Service was fast!

Kimonos - We had the best Chef he was so entertaining! I am not sure if I got his name right but it wsa Gian I think - He sang the entire meal and we laughed and enjoyed him so much! The food was great and enjoyable - Enitre meal was good and we left full!

Bayside for Dinner - We did the sit down French at night and this was a great meal! Very quiet and service was exceptional.

Sundowner - The food was great here but the wait for a table was a bit much for us. Not as convenient as the others. They should probably do reservations here at this place too.

We did take the snorkeling tour and it was fun and we saw fish, the reef isn't as bright as others we have seen. Also took in the tubing too - a lot of fun.

The nightlife was good but not exciting but honestly we are early to bed so it didn't bother us ;)

All and all this is a great spot and resort! The Staff I would give 7 stars if I could. The rooms and the beach are not as good but if service is what you are after this place will not disappoint!!!

Thank you Sandals for another great vacation! Any questions don't hesitate to ask!

Room Tip: Beachfront Walkout - You will not go wrong! Just like real estate - Location, Location, Location!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Negril
#5 Business Hotel in Negril
#6 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#9 Spa Hotel in Negril
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#13 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Located on Negril's pristine 7-mile white sand beach•Phenomenal bedroom oceanfront suites set upon a relaxing crystal lagoon•Ultra luxurious one-bedroom millionaire honeymoon suites with private plunge pool•Seven exquisite dining options•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa “Jamaica's Leading Hotel” (2nd consecutive year)•Five Star Diamond Resort, American Academy of Hospitality Science ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Negril Beach Hotel Negril
Sandals Negril Beach Resort And Spa
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Negril Jamaica
Sandals Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.