We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Arnie says.......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$235 Spa/Tour Credit!
Ranked #17 of 90 Hotels in Negril
east sussex
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“As Arnie says.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our tenth time at a Jamaican Sandals and our fifth at Negril. Why? Sandals offer a product that suits us perfectly; we know what to expect and we know we'll enjoy it.
On this occasion we had a one bedroom loft suite,well appointed and with one of the comfiest beds ever.
As always, people will have different views on the same food. We tended to have breakfast and lunch at the Bayside and ate at most of the restaurants in the evenings. The quality at breakfast and lunch was generally very good, inevitably we preferred some dishes to others but you'll certainly never go hungry at Sandals. For those requiring their fix of fast/junk food there's a pizzeria and beach bar - both always seemed very popular.In the evenings we liked Barefoot On the Beach the best but had no complaints about the other restaurants.
Clearly, many go just to relax. We prefer to be active and indulged our love of water skiing on a daily basis. A great way to work off a few extra calories!
The gardens and grounds merit a mention too. Thoughtfully planted and carefully maintained, they offer a generous splash of colour to the resort.
We've always found the staff at Sandals to be exceptional and this time was no different. They're a friendly, hard-working and courteous bunch - someone trains them VERY well. Our special thanks to two superb waitresses, Faithlin and Terriann. Whenever they were looking after us we had a great time. Also worthy of a mention is Micheal at the piano bar for mixing the finest Cosmopolitan I've ever had and Jeneisha who started every day with a big smile and delicious smoothies at breakfast. The last mention goes to two guys who ensured every day was ultra-enjoyable: Carlton and Gregory on the ski boat, we kept them as busy as our bodies would allow!
Obviously no hotel can be perfect. Sandals Negril isn't the newest and looks a little tired around the edges in parts. The main pool can only be described as small. If you like a big pool the one at Whitehouse is vast by comparison. The hotel is quite close to the road and some rooms do suffer from an element of traffic noise.
These are minor gripes though. What it boils down to is would we return?
As Arnie says "I'll be back"!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,397
    844
    314
    140
    106
See reviews for
127
2,847
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (968)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We just returned from Sandals Negril staying 4/6 - 4/13. We have stayed at many different resorts in Jamaica and elsewhere. The staff at this resor will make your Vacation.

The Sandals lounge and transfer were very smooth from the airport and we arrived to be greated by the great staff. We were taken to the Conceirge for check in and after a brief overview and we booked our dinner reservations for the Italian and Kimonos right at check in as was recommended by the Conceirge we were off too our room!

We were upgraded to a Loft Suite - Room 2206, this was a great room. We were unfortunately not big fans of the stairs and their is only one bathroom that is located upstairs. For us, this seemed a struggle so we opted to check in with Carrie Ann at the Conceirge and ask to be moved to our originally booked room and that was the Honeymoon Conceirge Walkout Suite. She brought me to room 5116 and I loved it. Not as new as the loft but the convenience to the beach was great. We had the sweetest little housekeeper and I can't remember her name but she did a great job all week. Mini Bar was stocked daily and we stepped out our room and we were in front of the beach. So Close!! Loved this.

The Beach was not as we were expecting its very narrow in some spots. The swimming area in front of the Paradise buidling is the better of the 3 - All are very shallow. We did have to get up early to reserve chairs as we wanted the ones in front of our room. You could walk the beach and the vendors were fine, just a polite no thank you and they were on their way. We have stayed at other spots in Negril where the beach was better as you could tell they had erosion as we heard many people say it used to be wider. Down near the river suites and the piano bar it was much wider and more room.

The pool we didn't use very much. Was good temperature and very quiet. The entire resort was pretty quiet.

I have to give the biggest shout out to the STAFF - When I say they make your vacation - They are top notch! I do believe everyone asked how your vacation was - Right down to Natoya who was super pleasant making my eggs in the morning. We also had our first experience with Juney when we got there at the Beach Bistro, what an amazing young lady. Super sweet and she remembered us for breakfast the next day too!! Literally every person you met there was great.

On about the staff - Carrie Ann and Cassandra at the Conceirge were great, so professional. Your wish is there command.

The star staff shout out has to be to Chris at the Piano Bar during the day! We miss him already - a true Brand Ambassador to Sandals! He loves his job and takes amazing pride. It is the cleanest bar and if your glass empties it will not stay empty for long.... He would never allow it. On a few of the rainy afternoons we had he made our afternoons :)

We did the return dinner and it was great at Bayside, it was a rainy evening but the food was good and they did a nice job.

The Italian Restaurant was very good and we enjoyed two meals there. Here again our waiters were great and attentive. Service was fast!

Kimonos - We had the best Chef he was so entertaining! I am not sure if I got his name right but it wsa Gian I think - He sang the entire meal and we laughed and enjoyed him so much! The food was great and enjoyable - Enitre meal was good and we left full!

Bayside for Dinner - We did the sit down French at night and this was a great meal! Very quiet and service was exceptional.

Sundowner - The food was great here but the wait for a table was a bit much for us. Not as convenient as the others. They should probably do reservations here at this place too.

We did take the snorkeling tour and it was fun and we saw fish, the reef isn't as bright as others we have seen. Also took in the tubing too - a lot of fun.

The nightlife was good but not exciting but honestly we are early to bed so it didn't bother us ;)

All and all this is a great spot and resort! The Staff I would give 7 stars if I could. The rooms and the beach are not as good but if service is what you are after this place will not disappoint!!!

Thank you Sandals for another great vacation! Any questions don't hesitate to ask!

Room Tip: Beachfront Walkout - You will not go wrong! Just like real estate - Location, Location, Location!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed March 30- Apr 06th...absolutely no complaints! We had a Butler Room, which was well worth it - thanks to our Butlers Mark & Orlando who took very good care of us for the week. All staff amazingly friendly - shout out to Chris at the piano/open air bar, who was always smiling, Lois who walked drinks out to our swim raft...above and beyond with a smile! Property is well looked after, rooms, pool, grounds very clean. Food was good in all restaurants. Met some great couples durng our stay...would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We visited Sandals Negril the second week of april to celebrate our 37th anniversary! Beautiful resort! We enjoyed the shuttle ride as we got to see some of the countryside and met some of the other folks that we would see during the week stay. The beach is very beautiful and the sunsets are to die for! The local musicians and vendors were very entertaining. We enjoyed the food, thought the room in the palms building was excellent! Loved that it was so central to all the activities and the view:) Sandals invited us to a special dinner as returning guests, this was very nice! They decorated our room for our anniversary with fruit, balloons, flowers! Don't know if we will return or not because we like to visit new places, but would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your great review of Sandals Negril. We're so happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. It was a pleasure sharing your special occasion with you and we look forward to welcoming you back for another amazing vacation.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at Sandals Negril for a wedding March 23rd-27th 2013. Had the time of my life. The room was clean and well stocked with any liquor I could imagine. I stayed with another single gal and we were able to get anything we wanted. I cannot say enough about this resort. The staff was amazing and able to accommodate any request. We had a beachfront concierge room and the view was fantastic. If your looking for a fancy resort, this is it. This is a couples resort so as a single gal I would have liked to have other singles to mingle with, however I knew going in that it was a couples resort. The wedding we attended at Sandals was amazing, with a spectacular sunset view. The food was delish!! The drinks were great! I couldn't ask for anything more. No complaints whatsoever. It was expensive but worth the money to be pampered in paradise.

Room Tip: Definitely get a concierge room. You will have a balcony and a full bar in the room. It was worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

All I can say is WOW! This place is as good as is gets. This was our first time ever to a Sandals resort and I can tell you that we will be back. The resort is gorgeous, but the service and people are what make this so special. Our Butler, Daron, was amazing. He helped have the vacation of our lives. Definitely spring for the butler service, it is so worth it. We love the Cucina Romano restaurant the best of all. Amazing location on the beach and wonderful food. All of the food was incredible though!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Mines, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is by far the most relaxing resort I have gone to so far. We travel south every year and stay at 5star resorts. If you want to just relax, this place should keep you happy. The pools were a little smaller then what we were use to but the distance from the pool to the beach is under 50ft. The beach is amazing, a little narrower then DR but sooooo calm and clean.
Locals would try to sell us some stuff but if you just say no thanks they just leave you alone. I didn't find it near as bad as the DR.
If you are going to party it up, I'm not sure this is the resort for you.The night life isn't really happening. But I am on the beach before 9am so once the evening rolls around I am pretty tired anyways. I would rather spend more time in the sun and on the beach then staying up partying.

The Service is really something else. I mean the people were so friendly compared to other resorts we have stayed at. To me the food and service are the real deal breakers for me.

Room Tip: The rooms were a little smaller then what we were use to. But we spend very little time in our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Negril
#7 Family Hotel in Negril
#8 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#11 Spa Hotel in Negril
#14 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Located on Negril's pristine 7-mile white sand beach•Phenomenal bedroom oceanfront suites set upon a relaxing crystal lagoon•Ultra luxurious one-bedroom millionaire honeymoon suites with private plunge pool•Seven exquisite dining options•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa “Jamaica's Leading Hotel” (2nd consecutive year)•Five Star Diamond Resort, American Academy of Hospitality Science ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com and Orbitz so you can book your Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Negril Beach Hotel Negril
Sandals Negril Beach Resort And Spa
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Negril Jamaica
Sandals Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.