We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't hesitate to book, especially if you are a beach person!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Couples Massage!
Ranked #16 of 91 hotels in Negril
New England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate to book, especially if you are a beach person!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

After 10 days at Sandals Ocho Rios over the holidays we booked our last four nights at Sandals Negril. We knew we would be longing for a beach fix, a long beautiful beach... and looking at it or being on it day and night; and we got our wish...and much, much more.

Arrived mid-afternoon and having booked a concierge beachfront (lowest/first concierge category) we were whisked to the concierge lounge/check-in. A cold and delicious drink, and a few minutes later we were on our way to our "room". We were told we had an upgrade, but yikes and wow and every !!! our upgrade was fantastic. A butler suite (minus the butler) our suite was gorgeous, comfortable, luxurious. We've been upgraded before but this one took the cake (called the millionaire's suite). Funny; we'd come for the beach but didn't want to leave our room.

The staff at this resort were helpful, kind, friendly and fun, ALL of them! Did not meet one grumpy person and quickly made new friends. Bars were all very good, pool bar especially, we repeatedly would walk a ways along the beach just to get our favorite libations from the pool guys, and the Mango Margarita became a new favorite.

The water is warm and clear, but shallow forever. Hard to do any "serious" swimming, but made up for that part with a fabulous Catamaran trip to Rick's Cafe, swam in deep blue water, jumped off a small cliff and lots of music, dancing and fun. Then at sunset sailed on to a buffet at Margaritaville, and then a nice long sail back under a full moon (lucky timing). Trip is well worth the price. We also did one dive (since only there four days), it was their morning deep dive and to our surprise it was quite beautiful. Jamaica isn't known as a diver's destination but visiblility was excellent and we saw a ton of lobsters, beautiful fish, eels, giant sponges...very fun dive.

As mentioned by many, the resort goes for a long way, you are always walking along the beach, our favorite restaurants were at the opposite end from our suite: Barefoot and Sundowner. We also enjoyed Dinos, and snacks, light fare at the Bistro. We ordered room service as well, prompt and ok, with a very good breakfast. All of the service was great, and we did not wait or have any mixed up orders, loved the fresh pasta at the Italian. Plenty of exercise walking from one to the next :)

The beach vendors really won't bother you, there were a few, but "no thank you" is all you need say, and they are on their merry way. Security is ever present and no one is allowed to linger.

Having come from another resort with butler service, and having "just concierge", we were astounded one night to come back to our room to find a full bubble bath, rose petals everywhere, our bed beautifully decorated and champagne on ice. A huge thank you to Cassandra, our concierge...that was far above and beyond the expected and it was wonderful.

I wish we had been able to stay longer, there is much to this resort we didn't get a chance to try or enjoy. Also loved the outdoor game area/bar off the lobby. Great place to play pool, ping pong, take a dip, order a drink, sit on a lounge and chill, meet friends by a fire pit, etc..

This was a beautiful, romantic and intimate resort to enjoy and we will definitely soon come back.

Room Tip: Book beachfront, concierge is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,069
    709
    278
    121
    97
See reviews for
111
2425
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I've just read some of the recent reviews written by others who also loved it and I totally agree.
I don't want to repeat everything they just wrote so I'll just leave you with their great review.
It's all about doing your homework before booking a trip. Don't believe "all" the bad stuff. Some people just like to complain. If you have issues, just tell the concierge or the front desk and they're usually pretty good at going out of their way to make you happy. It's incredible how friendly and courteous they all are. Where ever you decide to go, just relax and enjoy every minute. You are there for a good time, not a long time. By the way...7 days is too short, 10 days is perfect!

Room Tip: Beachfront, 3rd floor is the way to go. Private, quiet and view of the beautiful sunsets. I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

As soon as i stepped off the shuttle I felt the magic of Negril. We had spent 3 days at Sandals Whitehouse so we were rested up and ready to party in Negril for Christmas.
Mark the Butler who escorted us to our room, made our check in a breeze and Orlando who was there for us the next 2 days was AMAZING...a big thank you. You made our Christmas in Negril a memorable one. He surprised us with a beautiful arrangement on our bed, appetizers and champagne and prepared a scented bubble bath when we got back from the beach.
Thank you to all the staff in Negril, we had a magical time ! And to all the future visitors to this resort...jamaican patties and jerk chicken are a must have.
Soon come :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Had an amazing trip from check in through check out. We had the Millionaires suite with plunge pool, which was exactly like the pictures. My husband and I felt like we had to keep pinching ourselves to be sure we were not dreaming. We had the best butlers, Denato and Sean. They made sure our every wish and desires were met. The beach at Sandals Negril is gorgeous. White powdery sand and crystal clear water. The staff is extremely friendly. Especially Kendra at Bayside and Christopher who we saw in multiple places. Breakfast at Bayside was very entertaining with the peacocks eating food right out of your hands. The grounds are beautiful and continually maintained. Sean served us dinner in our room poolside, which was truly magical! We really enjoyed a delicious meal at the Italian restaurant. It was so relaxing having dinner while listening to the surf and looking out over the ocean. Dinner at the Sundowner was first class. The service was excellent and the food outstanding. The resort is small and very intimate, which adds to its charm. We would definitely recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach are quieter because this resort is located very close to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was a little worried after reading some bad reviews, but honestly, I do not see how anyone could absolutely hate this place. Yes there are some things that could use improvement, but overall, it was an amazing honeymoon!

We took an early flight so we could get there early and we arrived at the resort around 12-12:30PM. Our rooms were already ready so Concierge allowed us to just go to the rooms even though check in wasn't until 3PM - definitely a great way to start! They required a hold on a credit card right away for things you want to charge to the room, a little off setting but made sense so no biggie! The room was average - nothing spectacular (we got a grande luxe) but it's vacation so it didn't ruin our time there.

The food was absolutely amazing!! There was not one bad meal we ate there! My husband is extremely picky and he loved it. The pizza at Bella Napoli was fantastic! We ate there for lunch almost every other day. Kimonos was definitely our favorite place! They give you so much food there and the staff was phenominal! Kas our server was so sweet and the bartender Aldric was so funny! They definitely had a great vibe in the restaurant between the staff which made it that much more enjoyable! Definitely try the Jerk Chicken and the grilled cheese with guacamole sandwhich at the Beach Bistro! They were amazingly good! The italian restaurant was also very good and the Bayside Buffet always had something to eat since there was so much variety. It really is impossible for someone to hate the food there and say there's nothing to eat all day unless they have unbelievable expectations that no one could meet- there's so much variety and all day room service that offered burgers and fries at least!

The beach was beautiful - there are people there trying to sell their stuff but they don't bother you - simply say no and they will say "No problem mon" and keep walking - definltely not an inconvienence. We didn't have a problem ever getting beach chairs, but if you have a spot that you want, I would recommend putting your stuff there early. We were up by 7AM every day naturally so we just went downstairs around 7:30AM to get our beach chairs, but on the couple days we waited until after breakfast, we were still able to find chairs. Little known secret - there are a bunch of beach chairs over behind the cabanas with umbrellas that NO ONE ever used! We didn't even notice them until our day at the cabana but we definitely told other couples we knew to check over there since it was definitely a quieter part of the beach!

The staff was so nice and accomodating! They definitely went out of their way to make you happy and make sure you were taken care of. We had a private dinner on the last night there and I was sick and was only able to make it to dinner. Our server Raquel was very nice and took our dessert up to the room for us so we could finish our dinner in there. I apologized since I felt so bad and she was reassuring that it wasn't a big deal and always had a smile on her face! Everything was very laid back, don't expect a rush to get meals or drinks - the only place we had to wait a while to get drinks was at the Piano Bar, but you have to remember that they were making drinks for the restaurants around them AND a bunch of people at that bar - but you're on vacation, where do you have to go? Just wait and someone will make their way to you. Also remember, a lot of their drinks are frozen so they may take a while - my drink of choice was a frozen Bob Marley which had 3 different colored layers to it - so it takes a while to make but it was worth it! Definitely try one (they also have it in shot form - if you don't take shots, ask Aldric to make the "girly" version for you - it's flipped and much sweeter!).

We booked a private cabana for the day and it was totally worth it!! Our concierge Algero was AWESOME! We were the only ones there for the day so we were able to just hang out with him most of the day and we had a great time! He constantly had drinks available for us and was very very good! We really enjoyed meeting him and he was probably one of the most memorable staff members there who made a great impression on us!

The only thing I would change is getting an upgraded room for a better bathroom, but for our first trip, it still was fantastic! We would definitely go back to Jamaica - I would like to try Whitehouse but we enjoyed Negril so much we may just go back there!! I would also definitely recommend doing the Club Mobay in the airport waiting for your flight. We did it because I was feeling sick on the last day and my husband wanted to make sure we waited in comfort - private bathrooms, drinks (alcoholic and non), food, air conditioning, tvs, couches and lounge chairs were included. It was only $30 a person and you get to bypass everyone for security check points and immigration. We were done in 15 minutes!

As long as you don't go into this with high, unreachable expectations of a flawless vacation, then you will have a great time!!! Just enjoy it, you're in Jamaica!!

Room Tip: If you prefer quiet at night, try to choose a room away from Piano Bar. Our building was in the midd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

You will not find a finer crew to make your diving experience more relaxing and pampered. Thanks to the infamous Captian Hook, Kemar(aka Smiley), Phillip ( the Lion Fish slayer), Wayne (Hollywood) and Josh. Our second time at this resort because it is awesome. What is amazing is that the dive crew is the same as 2 years ago! These guys are good. Professional and personable. we will go again.

Room Tip: Rooms above Garden Deluxe level are recommended as Deluxe are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Sandals Negril for 6 nights Dec. 20- 26, 2013. What a wonderful stay we had! A fantastic butler ocean view suite, butler service from the outstanding Basil J and Theda and a nice tour of the property including various accommodation categories made for a great stay. The butlers went out of their way to make our vacation and anniversary special- from champagne, cheese platters, fruit platter and towel animals plus flowers on the bed and at our tables in the restaurant. Chairs saved with towels at the beach and a stocked cooler- heaven! We’ve been to three other Sandals Resorts- Royal Bahamian, Grande Antigua and Sandals La Toc in St. Lucia. I believe Sandals Negril in Jamaica is our new favorite Sandals!
What makes Sandals so special- besides the fantastic beach, the ocean and weather, luxurious surroundings, delicious food, great entertainment and chill vibe? The people or staff do . I want to recognize the following individuals- Juliet ( the housekeeper- so kind ), Floyd and Richard at Sundowner Rest ( so friendly- couldn’t do enough for you) , Big Papa on the snorkeling and glass bottom boat excursion ( very funny and lively) , Ashadee, Yvonnique, Dewayne,Sherae and O’Shane- playmakers, and of course Basil J and Theda. What an exceptional staff that makes the difference- people with winning smiles, genuinely positive attitudes, enthusiasm, warmth and the ability to really make you feel special and welcome.
I will definitely recommend Sandals Negril for my clients and to all the travel agents at Diana’s Destinations and my husband and I hope to be back real soon to repeat our vacation in Jamaica.
It's a great place to kick back, lie on the beach with a tropical drink and chill!

ps. we took 3 excursions- Rick's cafe,horseback riding in the rainforest and in the water, and to Mystic Mountain- for the Jamaican bobsled and sky ride. 1st two were worth it. Rick's cafe had great cliff divers, a band, bar, pool and shop.

Room Tip: Palms oceanview butler suites are great view.... we had a walkout with patio- close to everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Negril
#4 Family Hotel in Negril
#6 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#9 Spa Hotel in Negril
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#13 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Located on Negril's pristine 7-mile white sand beach•Phenomenal bedroom oceanfront suites set upon a relaxing crystal lagoon•Ultra luxurious one-bedroom millionaire honeymoon suites with private plunge pool•Seven exquisite dining options•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa “Jamaica's Leading Hotel” (2nd consecutive year)•Five Star Diamond Resort, American Academy of Hospitality Science ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Negril Beach Hotel Negril
Sandals Negril Beach Resort And Spa
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Negril Jamaica
Sandals Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.