We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Revisited” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Norman Manley Blvd | Bloody Bay Beach, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Black Fri-Cyber Mon SALE
Ranked #29 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Paradise Revisited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Paradise Revisited

My husband, teenage daughter and I had the pleasure of staying at the RIU Palace Tropical Bay for 16 nights from October 19 to November 4, 2013. This was our second visit to Negril – our first was in 1997- this was our daughter’s first trip.

We arranged for a private pick up from the Montego Bay Airport and after a grueling hour wait in the immigration lineup (at least 4 flights came in at the same time – should have booked Club Mobay!) our luggage was waiting for us and so was our private driver from SNL Jamaican Tours - Lindsay MacFarlane.

We enjoyed the ride from Montego Bay to Negril with Lindsay pointing out various things as we drove past. Things have changed since 15 years ago – a new road which was impressive. An hour later, we arrived at the resort. WOW – what an amazing first impression.

We were the only people checking in so we were attended to right away, check in took all of 3 minutes, received our room cards, resort maps, information on restaurants and the free Wi-Fi connection information (good on your RIU for providing this service free!)

David loaded up our bags and we were off to our rooms. We were lucky to be put into Building 1 – by the Dive Shack. We had rooms 1220 and 1221. We really liked the way the room entrances are set up, a door, long hallway and then the room doors themselves. This worked out great for us – we’d close the hallway door and open our room doors so we could come and go between rooms. Our rooms were great – lots of drawer space for clothes as well as 2 closets for more clothes, the mini fridge which was kept stocked with Red Stripe, Coke, Diet Coke, Sprite and Club Soda as well as large and small bottles of water. The a/c worked very well, when you open your balcony door the a/c turns off. There was the alcohol dispenser as well which we used only once, there was enough alcohol at the bars, and we didn’t feel we needed any in the room. The safe is located in the largest closet on the floor, which we found very strange. The beds are pushed together but comfortable enough, the pillows need to be upgraded, as they were flat as pancakes. Water pressure in the shower was weak, a very big step up into the tub and we sure don’t miss the shower curtain sticking to us while showering! When we stepped out to the balcony we discovered we had the most amazing beach view – we loved sitting out there in the evenings, listening to the waves crashing upon the shore, listening to the symphony of tree frogs and crickets. It was heaven. That’s what we miss the most. The rooms were always clean, sometimes we got hand towels and a bath mat but we always had lots of towels. The floor is very slippery in the bathroom so watch out. There’s no window or exhaust fan in the bathrooms so they’re always steamed up. We never had an issue with hot water.

We were home. We all said that being in Negril and at this resort was the most comfortable feeling we’ve ever had on any of our vacations.

FOOD:
We dined most of the time at the buffet where there was always ample food and different dishes to experience. Breakfast was our favorite with all the different smoothies, which we all loved; there was always lots of bacon, sausage, and different egg dishes, pancakes, french toast and lots of other things. Our favorite server by far was Nadine, a beautiful lady who often sang while she worked, always had a smile on her face and was genuinely interested in the people she interacted with - we now have another friend to visit in Negril! The chocolate fondue at dinnertime was amazing as well as the chocolate chip cookies, they were to die for. They always had ice cream and usually had four different flavors. We only saw cones once though. We loved the little warm, cream filled donuts they had some nights for dessert. We also enjoyed the server named “Trouble”; he gave our daughter a hard time every encounter!

Dinner at the buffet was excellent; there were always lots to choose from with different themes every night. In our 16 nights there we didn’t get to experience “Chef’s Choice Seafood Night” which we were told to watch out for which was a disappointment. When asked, one lady at the buffet very rudely told us it was his choice and that was the end of the conversation.

A self serve cappuccino machine and self serve soft drinks would be nice – for those of us who don’t mind getting up to get our own.

Lunch was either a trip to the Jerk Shack (watch out for the hot jerk sauce!) or to the outdoor buffet, again, always lots to choose from. The food at Jerk Shack was excellent, the chicken was done to perfection and if you don’t like really hot jerk sauce, take the sauce from the first bowl or your mouth will be on fire for hours!

For those of you who need a snack after dinner there’s a “food closet” next to the Cubano Cigar Bar where you can help yourself to make nachos, there’s pizza, fixings for hamburgers and sometimes hot dogs.

Making reservations for the a la cartes is very old fashioned where you have to line up to get your hand written reservation notice. Often the restaurants are booked by 9:30 am, which is not exactly true – our two visits to the restaurants had many empty tables. Why the RIU hasn’t implemented computerized reservations is beyond me. In all our travels the RIU (which we recognize is a huge hotel chain) is the only one with this archaic system. Anyway, we tried the Japanese and quite frankly it was terrible. We’re not huge sushi fans to begin with but the main dishes were terribly unappetizing. The servers in the Japanese restaurant were like zombies, totally unconversational, they served the food and that was it. The Italian restaurant food was much better; we cancelled our reservations at Krystal after seeing what they were serving – almost like the Japanese. Our favorite by far was the Steakhouse – and it was like pulling teeth to get a reservation in that restaurant, even though the hotel was only 60% occupied. The food at the Steakhouse was excellent, the service was amazing and our server O’Brien was the highlight of that experience. Note to the a la carte restaurants: if you removed the domes off the dinner plates before you served them, it would make it look a lot classier.
We did enjoy lunch at three restaurants downtown (during our shopping days), we enjoyed Sweet Spice, Colette’s and The Sweet Spot (see separate reviews for those)

THE BEACH:
WOW – by far this was the best beach we have ever been to. The water was amazingly clear, warm and calm. There were always lots loungers, lots of shade; the beach was clean and lovely to walk from one end to the other. Saw some starfish one day, saw one huge jellyfish one day but he didn’t seem to bother anyone, that’s the only time we ever saw one. Didn’t get stung this trip! There are tiny little fish and we did see some needle nose one day but other than that, no fish at all. And the sunsets? Another huge WOW. Some of the most amazing sunsets I’ve seen in my lifetime that’s for sure.

THE POOLS:
There are two small pools one with the pool bar and we only visited the pool once - we’re beach people to the core. The water was cool, clean and refreshing. Too bad it was spitting rain but it was so refreshing. We don’t understand why people travel thousands of miles to sit at the pool all day when there’s the most amazing beach right there.

ENTERTAINMENT:
What a disappointment. They should have called it amateur dancing night. That’s basically all that the shows were – amateur dancing and it went on and on and on…. The Steel Drums were quite good, even though they played a strange selection of music. Needless to say we didn’t stay for Showtime the second week we were there, a total repetition of the 1st week, including all the trivia questions and “name that tune”. If they brought in some decent Reggae bands it would improve things a bit, the one they had was terrible. As well the metal chairs with the pancake thin cushions were very uncomfortable.

BARS:
We had no issues with getting drinks anywhere at all. Great service, great Strawberry Daiquiris and Pina Coladas, except they pour very heavy so we had to tell them only a little rum. We tried all the specialty drinks on the menu and we really liked the Orange Caribbean, Margaritas and Mojitos. There was always great service around the entertainment area and the Cubano Bar. We always parked ourselves down by the Scuba Shack on the beach so we never saw a server there but that wasn’t a problem for us.

SCUBA CARIBE:
Located just outside the building we stayed in so it was very convenient. Hubby is the diver and coincidentally one of the dive instructors is the son of our very good friend from Negril, which was a plus. Hubby only went out once but enjoyed the dive even though there’s not much to see at the spots he was diving (compared to his dives in Cozumel, Cuba and Curacao). Watch out because the ladies badger you to book your water excursions and hardly take no for an answer. The worst was them telling hubby to upgrade his dive ticket for a price 3x what he would have paid for it at home.

EXCURSIONS:
We booked our private excursions with SNL Jamaican Tours but there are several excursion desks in the lobby where you can book your tours. We booked Mayfield Falls, Rocklands Bird Sanctuary and Nine Mile, which we thoroughly enjoyed (see separate reviews for those).

GIFT SHOP:
There are two great gift shops on site, the smaller one right on the beach and the main shop in the lobby. We liked poking around in the shops, they had plenty of really nice things to look at and buy! They had sundries like suntan lotion, snacks cigarettes, rum clothing and lots of souvenirs.

FRONT DESK STAFF:
The front desk staff were excellent, we received 3 calls in our room inquiring about our stay and if we had any issues which was a first for us. We did have trouble making local telephone calls but a quick call to the front desk had us connected right away.

Wi-Fi:
Free. Really. We’ve been to quite a few all-inclusive resorts in the Caribbean where you pay an arm and a leg for a terrible Wi-Fi connection. The Wi-Fi always worked, was always quick and never had an issue. With a teenager you’ve got to have Wi-Fi (according to her anyway!)

My daughter and I had a Spa Day, we both had manicures and she had a pedicure. The spa was very professionally run, the prices were decent and the service was excellent.

General Observations about the resort:
Mosquitos. Unfortunately we did have some rain during our visit and once the rain stops and the humidity hits 200% the little biters come out which is uncontrollable. Granted they did fog for them every night but they’re still out there. I learned not to stay on the beach at dusk and I didn’t get one sand flea bite (which is a record for me) but I did get a couple of scratchy bites. OFF and Deep Woods OFF didn’t help one bit but a product I bought from AVON seemed to deter them.

Garbage Cans: Some people are just pigs but there weren’t enough garbage cans around the property.

Washrooms: It’s true, the only washrooms available to the beach folks were located around the restaurants – they were always clean but not always in working order. For the women there were 8 toilets (if they were working). I guess it would be more of a problem during high season but an additional washroom or even 2 would be useful at each end of the beach.

Coffee: Don’t think you’ll get the world famous Jamaican Blue Mountain Coffee. It’s Nabob. Imagine – you’re in the land where they grow the world’s finest coffee and they serve Nabob. Shame on you! We were always served a pot a breakfast but hubby liked to have coffee with or after dinner. Sometimes he’d get one, sometimes not. But the key is “one”. He was never was asked if he’d like a second cup, they just came and took the cup away.

Fruit: We never once saw a slice of pineapple, or any passion fruit even though both fruits were in season at the time. The watermelon was terrible, no flavor, sliced as thin as paper. We did enjoy the sour sop, guava, cantaloupe, honeydew melon and star fruit.

Slippery tile walkways: Beware; the tile walkways are slippery when wet. And the ramp from the lobby down to the Spa is treacherous after a rain.

Taxis: You can get a taxi at the taxi desk in the lobby – make sure you negotiate the price before you get into the taxi. There’s a fellow named Sean who parks his taxi across the street from the hotel who was a scammer so beware.

Gardeners: Work so hard in the relentless heat cutting the grass, trimming the trees and bushes, We brought multi-tool knives for them which were appreciated and we also brought them pop from our mini fridge which was also appreciated.

High Season vs. Low Season: We all pay the same amount of money, but the low season guests don’t get as many of the perks that are offered during high season. What’s with that? We were also very disappointed that they decided to paint the rooms above us during our stay which resulted in the painters pushing the furniture around at 7:00 in the morning which was very annoying – “we’re getting ready for high season”, so make sure you wake up everyone up dragging furniture. The Ping-Pong table came out the day before we left; there was no Banana Boat as advertised.

The resort really should consider a free (or minimal charge) for their guests to go shopping downtown, Time Square or the Vendor’s Market. They should also consider free airport pick up and return. You pay big $$ to stay there and then you get ripped off over $100 (each way) from and back to the airport.

The vendors walking the beach were quite entertaining if not annoying. After a couple of days the Jet Ski guys were annoying. The Office of Nature lobster hawker also got annoying. We enjoyed the fellow who walked the beach from one end to the other – Cigars, Cigarettes, It’s gonna be hot, hot hot! Visits to the vendor shacks down by the Scuba shack were always entertaining, they always had a deal for everyone and “touching was free”. Remember to visit all the vendors if you’re going, if you don’t they are offended.

You may need to get your room cards reprogrammed, we had to on 2 occasions but it wasn’t a big deal.

Saw some great critters here as well which included dozens of bats flying around one of the trees by our room on two separate occasions, huge moths, lots of birds including a flock of parrots who squawked and flew from one tree to another. A huge land crab wandered around one night and lots of crabs on the beach (one visitor told us there were no crabs on the beach – while we avoided them on our night walks!)

We walked the beach almost every night, we always bring our small flashlights - but it was most annoying when security on each end of the beach shone their lights into our eyes during our walks. We totally understand they’re watching out for us but they sure didn’t watch out for the ganga sellers on the beach at night, they come up right behind you in the dark and scare the crap outa you!

We really felt sorry for the young men who pushed the water/soft drink/alcohol carts around to refill the mini fridges. Those carts weighed so much and pushing them around in that heat must have been so difficult. We told one young man if we won the lottery we’d buy him a golf cart with a trailer to help him out a bit!

We were stunned one day when one of the lifeguards was tasked with cleaning the bird poop off the loungers – um, there are birds, and you’ve got your chair parked under the trees that they live in – get over it. Some people live to complain.

What we missed was seeing local vendors at the resort – why not promote selling local and have them sell on site once a week – they’re got lots of space to provide tables for these folks.

Would we stay here again? Absolutely - but there are other all-inclusive resorts that we would try on future visits. Did we find anything to complain about? Not at all but I know there are others who did which is absolutely ridiculous. Did we like the food? Absolutely – we all gained weight on this vacation.

Gail, Alex and Kira - Calgary

Room Tip: We loved being in Building #1 - close to the beach but far enough away from the entertainment so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,554
    1,154
    394
    211
    124
See reviews for
673
1,392
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

It was just my teenage son and myself for a week exploring Negril. Perfect beach and swimming and walking, rentals of everything, Catamaran tour was great, Jerk Chicken on the beach, lots of alcohol in the rooms that my son was sneaking when I was in the shower, soccer on the beach, five good restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Had a very nice time here. Food was good,beach and sea very clean,water clear.Staff did everything to make you happy.Didn,t like my initial room, they changed me immediatly.Rooms are delux,great minibar. Steeldrum band for nights entertainment was excellent,great energy. would go back.

Room Tip: I prefered to be in the middle, close to pool and restaurant on the 1st floor (2nd floor to American...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Went on a two week holiday with my partner and have just returned from the Riu Palace. It is on the best part of bloody bay beach with hotels either side of it. The staff were tremendously hard trying to keep all guests pleased which is a bit of a thankless task.The room was a junior suite which was cleaned every day, with fresh towels and sweets put on our pillows every night, The first gripe is that the two pools are totally inadequate for the size of the hotel and that is why we spent our time at the beach. The pool bar does get a bit rowdy later on with fellow guests. The sunloungers on the beach are plentiful but whilst walking on the beach one day, another hotel had white rubber mats on theirs and could be used as a flotation aid in the sea. Great idea that I took up with the "director" of the hotel when I bumped into him one day. The hotel also needs a beach bar too. Even though staff came around now and again, it would be more beneficial. The beach sellers do become a pain with their wares, but a polite and firm no does the trick. Entertainment in the evening ranges from bingo at 6pm to various shows per night. I have seen better but also a lot worse. Take or leave it. The food is plentiful and varied with breakfast being the best by far. Four speciality restaurants, ranging from Italian, Japanese, Steakhouse and Continental fusion (Krystal), varied in quality from the food and service. Being in Jamaica, the service was laid back to say the least but friendly nevertheless.None of the restaurants had back ground music and you could hear the rattle of pots and pans in the kitchen and over hearing the conversations of fellow diners. I think the word I used to the Director was *soulless*.. Definitely be on the beach for the setting of the sun. Without cloud it was one of the best I had ever seen and have your camera ready. The spa was pricey on its treatments,so had a massage further up the beach for a fraction of the price. Gym facilities were great. Well used on an all- inclusive package. If you are going on excursions, have it in mind that you are on the west tip o Jamaica and the road infrastructure and driving is not great so you are out of the way but Negril is worth a view. Overall a good stay, in a good hotel, great location with the small things missing to make this a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Because we had had a very pleasant experience during two other visits, we booked the RIU Palace Tropical Bay Jamaica for a pre-winter get away. As some friends joined us on this trip on our recommendation, we were really pleased that they liked the resort as much as we did. .
The setting and views are drop dead gorgeous. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food is good. The beach is beautiful with silky white sand and dotted with trees for shade. The bay is great for swimming as it has a sandy bottom that is very gradual with very gentle waves. Unlike other resorts that you need to stay within, you can get a good walk on the beach from one end of the bay to the other.
The gardens and landscaping are kept very nicely. There's always a nice mix of families with children, young couples and older folks.
The buffet offers so many choices that you don't know what to try first. We found the buffet food to be very good. They mix it up with different themes and offerings every day. We ate in all of the restaurants except the Italian Restaurant and enjoyed them very much. Being able to eat in the restaurants lent a special touch. The staff in the buffet and the restaurants were very attentive and nice.
You can take the Margaritaville Bus or a taxi (we took Tony Taxi) to the 7 mile beach to walk up and down a bit and enjoy the hotels, restaurants and bars that spill out onto the beach. Across the street from about in the middle of the 7 mile beach is a shopping area called Times Square - we were dropped off there, did a little shopping, and then walked down the beach to Margaritaville. There are always lots of taxis waiting outside for the return to your hotel.
Watching the sunset at Rick's Cafe is a must for any visitor to Negril. Sit in the shallow pool, have a drink, and watch the divers and the sunset. Nothing better - except perhaps a walk right down the street to have a drink at Ivan's - a bar/restaurant perched on the side of a cliff with interesting and beautiful pathways and sitting areas leading down to the sea.
The RIU resort is an older property which was upgraded about 5 or so years ago. We find the rooms to be spacious, nicely appointed, and very clean. We feel that it is a very good value for the money. All of the common areas are very clean and well cared for.
The resort draws guests from all over the world. It is interesting to see so many different nationalities represented and languages being spoken. We found our fellow guests to be very polite and friendly.
Of special mention are the employees - from the maids to the management, we had a really good experience with every staff person that we came in contact with. The staff works very hard, are very friendly and nice, and are very concerned about your comfort and enjoyment. Of special mention is Neil, who is on the entertainment staff. He is funny and hard working and makes sure that everyone is having a good time.
Now for the negatives. Take some bug spray. Not everyone is bothered with bug bites on the beach, but I sure was and I saw a few other people with some bites. I couldn't even see the little tiny things that were biting - but every time I go there, I come back with some bites. This time I got smart and bought bug spray and that really cut down on the bites. I must note that I am particularly susceptible to bites - two other people in our party didn't experience any bites.
The only complaint that I have about any of the food is that the coffee could have been better and the fruit could have been better - some of it was kind of under ripe and not all that tasty. There was no pineapple which one would look forward to on a tropical island.
In closing, I would say that if you are used to staying at the Ritz and eating in Michelin Star restaurants, you had better keep looking. But, in my book, on a scale of 1 to 10, I would give this resort a 10 for value and service.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room in the 1000 building which was close to the beach and very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were greeted with a drink. Check in didn't take too long. Decor in rooms was just ok. Kind of dark. I stayed in the 7000 building which was farther from the beach. I stayed at the resort for a friend's wedding. Only staying three nights was not enough. Didn't get to try any of the restaurants. Typically buffets are just ok. I found this one to be excellent. Many, many choices and everything I ate was delicious, breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Room service choices were very little, but what they do have is quite tasty. And OH YES, the jerk chicken stand on the beach is a must! Yum! The evening entertainment was fun although I didn't watch much. Alcohol in the rooms was great. Bartenders were great. The beach is beautiful. Weather in November was amazing and hot. Upgrade to a seaview room if it's important to you. Didn't matter for me. Don't forget bug spray! Also the ride from the airport was a lot longer than I expected. We had prearranged shuttles and it took about two hours including stops to pick up or drop off others. The air con didn't work well in several friend's rooms. I'd stay here again but first I'd check reviews at other nearby resorts. It was great but not the best ever. The food and the beach were the highlights.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was afabulous family vacation. Hotel is beautiful but showing signs of wear. Riu constant had maintenance going on, but not so that it intruded on our vacay. Grounds keepers worked non stop. Shirley was our house keeper and she was fabulous. She gave us all hugs our last day. Andre was our breakfast server and after day one he knew what we liked. Location is more than amazing. My only complaint is there was a beach entertainment employee who tried to steal my diamond ring. At the end of activities everyone puts their hand in the circle. I felt my ring being tugged. I realized who it was and looked him in the eye and asked if he was trying to take my ring. He ignored me. I had had one drink and didnt want to accuse anyone of tryinf to steal so I put my other hand in and he tried to slip my sterling silver band off. Great hotel, just be aware of surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay

Address: Norman Manley Blvd | Bloody Bay Beach, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#13 Family Hotel in Negril
#13 Spa Hotel in Negril
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#21 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Renovated in summer 2008 * Located in Negril, on Jamaica's west coast * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 1-storey main building and 2-storey buildings * Victorian-style architecture * Surrounded by 47,000 m2 / 56,500 sq. yards of lush gardens * 7.5 km / 4.7 miles from Negril West End * 6 km / 3.8 miles from various shops * 80 km / 48 miles from Montego Bay airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tropical Bay Hotel Negril
Riu Tropical Bay Jamaica
Riu Palace Tropical Bay Negril
Riu Tropical Bay Negril Jamaica
Negril Riu Tropical Bay Hotel
Riu Jamaica
Riu Tropical Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.