We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic resort ~ Outstanding people!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Norman Manley Blvd | Bloody Bay Beach, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #30 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic resort ~ Outstanding people!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I travelled between Sept 20th and Sept 27th, 2013. The bus ride from the airport was fine and cold Red Stripes were waiting for us on the bus, which was very welcome. We stopped along the way for a bathroom / drink break - which was 15 minutes before our hotel arrival. Upon arrival, the front desk staff were fabulous. Our first room keys were given. Unfortunately, they placed us in a standard room which was unacceptable, given we booked Junior Suite. Michael at the front desk was so amazing. He quickly fixed that up for us and off we went.

Rooms: Very clean, 2 double beds pushed together, but extremely comfortable. Cleaning services were perfect and turn down service was a nice touch. Air conditioner worked ok. We were in room 5121, close to everything.

Food: Awesome buffet. Something for everyone. If you can't find something suitable, then you have issues. Lunch buffet was the best. I keep telling all my friends that you can definitely gain weight, the food was so good. Dinners at Steak, Krysal and Japanese were wonderful. My favorite by far was the steak dinner and Japanese. Simply amazing. Krystal unfortunately did not have their a/c on, which perhaps contributed to it not being my favorite.

Beach: Best beach we've ever been at, and we are seasoned travellers. Clear water, no waves, hot hot hot. There were friendly sting rays as well who visited, so make sure to take your camera along.

Pool: We went to the pool area only once (because the beach was just too lovely). It was nice. They are a bit small so don't expect anything grandiose. The water was also too hot for my liking, but clean and enjoyable none-the less.

People: Just wonderful. Polite and always helpful. Again a huge shout out to Michael at the front desk. Always helpful (even with connecting our Wi-Fi). Loved all the people from cleaning services, waiters / waitresses etc. Always made you feel comfortable and took every opportunity to ensure you were having a fabulous holiday.

Excursions: We booked deep sea fishing through Stanley's. Very nice individuals and a great morning all around. Ricks Café / Shopping at Time Square & local markets - That was an ok adventure. The shopping was not the greatest, but it was nice to see locals and get to know them better.

Resort overall: It was overall an excellent first trip to Jamaica and I loved everything about this place. Yes, it could use some minor enhancements, such as more lush gardens/flowers around the resort and perhaps some new paint on the outside buildings. But these are definitely not things that would stop me from recommending this resort to any of my family / friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,693
    1,262
    429
    219
    131
See reviews for
758
1,516
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (810)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wilmington ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful time. Staff went out of there way to take care of us. Food was super . Entertainment was great always busy . Beach is the best. So clean every where. Not so big that you can't find things or have to walk a mile. Our kind of vacation. We will go back!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I am writing this review a bit late, me and my boyfriend stayed here in May 2011! (I have only just joined).

We had planned to stay at the Riu down the road but decided to stay here instead and we were not disappointed! We had a room overlooking the pool area, which is what my boyfriend had requested as he likes to see what's going on (I would have preferred a sea view but oh well).The room was big and spacious, the bathroom was the right size and clean, although I didn't much like the bathroom/slash shower as I thought it was a bit outdated.

The staff were friendly...especially Marlene and Perry.

The beach is not the greatest, with ants, cigarette butts etc but then I know Jamaica is not renowned for the best beaches in the world! It's nice to have some of the locals come up and sing for you when you're lounging on the beach, but not so nice when they want money for it!

The evening entertainment was fantastic, something different on every night. Especially enjoyed the steel band night. The piano guy in the lobby was AMAZING! Played for hours and it was so nice just to sit there and have a drink at the beginning of your evening and listen to him.

The pool was lovely and not too busy. Had no troubles finding a sunlounger!

The activities during the day were also fantastic and they gave away upgrades etc which was fantastic!

The restaurants were lovely and we ate in all of them except the Japanese one. Didn't like having to queue up to make a reservation though as I am just a bit fussy like that! The best part of the day was waiting for the Beach Hut to open where they served jerk chicken and rice. That was delicious!

It was a lovey holiday, one I shall never forget (hence me writing this two years later) and my boyfriend and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Riu Palace Tropical Bay made my first trip to Jamaica one of my BEST vacations ever! The staff was amazing and very catering. The food was a nice blend of 'authentic' Jamaican cuisine, mixed with European accents... the jerk chicken hut was especially outstanding. And although the room was typical, 4 star, Caribbean decor, it was clean, comfortable and with all the amenities. If I had any complaints it would be that the buildings could use some outside renovations (Ohh.. and the bugs. Yikes! ) But it's to be expected at a beach front property in the tropics. The grounds, beach and view more than make up for it. Have a rum punch for me, they're excellent. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

let me first start out by saying if you "need" to be pampered, and are never satisfied with anything, book somewhere else.. if you want a clean, decent resort, to chill and have a good time- read on... we have used all inclusives for the last 7 years and this is a very good resort. its along ride from sangster, so make sure you get some red stripes, or ask your driver to pit stop along the way. we arrived, and were immediately greeted with drinks with appleton rum. our room was ready, and we chucked our luggage, and hit the beach. room is a solid 9- yes king bed is 2 doubles put together- firm, but not bad. liquor, beer, soda, water is always in fridge in room. towels were replaced, and extra . we had turn down service every night. ac works fine, if you shut doors and have power switch on. rooms are NOT musty- just have to understand you are in a tropical area, not home. food is a solid 8- plenty to chose from. if you can't find something- you're too picky. they have several theme restaurants- you must book the day of... as it was off season- plenty of chairs- no chair games going on. pool needs a touch up- but was clean and warm. the beach is a 9- water is calm and warm. played with a sting ray by the "office of nature" which is a bar about 5 minutes to the right of the resort. lobsters and red stripe.grilled on the beach. there are vendors- and yes there is ganja- but it IS negril. just say no thak you politely. we had a blast every day at the pool bar and on the beach. we did 2 sidetrips- one to ricks to catch a sunset, and to jump off the cliff, and the other which is a MUST DO- the one love pub crawl .google it... all in all a great time at the riu.... do not read the bad reviews. these folks have no idea how to travel....

Room Tip: no elevators. ask for a ground floor if you have trouble with stairs...all rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairborn, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I just came home from Negril on the 23rd of September. We stayed at the RIU Tropical Bay. We stayed at Sandel's Montego Bay last year and didn't think it could be beat. We where on a budget and paid much less for the RIU. So we expected a step down in service and facilities. From the minute we walked in we could tell the difference. The staff was wonderful and Maria at the front counter was bending over backwards for us trying to find our missing luggage. The rooms were very spacious and very clean. The pool area's are large with lounger's a bar and tables with seats. "awsome" The best part was the beach. The most beautiful beach I have ever seen. You could walk a mile either way down the beach. The thing I disliked about Sandals was the limited space on the beach. At the RIU that definetly was not a problem. The food was very good and the buffet was endless. The only draw back was not getting to eat at the Steak House whitch was booked. So book as soon as you get there. People do approach you on the beach to sell you stuff but all you have to do is say "no thanks" and they walk away. It didn't bother me I know they are just tryn to eat too. There was also so much to do in Negril. Everything was a hop skip and a jump away. Seven mile beach was a unique experience and Rick's Cafe was a must see. We are working on booking our next trip to the RIU now. We enjoyed it so much we are going to take our family. Thank you RIU Tropical Bay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I arrived on September 7th to be beautiful warm smile of Marissa on reception,from the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome.We were checked in without any problems.We decided to upgrade to a suite and we were told that we would have to come back the following morning and would need to spend one night in our original room.The following morning we went back to reception and we were give suite 4206 which had a sea and pool view and was stunning in everyway.

On our first morning we met Leon the pool manager who helped with the sun parasole and made sure we had everything we needed.The hotel was only 50% full so finding your perfect spot by the pool or on the beach was not a problem.

Restaurants- We only ate in 3 of the a la carte restaurants,Krystal which is a fusion restaurant and is a place of calm.The food is wonderful and the staff very attentive,you wine glass is never empty and you fell at ease eating there.

The Steakhouse- this was our favorite all of the food is wonderful and we ate here twice during our stay and we both tried different things from the menu and love all of it.

Rimini Italian restaurant - This was the one we enjoyed the least.The staff did not seem to smile that much and the service was very slow,when some tables were finishing the desserts other tables were just getting their main course.There maybe some resason behind this but if anything is a problem it is this restaurant.Maybe they were all just having an off night.

We did not try the "Hakuchi" Japanese restaurant so cannot comment on that.

Bloody Bay" poolside restaurant/grill - Open at midday for lunch and has a wonderful selection of every food you could require at lunchtime.Make sure you also visit Jolly at the jerk chicken shack the chicken is to die for and will stay open until all the chicken is gone!!

The main restaurant caters for all taste and we never found at anytime that we got bored with any of the food and not an upset tummy in sight.Well done to all the waiters,chefs,wine waiters,and all the back kitchen staff that kept us full and happy during our break.You are all doing a wonderful job!

Bars-it really depends on what you are looking for with the bars.If you want an eveing of peace and quite then sit upstairs at the piano bar where up until 8.00pm most evenings a gentleman would play lovely slow tunes while you sit back and sip your cocktails.If you want a little more noise then sit down near the stage with nightly shows and join in with some of the fun.During the day there is the pool bar where the staff will keep you going with everything from Coffee to Cava,the choice is yours.You do get the odd preson glued to there seat and alot of folks seem to bring a big flask though I am not sure why when tere is watier service around the pool and you can get of you longer and go and get a drink anytime you want.Well done to the bar manager she was always around and her staff were alway happy and smiling.

Entertainment- where do I start with these guys,they are at work from 8.00am until around midnight and then back again the following morning to drag your lazy bottoms into the sea for water arobics.Well done to Hotdog,Turtle,Chicken and all the rest of the gang,you make everyone feel welcome and do a wonderful job!!

Beach-the beach infront of the hotel is raked every morning and is always clean,if you walk up the beach towards the other Riu it does get dirty and you will get bothered by beach sellers,but having said that it is still worth a stroll to have a look what is around you.The beach between the hotels is safe to walk durning daylight but if you plan to go up the in the evenings it is safer to get a cab from the desk in reception and it will only cost you a couple of dollers.You will get bothered by guys walking along the beach trying to sell you everything from fake bags to weed.Just tell them no and they will leave you alone.

The sea is warm but please don't expect it to look like a tropical fish tank because you will be disppointed,you will see some fish and a ray or two,the best time to see things is early in the morning.Please remember if you are taking photos of the starfish please do not take them out of the water as this will kill them.

The Management-The managers were always on hand if you wanted to chat we spoke a couple of times to all of them to tell them what a wonderful hotel they have.Well done Miriam,Martin,Juan and one other manager that we did not catch her name.You run a wonderful hotel and all of your staff are a credit to you.

And last but not least we would like to thank our Thomsom rep Christine,she is wonderful and there is nothing that is to much trouble.

If we can help anyone with any questions please feel fee to ask if not go here and have a wonderful time.....WE DID!!!

Lynne and Mick

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay

Address: Norman Manley Blvd | Bloody Bay Beach, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#16 Family Hotel in Negril
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#22 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Renovated in summer 2008 * Located in Negril, on Jamaica's west coast * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 1-storey main building and 2-storey buildings * Victorian-style architecture * Surrounded by 47,000 m2 / 56,500 sq. yards of lush gardens * 7.5 km / 4.7 miles from Negril West End * 6 km / 3.8 miles from various shops * 80 km / 48 miles from Montego Bay airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tropical Bay Hotel Negril
Riu Tropical Bay Jamaica
Riu Palace Tropical Bay Negril
Riu Tropical Bay Negril Jamaica
Negril Riu Tropical Bay Hotel
Riu Jamaica
Riu Tropical Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.