We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriage and Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Norman Manley Blvd, | Bloody Bay Beach, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #30 of 91 hotels in Negril
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Marriage and Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We got married here in the fall of 2012 and I have to say that everything went even beyond our expectations. First off the price was awesome and the all-inclusive was a big bonus! The wedding coordinator Anne Marie and her staff did an excellent job of accommodating to our requests and whatever else that we needed. I am usually a little suspicious about buffet type meals but the buffet was some of the best food we had the entire trip and it was available almost whenever you wanted it. The selection was great for whatever type of diet you have and it was always fresh. Getting an outstanding rum drink or beer was never more than a step away it seemed. The recreational activities staff was outstanding and our whole wedding party had a really good time on all of our scheduled activities. There was always something fun to do whether it be just having a good time at the pool area or something off site in the ocean. Defiantly check out the boat cruises! There is nightly entertainment such as concerts that feature remarkably talented artists and easy bar access. The beach was very nice and the bay was beautiful. The only negatives were the "entrepreneurs" who would walk down the beach trying to sale you crafts or weed as they would get obnoxious sometimes but you could ignore them without much difficulty. You also have to remember they are on a more relaxed schedule down in Jamaica so they can be a little late doing things sometimes but it never caused too much of a problem as they would ensure you were comfortable in the meantime. Overall an outstanding trip and I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Beach front is defiantly worth the price!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,438
    1,084
    372
    205
    118
See reviews for
617
1284
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Went to Tropical Palace with friends for 4 days for relaxing long weekend. Watched the Super Bowl on the beach! Great service.Stayed in building 5..(funky room odor from outside source..asked to be moved-you'll be happy) . Food in buffet was very good and did vary. Elegant deserts and apps. Bars always easy to get drinks. Beach was clean and offered sun or shade areas. Vendors strolling the beach added some entertainment. Activities are available if you want them. Nightlife consists of a show and audience participation games which were funny. Stayed at other Riu Negril property several years ago and,I must say,Tropical Palace is a much nicer alternative.( better food ,service and alcohol). Great value and would stay again.

Room Tip: Stay away from building 5 and 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We just returned last night from a 7 night vacation to the Riu Palace Tropical Bay and had a wonderful time. We were traveling with 6 other couples and we found the rooms really nice and the grounds were nice too. We ate at the 4 specialty restaurants and we had delicious meals at all of them. The buffet was always good too and we had lobster dishes on 3 different nights which I thought was wonderful and it isn't something that you get at most all-inclusives. 4 of the couples were in building 2, 2 couples in building 3 and 1 couple in building 4. I think everyone had a wonderful view. We did walk to the Riu Negril on several occasions and got in the pool for the swimup bar. We loved having the top shelf liquor at the Palace which the other Riu didn't have. The men in our group really liked that!! We did do the excursion by boat to Rick's Cafe and a short snorkeling stop along the way too. Also had a driver take us to a couple little malls to shop. Walked the 7 mile beach one day and there were a few resorts that looked nice but we all agreed that the Riu Palace was one of the nicer ones we saw. Thought it was an excellent value. The waiters in the restaurants were always very friendly and so were the maids for the rooms. We had stayed at this resort before but the other 6 couples hadn't and they all loved it. I think it is a resort we would return to again!

Room Tip: We had no problem with our location but I think the buildings from 4 on were probably a little quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharbot Lake, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Palace Tropical Bay Nov 25 to Dec 2. The entire trip was excellent. Bus ride a bit scary..and driving on *wrong* side of the road felt odd. We had a beer pit stop which was fine. We were greeted with a nice glasss of champagne. Enjoyed being able to use both Rius on Bloody Bay..The sunsets were beyond spectacular, the beach was problably the best we will ever visit. Loved the restaurants, a la cartes and buffets...lots of veggies and cheeses which are my favourite. The liquor dispenser in the room had odd American whiskey crap in it..but when we asked they were more than willing to change it out for a nice Canadian rye. Very friendly, engaging, staff who easily talked you into joining in the games...The water aerobics were the highlight of my day. Jerk chicken on the beach was incredible. We did a relatively cheap, catamaran, snorkeling, visit to Rick's Cafe tour which was great as it started at 3pm so you didn't waste the day in the sun. I loved that the rooms are right on the beach...no using a beach bathroom..yuck..you just went steps to your room..If I had one bad thing to say..and it really isnt..it would be the begging for you to buy things or to pay to hear the locals sing to you...after a while it got a little old...sometimes you just want to tan :) Also...having to reserve for the a la cartes every day...instead of the beginning of the trip was a tad irritating but if got there at 8am you had little wait and no problem reserving a space.Yes! We definitely would return and probably will!

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get an oceanfront room...could be noisy if not there as the highway runs close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Loved my stay at the Riu Palace. The hotel was very nice, top shelf liquor and good food. It was a little quiet at night but you can go next door to the Riu Negril if you want to go to the club. I liked that you get free wifi anywhere on the resort. I would definitely go back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I love Jamaica. Staying at the Riu Palace in Negril, is a very relaxing vacation. There are numerous excurtions to be taken if this is what you like, but if you don't, all you have to do is stay by the pool, or sit on the beach , and watch the world go by. The food is out of this world, and lots to choose from. The service is top notch. Everyone is ready to help in any way they can. I only have one suggestion to the resort. They need to have some variety in their evening shows. We didn't stay for the whole show on any evening, and we were there for 2 weeks. All in all, it was a very nice trip, and I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Let your travel agent know if you have any physical difficulties. There is alot of walking to get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Because it gets dark in Jamaica just after 6 p.m., there is no way of prolonging the day by sitting on the beach, therefore one tends to go to the room early, and eat early, and as the entertainment does not start until 9.30 p.m., all there is, is to prop up one of the various bars night after night, which does get a bit tedious. Weather was not too good either, in fact it rained most afternoons, so had to retire to the balcony even earlier!
ROOMS - large, long, but rather dark in decor, a bit influenced by Moroccan decor. No mirror in the sitting area, means having to hog the bathroom longer than I would have liked. Best take a hand mirror girls, so the chaps can shower in peace. You need a three pin USA type adaptor when travelling from UK, something which converts from our 240 voltage to 110 voltage, if you want your early morning cuppa on the balcony. Coffee making equipment, but not tea making. Superb feature is the mini bar, replenished daily, over which are four optics containing full bottles of rum, whisky, vodka and brandy. Super. Shampoo does not appear to be supplied, but conditioner is.
Block 6 is at the quietest and to my mind best bit of the beach. Yes, it is farther to walk from the bars and restaurants, but on the other hand you are not bothered by very loud music and crowded bit of beach, which are in front of other blocks. Plenty of shade under the trees in front of block 6 and bedchairs.
POOLS - I cannot call them swimming pools, because they are not. Forget sitting and reading in peace and quiet around the two small pools. Very noisy, very small, not enough room to swim - one has a permanent volley ball net over it for the various activities during the day, the other one has the swim up bar and all around the edge are tiled 'seats' and 'beds', no swimming room at all. Yes, I know there is the beach, but sometimes you just want a change of scenery for a while.
FOOD AND DRINK - plentiful supply of both, white wine not too good though, more towards the Chardonnay taste than Sauvignon, but the sparkling white is drinkable.
TRIPS OUT - very expensive, average cost is 90 US dollars per person, and all involve sitting in a coach for hours on end. Nowhere much to go in or around Negril, as this place is absolutely miles from anywhere of interest. No shops to talk of in Negril - Times Square consists of 18 shops, all mostly selling the same tourist tat, and cost 20 dollars for a round trip. If you want good vodka or rum, best buy is at departure lounge in Jamaica on way home. Much cheaper than the 'local' shops, and also much cheaper than our supermarket in U.K.
STAFF - all very cheerful and helpful, however, I think they have been well and truly trained in the American way of service (have a nice day, how are you doing, how was your meal/next course/drink/, are you having a good time, fill in two customer satisfaction forms, etc etc). Good to start with, but after being asked these things over and over, at least 15 times a day, by day 10 I felt like shouting 'everything is horrid' (it wasn't of course) but just out of devilment to see what they would do!!!!
Take plenty of reading matter, gives you something to do! Very lovely hotel though, glad I went, but wouldn't go again. Next door hotel (Couples Negril) not nice at all, so Tropical Palace seems the best by far.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, | Bloody Bay Beach, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#12 Spa Hotel in Negril
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#18 Family Hotel in Negril
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#21 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Renovated in summer 2008 * Located in Negril, on Jamaica's west coast * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 1-storey main building and 2-storey buildings * Victorian-style architecture * Surrounded by 47,000 m2 / 56,500 sq. yards of lush gardens * 7.5 km / 4.7 miles from Negril West End * 6 km / 3.8 miles from various shops * 80 km / 48 miles from Montego Bay airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tropical Bay Hotel Negril
Riu Tropical Bay Jamaica
Riu Palace Tropical Bay Negril
Riu Tropical Bay Negril Jamaica
Negril Riu Tropical Bay Hotel
Riu Jamaica
Riu Tropical Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.