We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete relaxation, amazing boutique resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Caves

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Caves to your Saves list
The Caves
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Light House Road | P.O. Box 3113, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Offer
Ranked #2 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Complete relaxation, amazing boutique resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Caves was so wonderful that the pictures do not do it justice! I was blown away by the views, the water and the staff! Leon and the crew were amazing. I honestly felt relaxed from the second I pulled in until I left. The dinner in the cave was AMAZING, speechless settings (if you were to propose THIS is where you would do it!). The food was great, drinks were great and my massage with Elizabeth was FABULOUS! The Villa was so private and every thing about this place is truly special. If you want a private getaway and exceptional service this is where you go! A HUGE thank you to Carey Driscoll with Beach Bum Vacation www.BeachBumVacation.com! Carey took care of everything and made this a stress free trip! Loved it and would go back! This is a place we could go to yearly, you feel like family and I can see why people make this a go to in Negril. I love boutique hotels and this takes the cake! Ya mon! Respect!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    43
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
17
388
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I searched for a couple months, trying to find the perfect honeymoon spot! We knew we wanted an all-inclusive Caribbean location, but there were so many to choose from!! I stumbled upon The Caves and noticed that it made all of the top lists of places in Jamaica, Caribbean, etc to stay. The reviews were all so amazing too! My husband and I do not like huge crowds of people and were not overly interested in unlimited excursions - so after much deliberation we selected The Caves, and could not have been happier!!!

We had a honeymoon package that included VIP fast tracking through the airport/customs when we arrived and left the airport. That was amazing! Really helped having someone guiding us where to go and what to do. The ride to the resort was an experience, but when we arrived at The Caves we were in awe! We received a tour when we arrived and were shown to our room - the Macka Tree. It was such a lovely room! Nothing overly fancy, just quaint, rustic charm :) The view from our was outstanding! On more quiet nights you could hear the waves crashing inside the Blue Hole cave right outside!

The service here is absolutely outstanding!! The employees really get to know you by name and you get to know them. They do everything they can to make your stay memorable!

The food was top notch! Just the right serving sizes :) You're left feeling good and full, not stuffed! We suggest the vegetable soup at lunch - it is to die for! We also enjoyed the mangoes and bananas as the breakfast appetizer (they taste so much better in Jamaica!) The drinks were all very good, and we enjoyed being able to go behind the bar and make yourself a drink if no one was working! Be sure to have many Dirty Bananas and Mr. Smooths.

Our honeymoon package included a couples massage (which was AMAZING), and a private cave dinner. The cave dinner was the most romantic experience :) the lengths the employees went to to decorate the cave with dozens of candles and flowers was above and beyond! We felt like we stepped into an episode of the Bachelor! We highly recommend a private cave dinner!

We also had a private dinner at what they call the "stone table". Again, dozens of candles and flowers were setup! Truly wonderful!

Aside from sitting and soaking up the sun, we enjoyed snorkeling and kayaking. You MUST go snorkeling with the lifeguard, Paul. He really knows what to look forward and shows you some amazing things (even if you can't see what he is trying to show you ;) )We saw puffer fish, sting rays, lobsters, and held sea urchins and starfish. It did rain for 2 full days during our trip, but we still sat outside under the umbrella and enjoyed the gloomy view (it was still paradise in the rain, or "liquid sunshine" as they call it!)

The one thing you HAVE to do is the cliff jumps! They are scary, but exhilarating!! After the first couple times (and definitely after you do the 30ft jump) it gets easier and much less nerve racking! We enjoyed all of the jumps especially the 20 ft and 30 ft :) Make sure Paul does his famous suicide dive for you before you leave!

We met some lovely couples and liked seeing the same faces every day as opposed to total strangers everywhere you turned. At times we felt like we had the place to ourselves! You would only see a handful of people throughout the day (most of which were at meal times)

All in all, The Caves was more than we could ever have imagined. If you are looking for a quiet, secluded resort without all the crowds and noise this place is for you!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Macka Tree. Very nice second floor room. The AC was included and a definite must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I very much enjoyed our stay at The Caves. I've been to Jamaica a number of times but this was the first time I'd stayed at The Caves, and If and when I visit Jamaica again (I certainly hope to!), this will be where I stay. Really an amazingly beautiful hotel with nice, comfortable rooms, really a terrific and friendly staff, and great food and drinks. The views, the snorkeling and the cliff jumping were all amazing and all right at our doorstep. The setup with the many "cabins" as you might call them makes The Caves such a fun spot to relax, enjoy drinks and food - it even rained a few times and it didn't matter!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have done AI resorts for the last 10 years all over Mexico and the Caribbean. The Caves is like no other place we have ever been.
Personal service is what you get here. No long lines, buffets or watered down liquor. Small, intimate, and easy going is what you will find.
When we arrived we were given a tour of the property. The staff pointed out some of the cliff jump spots, restaurants, bars, caves and spa. We were shown to our cottage the stardust and knew we made the right choice. The stardust is at the end of the property separated by the sands and is quiet and secluded. If you need dead bolts on the doors and windows that lock this might not be the place for you. The whole cottage was very open air. I was a little nervous the first night, but nothing beats sleeping with the sound and view of the ocean.
The food was great!! By far the best we have had at an AI resort. At each meal the waiter would let you know what was being served and you could have as little or as much as you wanted. We had contacted the resort before our arrival because we don't eat seafood. They responded with asking us our protein preferences and making sure we had choices at each meal.
The bar choices are top shelf here. At check in the staff made sure we had our preferences. I love ginger beer and we had plenty in our cottage along with red stripe. Thanks to the bar staff for introducing me to the dark and stormy with Blackwell rum! The bar closest to our room wasn't staffed during the day but it wasn't a problem. We could go in a make what we wanted anytime.
I have not had great experiences snorkeling at other resorts. Most places bring you out in the ocean, drop you off, and you hope for the best. Not at the Caves. Paul is AMAZING!! He leads small guided tours thru the caves and literally took me by the hand. He pointed out all kinds of sea creatures and "saved" us from a jelly fish by gently returning it the ocean floor. He is also a great coach if you decide to jump off the cliff's, and you should! The experiences we had with Paul are why we will return!!
We will see you all for our 20th Anniversary!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolling stone!
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Six months pregnant and we wanted one last get away as a child-less couple ... The caves was our answer. We spent five days on this a gorgeous property which inspired true relaxation and romance. The staff is really nice, the food is great, and the views are spectacular. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The butterfly room is where it's at! You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week at The Caves for our honeymoon, and neither of us think we could have picked a better place! The Caves was the most tranquil, relaxing, romantic, and chill place we could have asked for. All of the great attributes-the service, the location, the activities, etc, are made possible because it is a smaller resort, so it creates a real sense of intimacy. The staff gets to know you by name and figures out what drinks, food, and services you like, and are very attentive to your needs. We were there in the offseason so there were no more than 15 people staying there, which was just fine by us! There are plenty of activities to do in the area if you choose, and the resort was great about setting those up, but we usually found ourselves most content laying out in one of the nooks on the cliffs, sipping Dirty Bananas and jumping in the crystal clear water. A couple of highlights:

-The food was amazing and the selections catered to all tastes. We especially liked the breakfasts and the vegetable soup at lunch. The romantic locations for dinner were also amazing, especially the Cave Dinner, but we also liked eating on the restaurant deck and hanging out with other couples at dinner. We also went deep sea fishing with Stanley one morning (highly recommend) and the Caves cooked the tuna that we caught for dinner. It was one of the best meals I have ever had.

-The rooms are all luxurious and have incredible views, but are very unique and unlike the cookie-cutter luxury you will find at the megaresorts. We got to stay in two different rooms during our stay-Star Dust and Butterfly-and were extremely happy with both. They really have done a great job of capturing the character of Jamaica and the Caribbean, while maintaining a high level of luxury. We were very impressed and happy with all the facilities.

-The staff is very friendly and helpful, and as I said earlier it is great having them get to know you personally. At the same time, they are good about giving you your space and not being overbearing with service, which is great. Their relaxed attitude and friendliness really helped us to unwind and relax.

We really could not say enough about how great our trip was- The Caves is the perfect place to relax and take a break after a wedding or any other big event. The slightly higher cost when compared to bigger resorts in the area was certainly worth it, and I say that as a fairly thrifty person. We really hope to come here again!

Room Tip: If you have a choice, opt for one of the second story rooms or Star Dust. But you really cant go wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Again, belated review (sorry Caves!)
We stayed at The Caves earlier this year after a week at another Island Outpost property - GoldenEye. Our Agent warned us that they were very different. She was right. Where Goldeneye is slick, smooth and luxurious, The Caves are quirky, slightly rough round the edges and laid-back to the point of horizontal.
Whilst we liked Golden Eye, we LOVED The Caves! If you want a laid-back, whatever you want, help yourself, get on with it and have a great time break then this is the place for you. It is small so you get to know your fellow guests - and what a great, diverse, bunch of people we met while we were there!
The staff cannot do enough for you. They are everywhere and yet unnoticeable at the same time. Food (particularly the breakfasts) fabulous. Cocktails a tasting experience like no other we have ever had!
We were in Two Birds Cottage and we absolutely loved it. Opening the shutters in the morning to all that wonderful greenery and hearing the birds was wonderful. The outdoor shower was great fun and there was a great selection of music to play in the room (some of which we had to bring back as a souvenir to remind us of our wonderful holiday)
Try the private hot tub which is a hard to describe experience! Jump from the cliffs (under close supervision of Paul the very professional Lifeguard) and then just as you think you are getting really good at that.... Watch him do his suicide dive before retreating to the pool with a cold beer and realising that actually you are not as brave as all that! Even if you are an experienced snorkeler, go out with Paul who will give you the confidence to go through tunnels into hidden caves (or will tow you safely through if you tell him you are feeling nervous!)
This review is a little sketchy as it is some time since we were there but this is one of the only places we have visited in the Caribbean that we have promised to return to. It really is something special.

Room Tip: Two Birds is great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caves

Address: Light House Road | P.O. Box 3113, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#2 Spa Hotel in Negril
#2 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#2 Luxury Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Caves 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caves sits along the limestone cliffs of the West End of Negril, right next to the famous Negril Lighthouse in Jamaica. Although situated only a few miles away from the bustling town center, this private enclave is a world apart. Eleven handcrafted wood and stone thatched-roof cottages, plus a 4-bedroom fully self-contained luxury villa, are interwoven between ten acres of lush vegetation and naturally formed volcanic caves. Quaint stone pathways wind through the limestone cliffs dotted with palm, sea grape and dogwood trees overlooking the Caribbean Sea. An arrangement of coral stairs and walkways lead to sundecks with uninterrupted views of the sea and sky, and grottos with turquoise water pools and fossilized marine life. A tropical reef system comes right up to the edge of the cliff, perfect for snorkeling. Guests can climb down ladders into the sea or take a leap from several “jump points,” the highest of which is 30 feet! An intimate, private and unique resort, The Caves is perfect for romance and relaxation.The Caves generally does not accept children under 16 years old. Exceptions must be cleared with the hotel management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caves Hotel Negril
Caves Hotel Negril
The Caves Resort Negril
Caves Jamaica
Caves Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.