We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyting was everyting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Caves

Save Saved
You added The Caves to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Caves
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Light House Road | P.O. Box 3113, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sublime Summer
Ranked #2 of 91 hotels in Negril
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Everyting was everyting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Although the nearest beach is a 12-minute ride away, Caves is most atmospheric and elegant small inn on the island! Food was outstanding! The private dinner in the cave was out of this world. Make sure you jump off all of the cliffs.If you want to experience pure bliss book The Caves right now!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    406
    37
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
331
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I just returned from 7 days at The Caves in Negril. We had never stayed at an all-inclusive and never had visited Jamaica. The Caves is truly amazing! With only a small number of guests and the fabulous staff, the resort feels like a home away from home without any stress. We would not think of going to any other all-inclusive at any other location. The Caves was perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed in Two Birds which did not have an ocean view, but was very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Lucky us, this was at least our 8th trip to Negril and our third stay at The Caves. This time it was a family experience, our 80 yr. old mother wanted to take her five adult children and their partners on vacation, so our group had six of the one-bedroom accommodations on the property. My husband and I stayed in Butterfly (probably my favorite room thus far!) and had a fantastic experience, as we had come to expect. The staff are totally dedicated to taking phenomenal care of their guests. Fiona and Brian will be taking care of your breakfasts and lunches (don't miss breakfast, it is the best at the Caves). Zoom will make sure you are not thirsty and Paul will take you on kayak or snorkel adventures if you are unfamiliar with the local waters. Don't miss an opportunity to see Paul cliff jump or suicide dive! If you love the idea of a small, exclusive property and being pampered, this is it!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Caves at the end of May for our 15th wedding anniversary. What can I say that hasn't already been said?! It was relaxing, intimate and romantic. The staff did an excellent job at making you feel right at home. Paul's snorkeling expeditions were amazing (bring an underwater video camera with you! You will see eels, stingrays, puffer fish, lion fish...) Randall and Brian were very attentive and always seemed geniunely happy to see us. My husband and I loved all of the niches built in to the side of the cliffs where couples could sit and be alone for hours. We also enjoyed going to the pool area to socialize with other couples. The large bedroom suite reminded us of the traditional beach cottages in the US. We stayed in Mackatree (an upstairs suite) and loved it! We had a beautiful view of the water and every day we would linger outside our room to look in to the blue hole cave. Alot of thought went in to the design of the room. You can sit on the couch and have a great view of the water and you can lay in bed and still have an excellent view of the water. The food was delicious and very healthy. I loved all of the vegetables - who knew kale and cabbage could taste that good! We can't wait to visit The Caves again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Mackatree (an upstairs suite). We had beautiful views of the water and we were set back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a short trip to Negril, which included a 2 night stay at the Caves. We were looking for a quick escape away from our two executive jobs and a pre-teen and teenager with very hectic school and sports schedules. This is our 6th trip to Jamaica and we can confirm that the Caves is THE place on the island to unwind, re-connect with your significant other, and re-charge your batteries in an understated, romantic fashion.

This place is the antithesis of traditional all-inclusive -- no base-thumping music, no microphoned activities director, and no drinks in plastic cups. You will hear the sound of the waves crashing against the coral caves. You will receive fantastic service from a knowledgeable and enthusiastic staff who are there to cater to your every whim. And you may drink Red Stripes out of glass bottles in a candlelit cave grotto after dark with some new found friends.

The rooms, while quaint and rustic, contain all the modern conveniences needed to make your overnight stay an absolute pleasure. Air conditioning, high end linens, new age music, your own stocked minibar, and candles, candles, candles everywhere you would like them. It was totally romantic without being over the top feminine like some traditional bed and breakfast might be.

Breakfast was our favorite meal of the day, as we preferred to keep our later meals lighter to enjoy some of the specialty cocktails prepared by Brian, Zoom, and other members of the staff. Even though this is an all-inclusive, don't forget to tip the staff. They work really, really hard to make your stay memorable.

We did not venture off the resort because we had already done so during the earlier part of our vacation. Paul, the on-site activities specialist, is always full of energy and is ready to assist you with kayaking, snorkeling or cliff-jumping. Don't forget to jump off the cliffs, including the Blue Hole. Keeps you sober! Once a day, Paul will perform a death-defying dive that brings his head terrifyingly close to the coral wall.

We are well-traveled in the Caribbean with visits to various all-inclusives (Beaches, Grand Lido, Barcelo, Iberostar, Dreams, etc.) as well as higher end resorts (Caneel Bay, Jumby, Viceroy Riviera Maya, etc.) and even private villas (Gun Point on Tortola). The Caves is totally different than any other Caribbean hotel at which we have stayed. It's relaxed ambiance is unparalleled -- no shoes? No problem, mon. That is the way a vacation to this island should be.

We will be back to the Caves -- for the views, the amazing Negril sunset, the hospitality, the uninterrupted sounds of the sea, and the connection we re-established with each other and with nature. This resort gets it, plain and simple. Respect.

Room Tip: Choose a second floor room for the best views of the Caribbean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This place has been on my must visit list since a few years, ever since we saw it featured on the travel and living channel. Given how far it is for us (several continents away) it took us a few years to finally work our way here but the wait was more than worth it.

I don’t think I have still quite gotten over the striking blue of the ocean and the sunsets were some of the best we have ever seen. While the view and location is something you expect (based on photos) it was the people and food that helped make this one of our best holidays, yet. Service was exemplary – relaxed, friendly and always attentive. Food – with the exception of 2 average meals (out of 12) was outstanding. Breakfasts were made to order (pretty much anything you wanted), lunches were usually a 3-course meal (soup/salad, entrée and dessert), which tended to be lighter and dinners were 5 courses (appetizer, soup, salad, entrée, dessert). The open bar, great cocktails, snacks on the counter and freshly baked goodies were also most appreciated in between meals. It is going to take me a few weeks to work off all those Red Stripes though!

We got the jumps out of the way on the first day (ticked that box!) and thereafter spent most of our time snorkeling. Paul – was great with the guided snorkeling tour and he pointed out a bunch of stuff we otherwise would have never noticed. We saw several barracudas, stingrays, lobster and myriads of other small colourful fish. While we didn’t see any of the big sea life we have had the privilege of seeing in other parts of the world like the Maldives or Tahiti I think it was enough to keep you entertained for a few hours everyday. I did eventually grow tired of snorkeling – which is when the rafts/floats came in handy to simply lounge around in your private oceanic pool.

I had requested Sea Turtle at the time of making our book but we were allotted the Blue Hole when we got there and it was comfortable. I would have preferred a room with a view but to be fair to the management I never actually made any effort to ask to be moved, as it just didn’t seem worth the hassle. We didn’t really spend much time in our room as a consequence since we didn’t want to miss out on the view. All rooms at the hotel are now air-conditioned and we didn’t face any of the water pressure or other issues some of the other posters have mentioned. I would say though that something could be done about the lighting as well as making better provision for some sort of dressing table. I had a tough time doing my hair and makeup etc but this was just a minor grievance.

We had every intention of leaving the hotel and making a trip to Ricks Cafe but somehow kept pushing it back to the next day and eventually we didn’t end up setting foot outside the property for our entire 6-day trip. Based on our conversations with a few of the other guests, we didn’t really miss much since the views from Ricks were more or less the same but with a loud party atmosphere (which wasn’t something which appealed to us).

In conclusion, we really loved our experience at the Caves and found it to be excellent value for money. The boutique size of the property was the perfect fit for us and we will certainly be back. One love.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed 5 nights - from March 26th to 31st.
The positives:
- very relaxing atmosphere. We lived off the recharged batteries for quite some time after the vacation
- food on average is good but not outstanding. We found the best were the lobster, fish tacos and soups. All seemingly nutritious
- staff overall are very friendly, discrete and relaxed. They helped set the tone
- stunningly clear water. Go snorkeling. And diving off the various levels of the cliffs, if you dare
- small resort so few people and quiet

Could be better:
- would have been nice to have a beach not so far away for walking but the solution may be to stay a night or two at a beach resort
- not much of anything to walk or jog to
- some ceiling fan noise
- bar refrigerator noise
- not enough areas at cliff's edge that are protected from the afternoon sun
- wine should be much better quality for the cost of staying there
- poor reliability of taxis arranged through the hotel. No one met us at the airport even though we had arranged it directly through them. One evening out for reggae music the driver fell asleep and could not be located so we had to take a taxi from the bar.

Would we go back? To Jamaica definitely! The Caves? ....Probably not, in that there is more to be explored. Was it good value? Not really, but our experience was just what we needed at the time. Are we glad we went, though? Yes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caves1997, Manager at The Caves, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Canexpats,

Thank you for your very constructive feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had a relaxing time and that your batteries were recharged well into after your stay. We appreciate your comment about the staff as the team here is a big part of what truly makes our resort wonderful, we eagerly await the next check-in as we are pleased to share our wonderful “home” with each guest. We want you to enjoy it as much as you want to enjoy it.

We have noted keenly your feedback as there is always room for improvements for areas that are within our control especially where fans and refrigerators noises are concerned. We however differ with the comment about our taxi drivers as their reliability is beyond outstanding. Without fail they are at the airport way before our guests’ scheduled arrival time and will wait patiently if there is a flight delay. They will have a sign (The Caves) and a smile ready to greet you and take you here. We must apologize for the confusion at airport, it happens so infrequently that guests arrive with another taxi service than the one they have arranged through us that we remember each case vividly. You were ushered out of the airport and placed on another taxi which was not the one we arranged while our taxi driver was still waiting at the airport even when you had arrived at the hotel with another driver an hour and some later. We are still trying to discern what happened and have asked our drivers to be more alert once they hear the flight has come in as we do not want this to happen to anyone else.

Once again thank you for your review. We are sure when you have replayed in your mind how relaxed you were during and after your vacation with us that somehow someway you will find yourself back at The Caves. It’s an unexplained pull.

One Love,
The Caves Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caves

Address: Light House Road | P.O. Box 3113, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#2 Spa Hotel in Negril
#2 Business Hotel in Negril
#2 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#3 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Caves 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caves sits along the limestone cliffs of the West End of Negril, right next to the famous Negril Lighthouse in Jamaica. Although situated only a few miles away from the bustling town center, this private enclave is a world apart. Eleven handcrafted wood and stone thatched-roof cottages, plus a 4-bedroom fully self-contained luxury villa, are interwoven between ten acres of lush vegetation and naturally formed volcanic caves. Quaint stone pathways wind through the limestone cliffs dotted with palm, sea grape and dogwood trees overlooking the Caribbean Sea. An arrangement of coral stairs and walkways lead to sundecks with uninterrupted views of the sea and sky, and grottos with turquoise water pools and fossilized marine life. A tropical reef system comes right up to the edge of the cliff, perfect for snorkeling. Guests can climb down ladders into the sea or take a leap from several “jump points,” the highest of which is 30 feet! An intimate, private and unique resort, The Caves is perfect for romance and relaxation.The Caves generally does not accept children under 16 years old. Exceptions must be cleared with the hotel management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Otel so you can book your The Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caves Hotel Negril
Caves Hotel Negril
The Caves Resort Negril
Caves Jamaica
Caves Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.