We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would I go back?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Caves

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Caves to your Saves list
The Caves
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Light House Road | P.O. Box 3113, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Negril
Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Would I go back?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have been back 3 weeks, and I'm still not sure if I would go back. First, the views are amazing. The cliffs and stone walls are just so pretty. I kept thinking that I was on a Greek island. Just beautiful. And so quiet. Nothing worse than going to a party resort and being kept up all night by party music. Perhaps I'm showing my age.

We stayed in Macca Tree, an upper level one bedroom unit with a/c. Our oceanview was marred by our view of the back of the kitchen. If you are going to charge over $700/nt, do you think you could paint the back of the kitchen? A little paint goes a long way. Our room itself was lovely and large, BUT the bathroom could have use a little work. I know that the tub was not dirty, but either resurface it or take it out completely and put in a nice stand alone shower. No tub is better than an unsightly one. Also , women like a little better lighting to apply make up. I did not see ant other units, so I do not know if this was typical.

The resort itself is just beautiful. There were so many little private seating areas spread out all over. Perfect for kicking back and relaxing., But again, you have all this and the cushions and umbrellas were just so worn. We have stayed at so many beach resorts that take such pride on keeping their lounge chairs and tables in mint condition. I just don't understand.

The spa staff is top notch. My husband is not a massage enthusiast, but we had a couples massage, he left the spa and went straight to the office and booked another one. That good.

A huge part of any vacation is the food. I understand that with so few guests that the menu is going to be limited, but this was very limited. For both lunch and dinner there was a choice of 2 entrees. Thats it. One night it was lamb and some other odd fish. And , you weren't given a huge amount. If your guy has a big appetite he will be asking for seconds for sure! Dinner was served from 730 till 1030pm. Everyone flocks to the water at sunset to have a drink and watch the sun go down. It would have been so nice if there were hors d'oeuvres set out. It would have been perfect. Snacks are available in a basket at the bar, Chips Ahoy, Cheezits, etc. Yummy! Shrimp was on the menu twice (we stayed a full week) but no lobster. By contrast we went to a Jamaican restaurant one night and 3 of us had lobsters (4), curried lobster, shrimp , beans and rice. The cost $39 USD!

We have stayed at Compass Point in Nassau several times so we are used to (and likre) this kind of accomodation. I guess I just expected a bit more for my money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caves1997, Manager at The Caves, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear TravelLover1954,

We would like to thank you for the time taken to write your feedback. We look forward to the comments from our guests whether it is on property during their stay or via this forum as we know there is always room for improvement in what we offer. We understand The Caves is not a one size fits all property as some persons book their return trip before check out, others have a standing reservation every four months and the few, those in the smallest minority like yourself maybe on the fence as to whether this is the right property for you or not. To you we say, give it a try again.
Our rooms are not marble floors and granite counter tops, they are shabby chic with cut stone, wood and thatch cleaned to perfection and feted with the warmth and personality of the Room Attendant assigned to it. They are not cookie-cutter rooms as each is very different, it will not be typical; we throw “typical” over the cliff! We have had an extremely busy season and we are aware that there are a few items that are a little worn which we began looking into months ago. Umbrellas and cushions will be replaced in short order; you can look out for a photo on our Facebook or Twitter page, we will post once they are in place.

We agree that a huge part of any vacation is the food, and the home cooked (your Grandma’s style) tasty treats from our Chefs have always left each guest wanting more and begging for recipes and the inception of a Caves’ cookbook. We may look into that one day! Of course as mentioned there are snacks in between meals, we know each person that checks in is different but our staff and guests have such a wonderful rapport, usually if needed our guests can always request something more filling in between meals and we can have it whipped it up at a moment’s notice. While it is harder for some guests to unwind than others, we want everyone to remember, they are at “home.” We serve lobster every Friday evening for dinner as part of a tasty surf and turf combo, barring the closed of lobster season (April1st –June 30th). We did serve it during your stay but perhaps you opted to go off property that night and missed it.
We are a property built on guests’ feedback and graciously accept the ones you have offered and will work on the suggestions you have made. This maybe your type of property or it may not but we certainly hope when you have weighed it all and as you have noted your vacation was great for the most part that you will come back to stay with us.

One Love,
The Caves Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    38
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
350
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Hill, Maine
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We spent three days here after our wedding and we can't stop talking about it. Impeccable service, sublime sexiness, decadent privacy, overwhelming aura of plush and relaxation. Rooms were insanely cool and comfortable, food was ridiculously satisfying, scenery and environs were spectacular. We spoiled ourselves with a daily oceanside massage and never once regretted the cost. Worth the extra effort to be here...it is life changing.

Room Tip: we didn't see a bad room/hut. staff let you know that "anything goes" so feel free to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Gone 2 times in less the 4 months, that explains how GREAT this place really is, been to all the top resorts in past and yet none get it the way this place does, you can enjoy your VICE what ever that might be, swim nude, drink , stay in bed all day, smoke, eat , what ever your VICE is NO PROBLEM MAN!!!!! , that is this place. Seem to attract 30 to 50 year olds looking to get away form crowds work life kids and the MAN, this place does just that, already booking 2 more trips for next year there. GO ENJOY, the people at the resort are amazing , all your wishes are covered, feel like lobster and steak , done, want more to drink ok, want a massage 2x a day down, what ever you want , NO PROBLEM. When going for dinner, wear your ROBE they give you , why not we did , who cares !!!!!! only 8 people there anyways and most are on cloud nine and will join you.

GO ENJOY ,

Room Tip: all rooms are great, all have AC, all ar egood
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was the most relaxing, wonderful vacation I've ever been on. We arrived on a Friday afternoon and the staff were warm and welcoming from the start. We stayed at Stardust, which we loved because it was secluded and had an amazing view. I don't even know how to start with this place. The soups were amazing, the breakfast was so good, and the dinners were just so delicious, too. I loved the laid back atmosphere and the size of the resort. We weren't bothered to buy anything or to do anything we didn't want to do.
As others have said, take advantage of the snorkeling with Paul as early as possible and do a cave dinner! We also had a dinner at the "white table" our last night and it was so nice.
We ventured out one day and took a short walk near Rick's but that wasn't really necessary.
I did yoga twice with Rosa and she also taught an extra pilates class. I recommend those, as it's nice to get a little exercise in while you're in paradise!
The only thing I'd tell people is not to expect luxurious bathrooms. Our shower had very low water pressure, but that's something we can overlook.
And, do cliff jumping!! The blue cave was my favorite. Be sure to get your cameras ready to shoot the jumps.
We cannot wait to return in a couple years. It was our only time in Jamaica and we really don't need to try anywhere else. This is our place.
Big thanks to Paul, Fiona and Randall. Great service!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caves1997, Manager at The Caves, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Margiesaalsas,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved your room Stardust. It is a very popular room with our guests due its privacy where you feel there is no one staying at the resort but you and its awesome views of the ocean. We have passed on your great feedback to Rosa and rest of the team members you have mentioned as it is always pleasing to be mentioned by name. Although you have conquered the Blue Hole jump there are many more jump spots here to challenge you when you come back to “your place”. We look forward to your return.

One Love,

The Caves Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just spent 4 nights at The Caves of Negril.The reviews here are spot on in accuracy but it is very hard to do this place justice with just words. You need to breathe it in to really appreciate the wonderful decompressive nature of this jewel of a resort. The natural beauty of limestone cliffs and caves masterfully carved by the relentless ocean tides is a marvel in itself. Sunsets that are breath taking, an ocean so turquoise it looks artificial, and the erotic breezes that blow nonstop are just more natural beauties you'll hate to say goodbye to at the end of your stay. I can think of no other place where you can have a ocean cave grotto all to yourself...without standing in some kind of line or making some kind of reservation. Just grab your favorite iPod and vice and just pick one of the several descending stone staircases to your own private respite. The service is great, and yes the food is good and creative. The price is steep, but worth every penny if unplugging, unwinding, and recharging with minimal human contact ranks high on your list of a/i "must haves". There are a few things that could be improved (like the shower's water pressure), but I really have to nit pick to come up with anything negative about this wonderful place. Give your self a well deserved break at the Caves.....I promise you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Have Randall make you a "Sailaway"....awesome drink! Now start packing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is one of - if not the - best hotels I've ever stayed in. It's romantic, but not naff. Exclusive but not intimidating. Luxurious but not ridiculous. We took a memory stick full of pictures of the view because you just cannot believe you are staying somewhere so beautiful. The staff are lovely (Patrick was a major favourite), the snorkelling lessons brilliant, the food so fresh and gorgeous. We hope we get to return one day? Truly amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and i visited Negril for the first time and were overwhelmed by the setting and the staff. It is a very relaxing experience in a romantic setting.The food is very good and the rooms are bohemian elegant with spectacular views of the ocean. When we were looking for live music on thursday night and none was available--Karen the manager arranged for a private band to come play for the guests. It was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caves

Address: Light House Road | P.O. Box 3113, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#2 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#2 Business Hotel in Negril
#2 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#2 Spa Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Caves 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caves sits along the limestone cliffs of the West End of Negril, right next to the famous Negril Lighthouse in Jamaica. Although situated only a few miles away from the bustling town center, this private enclave is a world apart. Eleven handcrafted wood and stone thatched-roof cottages, plus a 4-bedroom fully self-contained luxury villa, are interwoven between ten acres of lush vegetation and naturally formed volcanic caves. Quaint stone pathways wind through the limestone cliffs dotted with palm, sea grape and dogwood trees overlooking the Caribbean Sea. An arrangement of coral stairs and walkways lead to sundecks with uninterrupted views of the sea and sky, and grottos with turquoise water pools and fossilized marine life. A tropical reef system comes right up to the edge of the cliff, perfect for snorkeling. Guests can climb down ladders into the sea or take a leap from several “jump points,” the highest of which is 30 feet! An intimate, private and unique resort, The Caves is perfect for romance and relaxation.The Caves generally does not accept children under 16 years old. Exceptions must be cleared with the hotel management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caves Hotel Negril
Caves Hotel Negril
The Caves Resort Negril
Caves Jamaica
Caves Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.