We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARADISE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Caves

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Caves to your Saves list
The Caves
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Light House Road | P.O. Box 3113, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 90 Hotels in Negril
toronto
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“PARADISE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Gone 2 times in less the 4 months, that explains how GREAT this place really is, been to all the top resorts in past and yet none get it the way this place does, you can enjoy your VICE what ever that might be, swim nude, drink , stay in bed all day, smoke, eat , what ever your VICE is NO PROBLEM MAN!!!!! , that is this place. Seem to attract 30 to 50 year olds looking to get away form crowds work life kids and the MAN, this place does just that, already booking 2 more trips for next year there. GO ENJOY, the people at the resort are amazing , all your wishes are covered, feel like lobster and steak , done, want more to drink ok, want a massage 2x a day down, what ever you want , NO PROBLEM. When going for dinner, wear your ROBE they give you , why not we did , who cares !!!!!! only 8 people there anyways and most are on cloud nine and will join you.

GO ENJOY ,

Room Tip: all rooms are great, all have AC, all ar egood
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    39
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
356
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was the most relaxing, wonderful vacation I've ever been on. We arrived on a Friday afternoon and the staff were warm and welcoming from the start. We stayed at Stardust, which we loved because it was secluded and had an amazing view. I don't even know how to start with this place. The soups were amazing, the breakfast was so good, and the dinners were just so delicious, too. I loved the laid back atmosphere and the size of the resort. We weren't bothered to buy anything or to do anything we didn't want to do.
As others have said, take advantage of the snorkeling with Paul as early as possible and do a cave dinner! We also had a dinner at the "white table" our last night and it was so nice.
We ventured out one day and took a short walk near Rick's but that wasn't really necessary.
I did yoga twice with Rosa and she also taught an extra pilates class. I recommend those, as it's nice to get a little exercise in while you're in paradise!
The only thing I'd tell people is not to expect luxurious bathrooms. Our shower had very low water pressure, but that's something we can overlook.
And, do cliff jumping!! The blue cave was my favorite. Be sure to get your cameras ready to shoot the jumps.
We cannot wait to return in a couple years. It was our only time in Jamaica and we really don't need to try anywhere else. This is our place.
Big thanks to Paul, Fiona and Randall. Great service!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caves1997, Manager at The Caves, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Margiesaalsas,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved your room Stardust. It is a very popular room with our guests due its privacy where you feel there is no one staying at the resort but you and its awesome views of the ocean. We have passed on your great feedback to Rosa and rest of the team members you have mentioned as it is always pleasing to be mentioned by name. Although you have conquered the Blue Hole jump there are many more jump spots here to challenge you when you come back to “your place”. We look forward to your return.

One Love,

The Caves Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just spent 4 nights at The Caves of Negril.The reviews here are spot on in accuracy but it is very hard to do this place justice with just words. You need to breathe it in to really appreciate the wonderful decompressive nature of this jewel of a resort. The natural beauty of limestone cliffs and caves masterfully carved by the relentless ocean tides is a marvel in itself. Sunsets that are breath taking, an ocean so turquoise it looks artificial, and the erotic breezes that blow nonstop are just more natural beauties you'll hate to say goodbye to at the end of your stay. I can think of no other place where you can have a ocean cave grotto all to yourself...without standing in some kind of line or making some kind of reservation. Just grab your favorite iPod and vice and just pick one of the several descending stone staircases to your own private respite. The service is great, and yes the food is good and creative. The price is steep, but worth every penny if unplugging, unwinding, and recharging with minimal human contact ranks high on your list of a/i "must haves". There are a few things that could be improved (like the shower's water pressure), but I really have to nit pick to come up with anything negative about this wonderful place. Give your self a well deserved break at the Caves.....I promise you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Have Randall make you a "Sailaway"....awesome drink! Now start packing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is one of - if not the - best hotels I've ever stayed in. It's romantic, but not naff. Exclusive but not intimidating. Luxurious but not ridiculous. We took a memory stick full of pictures of the view because you just cannot believe you are staying somewhere so beautiful. The staff are lovely (Patrick was a major favourite), the snorkelling lessons brilliant, the food so fresh and gorgeous. We hope we get to return one day? Truly amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and i visited Negril for the first time and were overwhelmed by the setting and the staff. It is a very relaxing experience in a romantic setting.The food is very good and the rooms are bohemian elegant with spectacular views of the ocean. When we were looking for live music on thursday night and none was available--Karen the manager arranged for a private band to come play for the guests. It was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Caves 9 years ago, loved it, and always dreamed of going back. And even with extremely high expectations, we weren't disappointed. Stepping through the little blue door is a bit like stepping into Wonderland. The colors, the decor, the cliffside location, the staff...it is orchestrated perfectly. Everything is small scale, and personal. No crowds at the bar, no hustle and bustle. Usually we steer clear of all-inclusives, which mean quantity over quality, but thats not the case here. Breakfasts are made to order (don't miss their banana pancakes!), and they are extremely accommodating. If you are looking for a place to totally unwind, a place where your biggest decision of the day is what to mix in your rum, this is the place. Its is expensive, but worth every hard-earned penny. We will not wait another 9 years to go back!

Room Tip: You cant go wrong. Each unit is unique. Personally, we love the rooms with outdoor showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our second trip to The Caves and it was wonderful. The laid back, casual vibe is what we love... and the food! The food is amazing here because they stick to what they do best, real Jamaican fare, no fancy fusions attempts or ridiculous concoctions. Curry goat, jerk chicken, roast lamb, incredible snapper! The breakfast is fantastic, made to order, whatever you want. This is not a resort. The pool is tiny, the rooms are funky, but very comfortable with good linens and pillows and comfy beds. Romantic, with candles, a fridge stocked with goodies... no TVs... that's a good thing! It's about the views, the sounds of the waves crashing, the free-flowing Blackwells Rum, the food, the spa, the privacy and the cool caves. The staff is very friendly and will always make you smile. My favorite thing about this place is you are never, ever asked to sign a bill or presented with anything that even reminds you that it costs a thing, its relaxing not to have dollar signs ticking before your eyes while trying to relax on an indulgent vacation! You can help yourself at the bar if nobody is there, you can raid the minibar every single day. There are freshly baked brownies and cakes set out in the afternoons. It is like going to visit your eccentric uncle who retired to Jamaica and told his staff to indulge you. The only thing you will see on your bill at the end is for the fabulous time you spent in the tiny spa listening to the waves crashing against the cliffs as you are pampered. Yeah, we love this place!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caves

Address: Light House Road | P.O. Box 3113, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#2 Spa Hotel in Negril
#2 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#2 Luxury Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Caves 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caves sits along the limestone cliffs of the West End of Negril, right next to the famous Negril Lighthouse in Jamaica. Although situated only a few miles away from the bustling town center, this private enclave is a world apart. Eleven handcrafted wood and stone thatched-roof cottages, plus a 4-bedroom fully self-contained luxury villa, are interwoven between ten acres of lush vegetation and naturally formed volcanic caves. Quaint stone pathways wind through the limestone cliffs dotted with palm, sea grape and dogwood trees overlooking the Caribbean Sea. An arrangement of coral stairs and walkways lead to sundecks with uninterrupted views of the sea and sky, and grottos with turquoise water pools and fossilized marine life. A tropical reef system comes right up to the edge of the cliff, perfect for snorkeling. Guests can climb down ladders into the sea or take a leap from several “jump points,” the highest of which is 30 feet! An intimate, private and unique resort, The Caves is perfect for romance and relaxation.The Caves generally does not accept children under 16 years old. Exceptions must be cleared with the hotel management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caves Hotel Negril
Caves Hotel Negril
The Caves Resort Negril
Caves Jamaica
Caves Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.