We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Caves

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Caves to your Saves list
The Caves
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Light House Road | P.O. Box 3113, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Love
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Negril
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We came to The Caves for our honeymoon after spending a few days at Couples Swept Away. Biggest mistake we could have made. We should have stayed at The Caves for the entire time! My husband was concerned there wouldn't be enough for us to do but it was absolutely perfect! We stayed in Two Birds which was adorable. The food was incredible every meal, dinner in the cave was INCREDIBLE, definitely spend some time afterwards on one of the lounges and watch the stars (we saw a shooting star!). Regular location for dinner just as wonderful though, under the stars with a beautiful view of the lighthouse. I saw more things snorkeling with Paul than I did scuba diving at the other resort, He's great at pointing things out you wouldn't notice and truly loves his job. Dolphins were frolicking close enough to see most days. DIVE OFF ONE OF THE CLIFFS for sure! absolutely exhilarating! The sunsets are perfect. Karen from the front office is a sweetheart. Everyone was so nice! You could tell they cared about the guests opposed to big resorts where you're just another body. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    38
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
351
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camden, Delaware
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I came to The Caves to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary. We have very busy and stressful lives and wanted to get away for total relaxation. Well this place is just what we needed! The Caves is a very small resort, but the personalized feel you get can't be beat. The staff are so sweet and go out of their way to make you feel happy and relaxed. We didn't leave the resort except to go to Times Square for shopping. We laid out, snorkeled with Paul (who has the sweetest soul and is an amazing diver!), cliff jumped, and relaxed with some spa treatments (which were well worth the money btw). Indulge and you won't regret it! The food was amazing. Each meal was well prepared and delicious. Our room One Drop was so cute. The bed was comfy, it had AC, and an outdoor shower. It was also close to dining, the pool, and the ocean. This is the place to go to have a relaxing vacation. If you're looking for night life and a lot of people then this is not the place for you. We never want to go back to the same place twice, but my husband and I are already planning our return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My fiance and I came to the Caves for 5 nights over Columbus Day weekend. We stayed in the Blue Hole room which was very comfortable with low lighting and plenty of windows. Our room did have air conditioning, thankfully, which came in handy at night when we had to keep the windows closed due to bugs. The rooms overall are a bit rustic. I would not describe them as luxurious. Although our room had a huge king bed in the very center of the room, the bathroom was pretty tiny and the lighting was extremely dim. We had to make a point to keep all windows and doors shut in the evening to prevent any critters finding their way in. At night we feel asleep to the sound of the waves crashing beneath us as there is a small cave right next to the room. That's why they call it the Blue Hole, because it's right next to the blue hole cave.

The service was superb. Every morning, afternoon, and evening, we were waited on hand and foot. We arrived during mid-day so our first meal was lunch, which wasn't the greatest (I think it was salad with some kind of bland chicken dish). However, the food kept getting better throughout our stay. I definitely recommend going with the soup over the salad as a starter and skip dessert, it's not very good. Our favorite meals were banana pancakes for breakfast, Jamaican breakfast, jerk chicken, Caribbean lobster, and fried chicken.

The bars are open 24/7 and if there isn't a bartender there, you can serve yourself. Our favorites were Pina colada's, Dark and Stormy, and Brian's drink (I can't remember what he called it but it had vodka in it).

The water was blissfully warm and there is so much to see! Take a snorkeling trip with Paul and he will show you all these creatures you'd never be able to see on your own.

The people who stayed at the resort were all very nice and easy to talk to. Everyone is in the same state of relaxation and of course everyone is much happier as a result.

If you're looking for action, adventure, and nightlife, this place is probably not the best bet. It's definitely a relaxation haven where the primary activity is...well...nothing! Just enjoy doing nothing!

Room Tip: Choose a room with air conditioning. If you have to leave your windows open at night to get air circ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM2Caves, Manager at The Caves, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Laura,

Brian's special drink is "Something Wild" and he much appreciates your mention on TA as does Paul. Both have asked me to say thanks on their behalf. I would also like to thank you for your flatttering comments and your constructive feedback. Our efforts to improve all areas of the guest experience hinges on feedback and is much appreciated. Congratulations on your engagement and hope we will see you again soon.

Regards,
The Caves Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Caves. The property was beautiful with unparalleled views. Our room, Sea Turtle, looked right over the ocean. The bed was large and comfortable. The room had plenty of space, and the mini bar was restocked daily. We enjoyed that the Caves was all-inclusive including alcohol. The staff was warm and very accommodating as well. Our food allergies and preferences were taken into account for each meal. Access to teh ocean was pretty easy, and cliff diving was a true adrenaline rush. The only down side was that the Caves overcharged for trips to other places within Negril like the beach and other local hotels. My suggestion would be to call your own cab.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM2Caves, Manager at The Caves, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Najgeenap,

Thank you for the positive feedback, as well as the constructive feedback regarding transportation to nearby venues. Rest assured that The Caves Resort does not provide transportation and only assists guests in securing local taxi vendors. We do not profit from this in any way. Your feedback has been very useful in that we have now narrowed our list of recommended transport vendors with pre-agreed rates to the Beach and West End venues, approximately $12 and $6 respectively (each way) up to 4 persons.

Thank you again for taking the time to review The Caves, and helping us to improve the guest experience.

Best Regards,

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Overall, a very great stay at the caves. Very intimate and very boutique. The staff, GM, and even everyone else that was staying there was extremely warm and friendly. The food and drinks were excellent. Our room(Blue Hole) had A/C which we did occasionally use. The caves dinner was spectacular, we also had dinner in the gazebo one night. Every morning you could have whatever you wanted for breakfast, while overlooking the amazing cliffs of Negril. The rooms are definitely more of a Rustic Charm built with lots of nature around. We stayed for 5 nights, and I wasn't ready to leave.......but I can cliff jump and drink cliffhangers all day everyday. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Upstairs Rooms do not have A/C. Some couples there were surprised by this fact upon arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM2Caves, Manager at The Caves, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Nestafaria,

Your wonderful review is much appreciated. You seem to have captured all the finer points such as our architecture, vibe, and culinary offering. Feedback is essential to our growth, whether it be complimentary or constructive. That said, rest assured that we are in the process of completing our air conditioning project with only 3 cottages remaining. Our rooms are on the sea side and enjoy a natural tropical cool breeze, which most guests enjoy as yourself. However, our aim is to offer the AC option to all our guests for those who prefer it. Thank you again and we do look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was a very fun resort. First of all, we began each day with some cliff diving, I called it my morning coffee because it woke me up so effectively. The food and guest participating entertainment was wonderful. The bars are self service, if there is no bartender you just walk behind it and make what you want!

We had our anniversary dinner in one of the caves, very cool experience. Catamarans would go by each day with drunken parties, which was hilarious.

We stayed in essentially an entire house called Moonshadow, it couldn't have been nicer. The place had tons of unique charm, and we had a cat who lived with us and reaped the benefits of all you can eat dinners. If you could not choose between the two dinner options, you could have both! (I had lobster and filet one night)

The staff was amazing, and the other guests became good friends. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

It took us a day or so to adjust from the frenetic pace back home...but we soon came to love the casual, no worries vibe of The Caves. We arrived a day or two after Isaac passed through the region and were assigned to the Blue Hole, which, with it's positioning over an ocean cave, pounded with the waves as they crashed at night. You'll appreciate the thoughtful touches and surprises from the staff. We arrived to find incense, candles and soft music in the room...made for a romantic setting. The cottages are in a natural garden setting and can be opened to let the air and the sounds of nature in. Lunch and breakfast each day was at an open air restaurant or in a small private Gazebo. All the meals were well prepared, often with local flair, and the excellent staff was in every way warm and sincere. For some action, we snorkeled right off the cliffs and if you want a taste of the outside world, you can walk to Rick's or take a taxi to Idle Awhile for nice place to lounge and access the Seven Mile Beach. Caution, the taxis do not come cheap! A simply amazing destination, which delivers on quiet solitude and barefoot luxury. Tip: the spa treatments are conducted outdoors on a private balcony overlooking the sea. Consider the sugar scrub and enjoy the light breeze.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caves

Address: Light House Road | P.O. Box 3113, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#2 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#2 Spa Hotel in Negril
#2 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Caves 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caves sits along the limestone cliffs of the West End of Negril, right next to the famous Negril Lighthouse in Jamaica. Although situated only a few miles away from the bustling town center, this private enclave is a world apart. Eleven handcrafted wood and stone thatched-roof cottages, plus a 4-bedroom fully self-contained luxury villa, are interwoven between ten acres of lush vegetation and naturally formed volcanic caves. Quaint stone pathways wind through the limestone cliffs dotted with palm, sea grape and dogwood trees overlooking the Caribbean Sea. An arrangement of coral stairs and walkways lead to sundecks with uninterrupted views of the sea and sky, and grottos with turquoise water pools and fossilized marine life. A tropical reef system comes right up to the edge of the cliff, perfect for snorkeling. Guests can climb down ladders into the sea or take a leap from several “jump points,” the highest of which is 30 feet! An intimate, private and unique resort, The Caves is perfect for romance and relaxation.The Caves generally does not accept children under 16 years old. Exceptions must be cleared with the hotel management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caves Hotel Negril
Caves Hotel Negril
The Caves Resort Negril
Caves Jamaica
Caves Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.