We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Caves

Save Saved
You added The Caves to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Caves
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Light House Road | P.O. Box 3113, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Offers LIVE!
Ranked #2 of 91 hotels in Negril
Camden, Delaware
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I came to The Caves to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary. We have very busy and stressful lives and wanted to get away for total relaxation. Well this place is just what we needed! The Caves is a very small resort, but the personalized feel you get can't be beat. The staff are so sweet and go out of their way to make you feel happy and relaxed. We didn't leave the resort except to go to Times Square for shopping. We laid out, snorkeled with Paul (who has the sweetest soul and is an amazing diver!), cliff jumped, and relaxed with some spa treatments (which were well worth the money btw). Indulge and you won't regret it! The food was amazing. Each meal was well prepared and delicious. Our room One Drop was so cute. The bed was comfy, it had AC, and an outdoor shower. It was also close to dining, the pool, and the ocean. This is the place to go to have a relaxing vacation. If you're looking for night life and a lot of people then this is not the place for you. We never want to go back to the same place twice, but my husband and I are already planning our return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    390
    36
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
319
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My fiance and I came to the Caves for 5 nights over Columbus Day weekend. We stayed in the Blue Hole room which was very comfortable with low lighting and plenty of windows. Our room did have air conditioning, thankfully, which came in handy at night when we had to keep the windows closed due to bugs. The rooms overall are a bit rustic. I would not describe them as luxurious. Although our room had a huge king bed in the very center of the room, the bathroom was pretty tiny and the lighting was extremely dim. We had to make a point to keep all windows and doors shut in the evening to prevent any critters finding their way in. At night we feel asleep to the sound of the waves crashing beneath us as there is a small cave right next to the room. That's why they call it the Blue Hole, because it's right next to the blue hole cave.

The service was superb. Every morning, afternoon, and evening, we were waited on hand and foot. We arrived during mid-day so our first meal was lunch, which wasn't the greatest (I think it was salad with some kind of bland chicken dish). However, the food kept getting better throughout our stay. I definitely recommend going with the soup over the salad as a starter and skip dessert, it's not very good. Our favorite meals were banana pancakes for breakfast, Jamaican breakfast, jerk chicken, Caribbean lobster, and fried chicken.

The bars are open 24/7 and if there isn't a bartender there, you can serve yourself. Our favorites were Pina colada's, Dark and Stormy, and Brian's drink (I can't remember what he called it but it had vodka in it).

The water was blissfully warm and there is so much to see! Take a snorkeling trip with Paul and he will show you all these creatures you'd never be able to see on your own.

The people who stayed at the resort were all very nice and easy to talk to. Everyone is in the same state of relaxation and of course everyone is much happier as a result.

If you're looking for action, adventure, and nightlife, this place is probably not the best bet. It's definitely a relaxation haven where the primary activity is...well...nothing! Just enjoy doing nothing!

Room Tip: Choose a room with air conditioning. If you have to leave your windows open at night to get air circ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM2Caves, Manager at The Caves, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Laura,

Brian's special drink is "Something Wild" and he much appreciates your mention on TA as does Paul. Both have asked me to say thanks on their behalf. I would also like to thank you for your flatttering comments and your constructive feedback. Our efforts to improve all areas of the guest experience hinges on feedback and is much appreciated. Congratulations on your engagement and hope we will see you again soon.

Regards,
The Caves Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Caves. The property was beautiful with unparalleled views. Our room, Sea Turtle, looked right over the ocean. The bed was large and comfortable. The room had plenty of space, and the mini bar was restocked daily. We enjoyed that the Caves was all-inclusive including alcohol. The staff was warm and very accommodating as well. Our food allergies and preferences were taken into account for each meal. Access to teh ocean was pretty easy, and cliff diving was a true adrenaline rush. The only down side was that the Caves overcharged for trips to other places within Negril like the beach and other local hotels. My suggestion would be to call your own cab.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM2Caves, Manager at The Caves, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Najgeenap,

Thank you for the positive feedback, as well as the constructive feedback regarding transportation to nearby venues. Rest assured that The Caves Resort does not provide transportation and only assists guests in securing local taxi vendors. We do not profit from this in any way. Your feedback has been very useful in that we have now narrowed our list of recommended transport vendors with pre-agreed rates to the Beach and West End venues, approximately $12 and $6 respectively (each way) up to 4 persons.

Thank you again for taking the time to review The Caves, and helping us to improve the guest experience.

Best Regards,

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Overall, a very great stay at the caves. Very intimate and very boutique. The staff, GM, and even everyone else that was staying there was extremely warm and friendly. The food and drinks were excellent. Our room(Blue Hole) had A/C which we did occasionally use. The caves dinner was spectacular, we also had dinner in the gazebo one night. Every morning you could have whatever you wanted for breakfast, while overlooking the amazing cliffs of Negril. The rooms are definitely more of a Rustic Charm built with lots of nature around. We stayed for 5 nights, and I wasn't ready to leave.......but I can cliff jump and drink cliffhangers all day everyday. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Upstairs Rooms do not have A/C. Some couples there were surprised by this fact upon arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM2Caves, Manager at The Caves, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Nestafaria,

Your wonderful review is much appreciated. You seem to have captured all the finer points such as our architecture, vibe, and culinary offering. Feedback is essential to our growth, whether it be complimentary or constructive. That said, rest assured that we are in the process of completing our air conditioning project with only 3 cottages remaining. Our rooms are on the sea side and enjoy a natural tropical cool breeze, which most guests enjoy as yourself. However, our aim is to offer the AC option to all our guests for those who prefer it. Thank you again and we do look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was a very fun resort. First of all, we began each day with some cliff diving, I called it my morning coffee because it woke me up so effectively. The food and guest participating entertainment was wonderful. The bars are self service, if there is no bartender you just walk behind it and make what you want!

We had our anniversary dinner in one of the caves, very cool experience. Catamarans would go by each day with drunken parties, which was hilarious.

We stayed in essentially an entire house called Moonshadow, it couldn't have been nicer. The place had tons of unique charm, and we had a cat who lived with us and reaped the benefits of all you can eat dinners. If you could not choose between the two dinner options, you could have both! (I had lobster and filet one night)

The staff was amazing, and the other guests became good friends. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

It took us a day or so to adjust from the frenetic pace back home...but we soon came to love the casual, no worries vibe of The Caves. We arrived a day or two after Isaac passed through the region and were assigned to the Blue Hole, which, with it's positioning over an ocean cave, pounded with the waves as they crashed at night. You'll appreciate the thoughtful touches and surprises from the staff. We arrived to find incense, candles and soft music in the room...made for a romantic setting. The cottages are in a natural garden setting and can be opened to let the air and the sounds of nature in. Lunch and breakfast each day was at an open air restaurant or in a small private Gazebo. All the meals were well prepared, often with local flair, and the excellent staff was in every way warm and sincere. For some action, we snorkeled right off the cliffs and if you want a taste of the outside world, you can walk to Rick's or take a taxi to Idle Awhile for nice place to lounge and access the Seven Mile Beach. Caution, the taxis do not come cheap! A simply amazing destination, which delivers on quiet solitude and barefoot luxury. Tip: the spa treatments are conducted outdoors on a private balcony overlooking the sea. Consider the sugar scrub and enjoy the light breeze.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paoli, Indiana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I would echo many of the sentiments expressed in recent reviews...absolutely amazing spot for rest and relaxation! We spent five nights here at the end of July and truly enjoyed our stay. After a very hectic summer, this was the perfect choice to unwind and enjoy nature's beauty.

As other reviewer's have mentioned, the food is fresh and flavorful. We looked forward to every meal and between the four members of our traveling party, we sampled pretty much everything that was offered during our stay. Breakfast was our favorite meal; imagine being able to request almost anything your heart desires! The fresh fruit platter and a cheese and pepper omelet was the perfect way to start each morning (along with a lovely Mimosa). We are early-risers, and enjoyed making the rich coffee provided in our cottage and sitting outside each morning to watch the resort come to life.

By mid-morning we always looked forward to Randall making his rounds. Hey, it's vacation and they have so many special ways to make a cocktail! Break away from your usual drink of choice and ask them for their specialty. We really enjoyed the Dark and Stormy and Mr. Smooth, not to mention the Dirty Bananas. My personal favorite was a regular lime daiquiri with extra rum (they float the rum in the straw and on the very top).

Be sure to spend time talking to Paul and schedule some activities with him. He is such a personable guy and a true asset to The Caves. While we didn't go snorkeling, we did spend a couple of hours kayaking with him. Great adventure and not to be missed!

I scheduled a massage with Olivine and I have to say that it was one of the best I have ever had. That is one of my little travel splurges, and I have had my fair share in cities and resorts in several countries. The combination of the peaceful setting overlooking the water, the crash of the waves below, and her amazing techniques helped me achieve complete relaxation.

Our only problem (and this wasn't the fault of The Caves) was the heat. We were in The Sundancer and this unit is not air conditioned. Fans are provided, but being quite warm-natured myself, this just didn't do the trick for me. Granted, we were there during a very hot period, but there was really no place to go to escape the heat...other than the water, of course. We had looked forward to our scheduled dinner in the cave, but to be honest, we just rushed through the meal to be out of the heat. In between courses, we would move out to the lounge chairs at the entrance just to cool off. We spoke with quite a few other couples who had the same experience. Perhaps it was just the extreme heat during our visit. It is an incredibly romantic set-up that is truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

If you are looking for a quiet spot to kick back and relax, you should consider The Caves. There are truly no worries when you are here; you are in the very capable hands of an expert staff that has obviously been well-trained to meet the needs of every guest.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caves-management, General Manager at The Caves, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear kfsmom,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and kudos.

We truly appreciate you and all our reviewers taking you time to write in. Our staff do their very best to continue to aim for the true and genuine service we are known for.

We are delighted you appreciated the laid back and quiet surroundings - which all add up to a perfect, romantic and serene getaway.

Paul is top of the tops, and we always acknowledge that! He is passionate about what he does and it shows.

It can be quite hot at this time of year, but rest assured to all who are traveling in the summer, we have extra fans for the two bedroom cottages and there is a lovely sea breeze in the evening's. Most of our rooms however are air conditioned.

Thank you and we hope to welcome you back again soon to The Caves!

One Love,

The Management and staff of The Caves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caves

Also Known As:
The Caves Hotel Negril
The Caves Hotel
Caves Hotel Negril
The Caves Resort Negril
Caves Jamaica
Caves Negril
Address: Light House Road | P.O. Box 3113, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#2 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#2 Luxury Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Caves 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caves sits along the limestone cliffs of the West End of Negril, right next to the famous Negril Lighthouse in Jamaica. Although situated only a few miles away from the bustling town center, this private enclave is a world apart. Eleven handcrafted wood and stone thatched-roof cottages, plus a 4-bedroom fully self-contained luxury villa, are interwoven between ten acres of lush vegetation and naturally formed volcanic caves. Quaint stone pathways wind through the limestone cliffs dotted with palm, sea grape and dogwood trees overlooking the Caribbean Sea. An arrangement of coral stairs and walkways lead to sundecks with uninterrupted views of the sea and sky, and grottos with turquoise water pools and fossilized marine life. A tropical reef system comes right up to the edge of the cliff, perfect for snorkeling. Guests can climb down ladders into the sea or take a leap from several “jump points,” the highest of which is 30 feet! An intimate, private and unique resort, The Caves is perfect for romance and relaxation.The Caves generally does not accept children under 16 years old. Exceptions must be cleared with the hotel management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.