We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh patties” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Niah's Patties

Niah's Patties
Wavz Art Complex on Seven Mile Beach, Negril, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 166 Restaurants in Negril
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fresh patties”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This is not your typical Jamaican patty. This is the patty, elevated to another level. Made from scratch, cooked to order in an open kitchen, and fried in fresh oil.... for me, this was the best patty I've ever had. Perfectly complimented by their homemade ginger sauce. Not to mention the pleasure of meeting Niah, who managed to drop some enlightened knowledge on me. If your expecting your typical beef patty, this isn't it. This is a healthful, honest patty that will leave you feeling satisfied and light after eating it. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    57
    10
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Great food, great people and good price. Totally worth going. I love the veggie patties, their sauce is awesome. Always made fresh, right in front of u. U have to try!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great vibes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Niah's patties are the bomb! You can choose from about three to four different types of patties, all cooked to order. I had the vegetable patties and ended up going back three times during my visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“I don't get the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is the first time Tripadvisor has failed me in following other's reviews. Like others have said, the stand is very hard to find. The stand is located in a vacant lot between the ocean and the road. I ordered a veggie pattie. It was bland. I'm from the Midwest, and we are typically known for bland food, but this was more bland than average. I'm not a pattie expert, so I can't comment on whether it is a better than the average beach pattie.

Perhaps was ruined the experience for me was the setting. There are a few picnic tables around the stand, but next to the picnic tables was an old couch with only the foam stuffing showing which was moldy and wet. I know that this type of thing is all over Jamaica, but like I said, the stand is located in a huge vacant lot, so why have they not moved the moldy wet couch to the other end of the lot? It was just gross.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

They don't make typical Jamaican patties here. They are more like italian panzerotties. Everyday you have a certain choice of fillings. They make it any way you want. Worth the walk!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Niah's Patties also viewed

 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Niah's Patties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Niah's Patties, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.