We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shark's

Shark's
West End Road across from Tensing Pen, Negril, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 177 Restaurants in Negril
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Small family-run restaurant, Shark, the dad, his wife and two little boys.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Shark's is a must to dine at, be it breakfast or dinner they have so many great dishes. Shark is a joy to get to know and will bend over backwards to help you out. Me and my friends were staying across the street so we were able to spend lots of time enjoying things both on and off the menu. We wanted to try some sugar cane so he jumped on his bike and drove off, came back ten min. later with some fresh cane. Cleaned it up and we had our first taste.

A must a must a must. Wont even waste my time to list what to eat, haha it's all so good. Juliet Is sharks wife and the master cook.

The cucumber drink is so refreshing in the heat!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a small, simple restaurant where the food is out of this world. We stayed at Tensing Pen for a week and this restaurant is right across the street. We ate there three times. I had the pan fried snapper all three times because it is the best I have ever had in my life!! My husband had the Chicken Fricassee, the Chicken Curry and the Goat Curry - he cannot decide which was the best, but loved them all!! Juliet is the owner/cook (hi Juliet - its Brit from Chicago!) and she does some kind of magic in that kitchen!! Don't miss it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We came to Jamaica for the food and we were not disappointed. The food was very good and great prices. My husband had the curry goat and he said it was excellent. Kids and I had jerk chicken and that was very yummy. Love the coleslaw and rice and peas. Only wish we had found this place first - definetly a go again!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MicheleN866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food & location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Prices are a little higher than other nearby places, and they were out of oxtails which was why we chose them. But the goat & conch curry were quite yummy, and service was excellent.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank vampkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Fish in Negril”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed at Negril Escape quite near Shark's and it was recommended to me by the servers at the resort. Shark, Juliette and Smokey were excellent hosts; the food, beer and conversation were all great. The ambiance, charm and authenticity of Shark's Bar really encouraged me to explore other little establishments along the cliffs as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shark's also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Shark's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing