We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shark's

Shark's
West End Road across from Tensing Pen, Negril, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 153 Restaurants in Negril
Cuisines: Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Small family-run restaurant, Shark, the dad, his wife and two little boys.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Shark's is a must to dine at, be it breakfast or dinner they have so many great dishes. Shark is a joy to get to know and will bend over backwards to help you out. Me and my friends were staying across the street so we were able to spend lots of time enjoying things both on and off the menu. We wanted to try some sugar cane so he jumped on his bike and drove off, came back ten min. later with some fresh cane. Cleaned it up and we had our first taste.

A must a must a must. Wont even waste my time to list what to eat, haha it's all so good. Juliet Is sharks wife and the master cook.

The cucumber drink is so refreshing in the heat!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    12
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a small, simple restaurant where the food is out of this world. We stayed at Tensing Pen for a week and this restaurant is right across the street. We ate there three times. I had the pan fried snapper all three times because it is the best I have ever had in my life!! My husband had the Chicken Fricassee, the Chicken Curry and the Goat Curry - he cannot decide which was the best, but loved them all!! Juliet is the owner/cook (hi Juliet - its Brit from Chicago!) and she does some kind of magic in that kitchen!! Don't miss it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We came to Jamaica for the food and we were not disappointed. The food was very good and great prices. My husband had the curry goat and he said it was excellent. Kids and I had jerk chicken and that was very yummy. Love the coleslaw and rice and peas. Only wish we had found this place first - definetly a go again!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food & location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Prices are a little higher than other nearby places, and they were out of oxtails which was why we chose them. But the goat & conch curry were quite yummy, and service was excellent.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Fish in Negril”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed at Negril Escape quite near Shark's and it was recommended to me by the servers at the resort. Shark, Juliette and Smokey were excellent hosts; the food, beer and conversation were all great. The ambiance, charm and authenticity of Shark's Bar really encouraged me to explore other little establishments along the cliffs as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shark's also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Shark's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shark's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.