We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shark's

Shark's
West End Road across from Tensing Pen, Negril, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 152 Restaurants in Negril
Cuisines: Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Small family-run restaurant, Shark, the dad, his wife and two little boys.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a small, simple restaurant where the food is out of this world. We stayed at Tensing Pen for a week and this restaurant is right across the street. We ate there three times. I had the pan fried snapper all three times because it is the best I have ever had in my life!! My husband had the Chicken Fricassee, the Chicken Curry and the Goat Curry - he cannot decide which was the best, but loved them all!! Juliet is the owner/cook (hi Juliet - its Brit from Chicago!) and she does some kind of magic in that kitchen!! Don't miss it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    29
    10
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We came to Jamaica for the food and we were not disappointed. The food was very good and great prices. My husband had the curry goat and he said it was excellent. Kids and I had jerk chicken and that was very yummy. Love the coleslaw and rice and peas. Only wish we had found this place first - definetly a go again!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food & location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Prices are a little higher than other nearby places, and they were out of oxtails which was why we chose them. But the goat & conch curry were quite yummy, and service was excellent.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Fish in Negril”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed at Negril Escape quite near Shark's and it was recommended to me by the servers at the resort. Shark, Juliette and Smokey were excellent hosts; the food, beer and conversation were all great. The ambiance, charm and authenticity of Shark's Bar really encouraged me to explore other little establishments along the cliffs as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Small but nice and Jamaican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Took a taxi from Point Village. Taxi driver had no idea where to go but found it opposite Tensing Pen. Made a mistake and went in Stress Free Bar but was directed into Sharks. Seating for about 10 onan open verandah style. Very friendly and service was good. Excellent jerk chicken and curry conch. If we are on the cliffs then we will revisit Sharks.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shark's also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Shark's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shark's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.