We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Jamaican Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De bar

De bar
Norman Manly Blvd across from sunset | on the cliffs, Negril, Jamaica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 154 Restaurants in Negril
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Oak Forest, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Authentic Jamaican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We went to De bar and had awesome jerk chicken along with greens, rice and peas, it was absolutely delicious. Eddy knows his jerk, our chicken was seasoned perfectly, it melted in my mouth! As I am writing this my mouth is watering, their food is that good. I enjoyed my meal very much and plan on visiting next year when on vacation. One tip: bring bug spray,it is outdoor eating and the mosquitoes bit up my ankles.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    26
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Virginia, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“De Bar is de best spot in West End, Negril”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Sitting here now at the bar with my wife after a big lobster Easter dinner on the beach earlier tonight. Just had to come across the street and have a Stripe or two and watch master jerk chef Eddie do his thing. Food is excellent quality and worth the wait cause it is cooked fresh not sitting on a fire or heat lamp. Eddie even shared me some trade secrets so I can perfect my jerk skills in the States.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Late night Jerk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Walked over about midnight and Eddie was still cooking!!! Ordered some jerk chicken and waited about 20 minutes for it to be ready but boy was it good. We were completely entertained by the other 5-6 people who obviously had been there a really long time and were dancing and singing, not all to the same song but it was close. This is a great place to hit after everything closes up on the West End.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Don't Miss De Bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We return to De Bar every year. Pam and Eddie are amazing hosts--they will go out of their way for you. The food is fantastic--cooked right in front of you, and Eddie's jerk sauce is the best in Negril. De Bar is friendly, cheap, and delicious. Can you ask for anything more?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashvegas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This place is owned by 3 Dives. Possibly the best chicken I have ever tasted. The jerk sauce was exceptional. They sell bottles, but I didn't want to check my bag.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De bar also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to De bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.