We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming boutique hotel with superior customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West End Cliffs | Westmoreland, Negril ., Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Negril
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Charming boutique hotel with superior customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a charming little hotel in Negril with only 18 cottages. We stayed in a beautiful seaside cottage with magnificent views of the ocean. The service was some of the best I have ever had. Two of the highlights of our stay were enjoying a lobster dinner delivered by Delroy as we watched an amazing sunset and a surprise bottle of champagne with appetizers delivered on my husband's birthday. Our meals were excellent and the staff is superior. It is a lovely and romantic hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the seaside cottages - the views are amazing. Be sure to bring your river shoes so you can go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are humbled by your kind words! At The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel we aim to provide a superior level of service in combination with personal touches and comforts that establish a "home away from home" for our guests! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the romantic surprises and must agree the sunset views are spectacular. Until next time, one love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    28
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
251
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in January of 2013. I am a bit delayed in writing a review. We had a great time here. We stayed 3 nights in a seaside cottage.

The pros:
Staff is wonderful!!! They go above and beyond to make sure your needs are met.
Small resort; We were one of only a few other couples statying. Seclusion!!! Peace & Quiet!
Gorgeous grounds & sunsets
Good Food & Drinks (we did one day all inclusive food/beverage. Worth it if you are going to drink alot, we got our money's worth). Coconut Shrimp & Mojito's are great!
Stocked refrigerator: Stocked daily with bottled water & red stripes!!!
Rosie the Dog! Glad she was there because I really missed my own dog.
They provide you a phone to use during your stay. Extremely useful.


Cons:
Seaside cottage: I felt it wasnt very private due to close proximely to pool & other cottages. Also, the cottages weren't numbered and look the same. I accidently walked into another guests cottage. Thank God they were not in it when that happened. I would recommend The Garden cottages as they are a bit larger and offer a bit more privacy. Also very limited space to store your cloths, shoes, luggage.

Upon arrival, I was tired from a very long flight and the 2 hour drive; hot, sweaty and in need of a shower. The provided us a Mini massage while checking in at the office. It was strange and uncomfortable. One of the massaueses continually asked us during our stay if we had booked a spa treatment yet. Almost to the point it was harrassing at times.

All in all I highly recommend this resort if you want great service, food, peace and quiet. However, if you do not leave the grounds, you will not experience the true Jamaican culture. Next time, I will opt to stay on the beach rather than the cliffs but will likely be back to have some dinner and drinks and say hello to one of the kindest bartenders, Dwayne, that I ever met!

Room Tip: Garden Cottages are larger and offer more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review! Our team is honored that you enjoyed the personal level of service and had a wonderful time getting to know you both during your stay in January. Shortly after your departure, all cottages were numbered with beautifully hand crafted wooden plaques. Since your stay our foliage has also blossomed into lush tropical gardens creating better privacy between the seaside and pool is not a issue.

Our welcome massages, are part of our island charm, and a way for guests to start relaxing upon arrival after a long travel day. Moving forward, it will be our pleasure to ask our guests their preference prior to commencing the massage. Our team is here for your every need, and our Spa Therapists love to help relax our guests. Finally, rooms have all been equipped with luggage racks, and additional shelving. Again, we thank you immensely for your feedback as it simply allows for us to develop and improve! We look forward to your return "home" one day, soon come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Pros-
1) We arrived with an introductory massage at check in and were immediately upgraded to a seaside cottage due to the lack of occupancy
2) Food was great, very authentic JA cuisine
3) We felt like we were alone....very isolated...perfect for couples looking for escape or revitalization
4) The cliffs/waters provide great opportunity for snorkeling
5) The grounds are immaculately kept and architecturally beautiful

Cons
1) The kitchen closes at 9pm and even if you arrive at 8:45 you will not get fed
2) The rooms are a bit snug although comfortable and nicely decorated
3) The rooms do not come equip with a tv but one was immediately brought to us upon request
5) The spa services are a bit pricey especially since the hotel itself is not cheap

I am more of a Portland girl, but I would definitely come back to Negril and the Spa Retreat for a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We appreciate your feedback, as a new business we are continually seeking ways to improve our guest's experience! We are so pleased that you relaxed amidst the intimate and romantic vibes of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel. While delighted to learn that you enjoyed our authentic Jamaican cuisine served fresh farm to table from our Blue Mahoe Restaurant we are deeply apologetic if the restaurant closed early at any point during your stay. Although we do close at 9:00pm to the public, we will accommodate without hesitation in the case that a hotel guest makes a request in advance to dine later! We look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to the West End Cliffs of Negril one day. One love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Amazing,me and my wife stay here 5 days and we love it, the staff was very nice, the food is good,if you have any question ask ROCKY he will put you in the right direction,all stuff were very friendly helpful with us suggestion were to eat for good traditional jamaican food , Rosa the dog was very fun to jump with her in the water ....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting the West End Cliffs of Negril! Rosa and the entire team eagerly anticipate your return, one love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We just returned from an AMAZING week at the SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We are hard-pressed for words to describe how lovely, hospitable, and luxurious it was. We've taken at least 20 trips to small caribbean resorts over the years (we don't like the big chains), and this was one of the best hotels we have experienced.

In addition to its relaxed elegance, lush tropical landscaping and luxurious amenities, the service was exceptional in every way. EVERY SINGLE member of the staff -- from Howie, the taxi driver who picked us up at the airport --to Heather and her team behind the front desk to Dwayne, fabulous resident mixologist to several AMAZING spa treatments by Deniesha -- and other amazing folks) made us feel like family, VERY pampered family.

We were most impressed by the simple elegance of the hotel. Our quaint thatched roof cottage overlooking the beach (and lovely sunsets) was absolutely beautiful -- with gorgeous local, hand-crafted wood and sparkling new bathrooms with plenty of piping hot water and shower pressure (an anomaly among island resorts).

The chef was excellent and all the food was truly farm fresh. The menu had a great variety and included excellent local dishes as well as more traditional dishes with a special Jamaican flair (don't miss the Jerk Chicken Alfredo!).

One final note. In our experience, many upscale resorts lure guests with lower room prices only to charge exorbitantly for food, spa services and extras. The Spa Retreat did just the opposite. The food and spa services were VERY reasonably priced, especially given their quality and value.

Overall, all we can say is that we will be back! What a lovely and incredibly special spot to celebrate 20 years together. We hope to come back with old friends someday soon and take over the place once more.

Thank you to all who made our stay such a lovely and memorable week away from the crazy pace of Washington, DC.

Room Tip: Splurge for the ocean-front cottages. The view is well-worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel. We are honored that you feel your stay was one of the best you have ever experienced, our team truly enjoyed getting to know you both. On behalf of the entire SPA Family, best wishes for another wonderful 20 years together. We will look forward to your return, soon come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It was absolutely wonderful to return to the Spa Resort in Negril Jamaica. Having been a few years ago when it was still in it's early stages of launching it was amazing to go back and see the transformation that had taken place. The resort is now more beautiful than ever, with all the lush vegetation grown in, it really is a tropical oasis.

The staff and owners were wonderful, they took the time to remember our names which gave it a really personal feel you would never experience at a larger scale resort. You could tell the owners have hand picked all their employees who were extremely personable and real professionals in their field. The seaside cocktails were absolutely delicious accompanied with the amazing service.. I didn't have to move an inch while getting a wonderful tan in the amazing Jamaican sun! Their Blue Mahoe Restaurant was easily the best restaurant I have ever experienced in the Caribbean, offering many Canadian style dishes with a Jamaican flare. Absolutely delicious, I never would have imagined I would eat so well anywhere in the Caribbean!

Just moments away from the 7 mile beach in Negril, it was amazing to stroll down the beach taking in the sights and touristy attractions, while close enough to return in time for a wonderful dinner and seaside massage. The sunsets were absolutely stunning, some of the most beautiful I've ever seen. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a truly unforgettable experience in Jamaica. They really go above and beyond to ensure that every guest has the best experience with the highest quality of service. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to return "home", it was wonderful to have you as our guest again. What a thrill it must have been to see the evolution of the resort since the beginning stages. We are glad that this stay was everything you remembered and more! Until next time, one love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Spa Retreat. A very straight forward name. The name doesn't pack any ambiance or romance that a romance seeker would want to find. And yet, this straight forward retreat, nicely located in Negril, is a really good deal for anyone seeking ambiance and romance. Its a small resort. 18 rooms, mostly bungalows. The food is terrific; the chef takes pride in bringing local cuisine with a twist. The staff is big smiles; warm, friendly, and they will hook you up mon. When we were their we practically had the place to ourselves. Having your own resort? Not bad at all.

Suggestion: bring bug repellent. If it rains, it can get really muggy and the skeeters come out.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the relaxed and laid back nature of our boutique property! We look forward to having you as our guest again soon. One love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel

Address: West End Cliffs | Westmoreland, Negril ., Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Negril
#1 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#1 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#4 Business Hotel in Negril
#7 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true luxury escape located on the West End Cliffs of Negril, Jamaica and located on nearly 2 acres of oceanfront; this unique property extends from white sandy beach into exotic grey cliffs overlooking the vibrant turquoise hues of the Caribbean Sea. 18 Handcrafted stone cottages with spectacular tropical gardens and cliff side dining at the Blue Mahoe Restaurant will enhance your SPA escape. The SPA Retreat features an open-air day spa offering classic aesthetic treatments with a Jamaican flair. The adults only, SPA Retreat features a sea water pool, sandy beach deck, A/C, free Wi-Fi, in-room safe, yoga and specialty tours to enhance your experience. The devotion to quality and service familiar to The SPA’s Canadian locations continues to surpass guest expectations from the moment your flight touches down. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa Retreat Hotel Negril
Heart Beat Seaside Retreat Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.