We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel, Intimate Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West End Cliffs | Westmoreland, Negril ., Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 90 Hotels in Negril
nyc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel, Intimate Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Pros-
1) We arrived with an introductory massage at check in and were immediately upgraded to a seaside cottage due to the lack of occupancy
2) Food was great, very authentic JA cuisine
3) We felt like we were alone....very isolated...perfect for couples looking for escape or revitalization
4) The cliffs/waters provide great opportunity for snorkeling
5) The grounds are immaculately kept and architecturally beautiful

Cons
1) The kitchen closes at 9pm and even if you arrive at 8:45 you will not get fed
2) The rooms are a bit snug although comfortable and nicely decorated
3) The rooms do not come equip with a tv but one was immediately brought to us upon request
5) The spa services are a bit pricey especially since the hotel itself is not cheap

I am more of a Portland girl, but I would definitely come back to Negril and the Spa Retreat for a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We appreciate your feedback, as a new business we are continually seeking ways to improve our guest's experience! We are so pleased that you relaxed amidst the intimate and romantic vibes of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel. While delighted to learn that you enjoyed our authentic Jamaican cuisine served fresh farm to table from our Blue Mahoe Restaurant we are deeply apologetic if the restaurant closed early at any point during your stay. Although we do close at 9:00pm to the public, we will accommodate without hesitation in the case that a hotel guest makes a request in advance to dine later! We look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to the West End Cliffs of Negril one day. One love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    28
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
238
25
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Amazing,me and my wife stay here 5 days and we love it, the staff was very nice, the food is good,if you have any question ask ROCKY he will put you in the right direction,all stuff were very friendly helpful with us suggestion were to eat for good traditional jamaican food , Rosa the dog was very fun to jump with her in the water ....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting the West End Cliffs of Negril! Rosa and the entire team eagerly anticipate your return, one love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We just returned from an AMAZING week at the SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We are hard-pressed for words to describe how lovely, hospitable, and luxurious it was. We've taken at least 20 trips to small caribbean resorts over the years (we don't like the big chains), and this was one of the best hotels we have experienced.

In addition to its relaxed elegance, lush tropical landscaping and luxurious amenities, the service was exceptional in every way. EVERY SINGLE member of the staff -- from Howie, the taxi driver who picked us up at the airport --to Heather and her team behind the front desk to Dwayne, fabulous resident mixologist to several AMAZING spa treatments by Deniesha -- and other amazing folks) made us feel like family, VERY pampered family.

We were most impressed by the simple elegance of the hotel. Our quaint thatched roof cottage overlooking the beach (and lovely sunsets) was absolutely beautiful -- with gorgeous local, hand-crafted wood and sparkling new bathrooms with plenty of piping hot water and shower pressure (an anomaly among island resorts).

The chef was excellent and all the food was truly farm fresh. The menu had a great variety and included excellent local dishes as well as more traditional dishes with a special Jamaican flair (don't miss the Jerk Chicken Alfredo!).

One final note. In our experience, many upscale resorts lure guests with lower room prices only to charge exorbitantly for food, spa services and extras. The Spa Retreat did just the opposite. The food and spa services were VERY reasonably priced, especially given their quality and value.

Overall, all we can say is that we will be back! What a lovely and incredibly special spot to celebrate 20 years together. We hope to come back with old friends someday soon and take over the place once more.

Thank you to all who made our stay such a lovely and memorable week away from the crazy pace of Washington, DC.

Room Tip: Splurge for the ocean-front cottages. The view is well-worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel. We are honored that you feel your stay was one of the best you have ever experienced, our team truly enjoyed getting to know you both. On behalf of the entire SPA Family, best wishes for another wonderful 20 years together. We will look forward to your return, soon come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It was absolutely wonderful to return to the Spa Resort in Negril Jamaica. Having been a few years ago when it was still in it's early stages of launching it was amazing to go back and see the transformation that had taken place. The resort is now more beautiful than ever, with all the lush vegetation grown in, it really is a tropical oasis.

The staff and owners were wonderful, they took the time to remember our names which gave it a really personal feel you would never experience at a larger scale resort. You could tell the owners have hand picked all their employees who were extremely personable and real professionals in their field. The seaside cocktails were absolutely delicious accompanied with the amazing service.. I didn't have to move an inch while getting a wonderful tan in the amazing Jamaican sun! Their Blue Mahoe Restaurant was easily the best restaurant I have ever experienced in the Caribbean, offering many Canadian style dishes with a Jamaican flare. Absolutely delicious, I never would have imagined I would eat so well anywhere in the Caribbean!

Just moments away from the 7 mile beach in Negril, it was amazing to stroll down the beach taking in the sights and touristy attractions, while close enough to return in time for a wonderful dinner and seaside massage. The sunsets were absolutely stunning, some of the most beautiful I've ever seen. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a truly unforgettable experience in Jamaica. They really go above and beyond to ensure that every guest has the best experience with the highest quality of service. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to return "home", it was wonderful to have you as our guest again. What a thrill it must have been to see the evolution of the resort since the beginning stages. We are glad that this stay was everything you remembered and more! Until next time, one love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Spa Retreat. A very straight forward name. The name doesn't pack any ambiance or romance that a romance seeker would want to find. And yet, this straight forward retreat, nicely located in Negril, is a really good deal for anyone seeking ambiance and romance. Its a small resort. 18 rooms, mostly bungalows. The food is terrific; the chef takes pride in bringing local cuisine with a twist. The staff is big smiles; warm, friendly, and they will hook you up mon. When we were their we practically had the place to ourselves. Having your own resort? Not bad at all.

Suggestion: bring bug repellent. If it rains, it can get really muggy and the skeeters come out.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the relaxed and laid back nature of our boutique property! We look forward to having you as our guest again soon. One love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Do you remember the sadness you felt as a child when your vacation was over? That is how we felt as we left The SPA Retreat last week. We did not want to leave! As we hugged our new friends goodbye (the owner and amazing staff) we reflected on our week. We normally go to large, all-inclusive resorts with our family, but this time we wanted a quiet, relaxing vacation to celebrate our anniversary. We certainly were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived, we felt right at home. The property is gorgeous and it is extremely clean and well maintained. We stayed in a Seaside bungalow, which we loved. It was humid outside, but the air-conditioned room was cool and very comfortable. The food was absolutely delicious. Aneisha was a wonderful server, and she was happy to explain all of the Jamaican specialties to us. My husband tried everything from ackee and saltfish to bammy and breadfruit. He loved the jerk chicken and fish, and asked for it to be prepared extra spicy. I loved the fact that there were plenty of vegetarian options available. In fact, I have been making a SPA Retreat Greek salad each day since I’ve been home! Everything was very fresh and prepared to order, unlike the buffets at the large resorts. The food came quickly after it was ordered. During the day we usually relaxed on the sand “beach” outside of our room. When we got hot, we either cooled off in the beautiful salt-water pool or we went into the ocean. The water temperature was perfect. My husband was lucky enough to dive with Rosa, the owners’ very sweet dog. The bartender, Dwayne, was very attentive and served us sodas or drinks at our beach chairs. We also enjoyed talking to him at the bar, while sipping some delicious frozen drinks. We had an incredible couples massage at the Spa, and my husband went back for a deep tissue massage. Amazing! This was one of the best vacations we have ever had. Kelly and Heather were very helpful whenever we had a question. The owners, Christine and Shane were so nice and would do absolutely anything to ensure that their guests have a good vacation. We would go back in a minute!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your review! Our team is proud that you enjoyed the fresh "farm to table" dining experience while sampling our many traditional Jamaican dishes offered at Blue Mahoe Restaurant. We are also so happy to learn that you truly felt at ease with The SPA Family during your stay and look forward to welcoming you back "home" as soon as possible. Soon come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Spa Retreat furnished us with outstanding and superior excellence from beginning to end! The Staff is super friendly! The Owners are super friendly! The food is EXCELLENT! The cooks will cater to all diets, vegan, allergies, finicky...anything!!!and it's all so so delicious!!! Dwayne is a superior bartender!!!! He makes the most fabulous cocktails and is a lovely, lovely man!!! Denisha gave us the best massages we ever had!!! She truly has magic hands! Spa Retreat is sparkling clean and very posh! Although other guest were there, it always felt as we were on a private resort. We felt so catered to, we will absolutely be back! We also had the pleasure of jumping in the ocean with the beautiful Rosa! (she only hangs with you if you want) We snorkeled and had so much fun!!!! We did travel around the island, Spa Retreat organized the transportation to the various sites, always making sure everything was in order, including flat rates from their trusted taxi service. I truly can not say enough fabulous things about the absolutely magnificent Spa Retreat! It's an unforgettable place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for visiting as our guest and sharing your review. We are honored that you feel you have found an "island treasure" within The SPA Retreat! Our aim is to provide all guests with a personalized total wellness experience filled with organic cuisine and rejuvenating spa services. We hope to indulge you again soon! One love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel

Address: West End Cliffs | Westmoreland, Negril ., Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Negril
#1 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#1 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#3 Business Hotel in Negril
#5 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true luxury escape located on the West End Cliffs of Negril, Jamaica and located on nearly 2 acres of oceanfront; this unique property extends from white sandy beach into exotic grey cliffs overlooking the vibrant turquoise hues of the Caribbean Sea. 18 Handcrafted stone cottages with spectacular tropical gardens and cliff side dining at the Blue Mahoe Restaurant will enhance your SPA escape. The SPA Retreat features an open-air day spa offering classic aesthetic treatments with a Jamaican flair. The adults only, SPA Retreat features a sea water pool, sandy beach deck, A/C, free Wi-Fi, in-room safe, yoga and specialty tours to enhance your experience. The devotion to quality and service familiar to The SPA’s Canadian locations continues to surpass guest expectations from the moment your flight touches down. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa Retreat Hotel Negril
Heart Beat Seaside Retreat Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.