We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 stars!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West End Cliffs | Westmoreland, Negril ., Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 91 hotels in Negril
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“10 stars!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Welcome home!
This is not one of those resorts like Sandals or Couples or the Grand Palladium. You are not a number on a piece of paper. You have a name and your every wish or need is important at the Spa Retreat. If you want to feel like royalty and at ease and be pampered come to this place. You will feel like you have the whole place to yourself!

This was my first real vacation and our honeymoon. I did a lot of research trying to find the right place. I kept coming back to this on trip advisor and looking on their website. All the great reviews are true! And all the pictures in the world will not do this place justice! From the sunsets to the ocean side dining to the kaleidoscope of flowers and plants outside your door. It is breathtaking. They really out did themselves!

Just a couple tidbits of advice
-When booking anything like zip lining tours or renting scooters, etc. ask the front desk. They are very knowledgable and will get the best bang for your buck. Ask them anything really!
-Get some spa treatments!!!! Got the lemongrass scrub and massage and mani- pedi and reflexology and the hubby got a papaya sugar scrub and cucumber aloe wrap. We were in heaven! They are all outside overlooking the ocean-amazing!
-talk to the owners Shane and Christine or any of the employees about this place and how it was built. You get a real sense of all the love and details and hard work that went into this. It made me appreciate it even more.
-eat here a lot- the food is great! Pretty much everything on the menu is made in house.

And just quick shout out to everyone that made this honeymoon absolutely fabulous for us-
Heather, Kelly, Denisha, Michelle, Peter the foot doctor, Dwayne, Marcia, Tyrone, Delroy, Townis, Rocky, all the wait staff and all the Kitchen staff, cleaning staff and grounds keepers
Shane and Christine-for building this little piece of heaven in Jamaica
Love you guys! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review! Our team is so happy to learn that you felt "at home" during your honeymoon stay at The SPA Retreat. We trust that you enjoyed the overall experience including our fresh, organic cuisine and rejuvenating spa treatments. We await your return, one love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
182
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the SPA Retreat for our friends' wedding which was held on the resort. The property was at full capacity with guests attending the wedding but we still had plenty of privacy while enjoying the balcony on our roof top cottage. The pool/tiki bar and restaurant areas could have easily handled twice as many people as were present. The guest rooms are all brand new and very clean. They are quiet and the AC gets nice and cold thanks to the energy efficient, sustainable building techniques utilized by the resort's owner. The oceanfront views offered by this property's direct western exposure (especially the sunsets) were absolutely stunning. As other reviewers have mentioned, the staff really make this resort and will go out of their way to be sure everything is to your liking. The food at the Blue Mahoe Restaurant was great - all fresh ingredients with plenty of variety and healthy options. The spa services did not disappoint either. Definitely one of the best massages I've ever had.

Room Tip: The seaside cottages are closest to the ocean, but the roof top cottages and garden rooms have cover...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review, we are honored that you feel The SPA Retreat is the "Best Resort in Negril"! The entire SPA Family enjoyed getting to know your group and will look forward to the day when we can welcome you home again. Soon come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at Spa Retreat for a wedding in April this year. The place is gorgeous and immaculate. The employees are welcoming, warm, and eager to make your stay a perfect one. Playing with Rosa the diving dog is a bonus that you must see to believe. If there was a beach on the premises, i might never have left. I will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel! It was a pleasure to have you and your group as our guests for the celebration. Our team was honored to host and be a part of it! Until next time, one love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent the final three days of our visit to Jamaica at The SPA and were happy from the moment that we arrived throughout our entire stay.

- The property was visually stunning
- The accommodations were clean, well attended and comfortable - we stayed in one of the seaside cottages
- The food was amazing!! This coupled with the ambiance of outdoor dining and amazing sunsets each evening really contributed to our overall experience.
- The complementary snorkeling equipment is brilliant! I tried snorkeling for the first time and loved it.
- The staff was welcoming, accommodating and genuinely friendly; special kudos to Tyrone!

Recommendations

- Gym facilities would be a great add

Room Tip: The seaside cottages are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are especially thrilled to learn that you enjoyed the opportunity to experience snorkeling for the first time off the cliffs of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel! Your recommendation is greatly appreciated as we are continuously seeking ways to improve. We will look forward to your return, soon come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I spent more than a month searching for the perfect vacation for me and my boyfriend. His idea of the perfect vacation is hiking in the mountains of Honduras or Costa Rico. He likes to be amongst the locals, low key, experiencing the culture and the food, and roughing it. Mine is a 5 star on the beach with a bottomless glass of rum, eating quality food, dancing into the wee hours, and sleeping in. My idea of roughing it is The Holiday Inn. So I had to find something that would please us both. The Spa Retreat was IT!

From the moment we arrived we were given 5 star service. The drink slipped into our hands and the tour of the property, ending up at our cottage was the perfect start. It has the small secluded feel, combined with class. It's not gawdy or over the top, but everything was high quality. To get anywhere touristy you have to walk or taxi. The property is as beautiful as everyone else described, and the attention from the staff can't be beat. Not a single person walked past us without asking if there was anything we needed.

We walked all over Negril stopping at local places to eat, and supermarkets and souvenir stands. It was a hike to 7 mile beach but we walked the entire beach. I didn't see a single property on the beach that I would have wanted to stay in. A couple from Belgium had booked a place on the beach but left and came to The Spa Retreat. I'm sure they lost money but they didn't care and were very happy with their decision. We also walked to the lighthouse, watched (and participated in) cliff divining at Rick's. The roads don't have sidewalks but everyone was polite and honked. I never felt like anyone was going to run us over.

I took in several spa treatments (my kind of vacation:) which were all heavenly. I'd say we at about half of our meals at the Blue Mahoe and while everything was superb, we also wanted to experience some of the other recommended restaurants, as well as some of the small "huts" along the road and on the beach. Our favorite Jerk was at 3 Dives. If you like really spicy food, the Jerk sauce was to die for!!

We only stayed 5 nights departing for home March 31st. Before we departed they asked how they could have improved our stay and the only thing I could suggest was maybe putting a lighted make up mirror in the bathroom. It didn't even seem fair to be critical about that since I didn't feel the need to wear much make up while I was there. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing The SPA Retreat, we are pleased to have provided an enjoyable experience for you both! Our team strives to provide exceptional customer service and we are thrilled to have received a "5 star" rating from you. Even the slightest suggestion is appreciated and for that we thank you. Looking forward to your return home, one love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpclapham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife and I spent a week in Negril, splitting our time between The SPA Retreat and another cliffside boutique. Much of what I've read in others' reviews about feeling like having the place to oneselves held true for us, even though both villas on either side of us were occupied and we saw plenty of other guests. I must emphatically echo raves regarding the level of service. The combination of tranquility and service almost made it feel more like a B&B than a boutique.
Getting a cell phone upon check in is brilliant and was invaluable on our few forays into town. Complimentary snorkel gear was a plus as well- nothing but reefs surrounding the property. First impression was that the place was brand new- the facilities and grounds are meticulously kept. We stayed in a seaside cottage and had a good view of the pool, faux beach area, passing sea traffic and glowing sunset. We agree with another reviewer that it would be nice to have direct access from the room patio to the pool area, but were not bothered to step across to the pathway (or walk the extra 20 feet from our front door). We were bothered, however, by our bathroom counter's proximity to the shower step down. Two sinks are a definite plus, but the one closest to the shower is a bit of a fall hazard or turned ankle risk. The floor tiles in the room get a bit slippery, too. Noticed that at the entrance to the restaurant as well, right at the transition between the more textured outdoor to smooth indoor tiles. I did note a slippery when wet sign appeared there after an afternoon shower. I left a seperate review for the restaurant and will repeat here that the best meal I had during my time in Negril was at the onsite restaurant. Highly recommend the coconut shrimp appetizer, curry conch, snapper in coconut milk, jerk snapper wrap. Skip the burger, fish & chips, and other fare that you could get anywhere and stick with the local dishes and chef's recommendations. Respect to bar man Dwayne for lunch menu recommendations and a delicious and-- using key limes-- labor-intensive mojito. Kemp and Tyrone were a pleasure to chat with, and thanks to Heather for arranging for jetskis for us. Wonder if I could have negotiated the price for them, as it seemed we could have gotten them much cheaper on the beach, but they arrived at the hotel waterfront promptly and were in great shape. Highly recommend a post-afternoon shower ride when the water is the calmest, offering the double advantage of speed and sea life visibility. We didn't partake in any of the spa treatments but sitting in the "beach area" by the pool is an exercise of tranquility in and of itself. Great lines, few distractions. When it gets too hot, there's a bench in the pool that's great for reading or simply soaking in the shade of the trellis. Also had a blast jumping and swimming with the resident canine Rosa. She's a sweetheart and out of sight mostly. Definitely some road noise- trucks, motorcycles, etc. and general commotion from a bar next door to the restaurant and some kind of local hang out across the street from the spa, but usually only loud for a couple of hours in the early evening. Once the A/C was on and windows shut, sinking into sleep on the comfy bed was no problem, mon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy that you found the secret of "Negril's Newest Gem" and must agree, the secluded nature of the property makes The SPA Retreat the perfect hideaway for rest and rejuvenation. Your feedback is most appreciated as we are always seeking ways to improve. Until next time, one love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

After many lovely Caribbean holidays,we finally decided on The Spa Retreat in Negril for our 25th anniversary.We stayed for a total of 8 days from late March into early April.The initial impression of the facility is Wow! Upon arrival we were greeted by Shane and Christine (the owners) along with Heather and Kelly (front office) and Rosa the "Village Mascot" the sweetest dog ever.
The Spa Retreat is breathtaking with its walled terraces and magnificent outdoor dining area.Our accomodation was an impeccable seaside cottage with a thatched roof and view of a beautiful beach area and the deep blue waters of the Caribbean.The garden foilage is a picture and is beautifully maintained by the Gardener.Unfortunately,I can't remember his name.Each morning he greeted us with a smile and hello.
We opted for the All Inclusive Plan for our meals,snacks and beverages.The food was absolutely delicious,fresh and portioned adequately.The servers: Marcia,Monique Camille and Veronica were always pleasant and prompt.Thanks also to Kaneisha,Aleisha and Delroy for wonderful service and attentiveness.The selection of foods was outstanding;if you wanted special items not appearing on the menu you just asked and the chefs would provide it.The chefs were wonderful-hello Sheldon!
Bartenders Dwayne,Kemp and Tyrone provided a wide variety of libations and specialty drinks at the bar ,beach or room service.
Speaking of rooms,our thatched roof cottage was meticulously kept by the housekeeping staff.It was a large air conditioned hexagonal shaded structure with a beautiful cross breeze.(Air conditioning wasn't used much).There was always an abundance of clean towels and toiletries.
The atmosphere is one of complete relaxation,an oasis to a calmer,less stressful experience.The salt water pool maintained by Rocky,Tounice and "Rosa" was a perfect spot to melt away tension.
Donna made use of the spa and enjoyed an artful message by Denisha.If Reflexology is your interest,Peter is absolutely perfect.He even suggested that a big kid (me) was present at the resort.Imagine that!
An interesting event takes place everyday between 4:30-6:00 pm.Cocktail time with an exhibition of Cliff Diving by Retreat Cliff diving expert ...Rosa.This great dog will actually dive into the Caribbean with anyone that is willing to dive with her.She provides so many laughs and so much love that her spirit becomes part of you.
Should you wish to "stray" off the resort;our friend Jackson will arrange taxi service to all points.Interestingly enough,we left the resort for 2 hours to see another Negril attraction and couldn't wait to get back "home" to the Spa Retreat.
In the words of Anthony (friends of the owners),"Jamaica is truly a magical land".
Lastly, we thank Howie our driver for transporting us to and from the airport.We look foward to seeing him on a return trip.
One Love,
Donna & Gerry

Room Tip: We enjoyed the seaside cottage experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi Donna & Gerry, thank you for your glowing review! We are honored that you chose The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel for your 25th Anniversary stay and proud to have provided a "magical" setting of tranquility for you both. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you home again soon. One love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel

Address: West End Cliffs | Westmoreland, Negril ., Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Negril
#1 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#1 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#1 Business Hotel in Negril
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#18 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true luxury escape located on the West End Cliffs of Negril, Jamaica and located on nearly 2 acres of oceanfront; this unique property extends from white sandy beach into exotic grey cliffs overlooking the vibrant turquoise hues of the Caribbean Sea. 18 Handcrafted stone cottages with spectacular tropical gardens and cliff side dining at the Blue Mahoe Restaurant will enhance your SPA escape. The SPA Retreat features an open-air day spa offering classic aesthetic treatments with a Jamaican flair. The adults only, SPA Retreat features a sea water pool, sandy beach deck, A/C, free Wi-Fi, in-room safe, yoga and specialty tours to enhance your experience. The devotion to quality and service familiar to The SPA’s Canadian locations continues to surpass guest expectations from the moment your flight touches down. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotel.de, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa Retreat Hotel Negril
Heart Beat Seaside Retreat Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;