We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what the Doctor ordered” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West End Cliffs | Westmoreland, Negril ., Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels in Negril
Kanata, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just what the Doctor ordered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I came to the spa retreat for R&R. And that is just what I did! This place if beautiful! The staff is beautiful and the food incredible!!! Christine and Shane have out done themselves with their 3rd spa. There staff represents them extremely well. Friendly, they remember your name and always want to make sure you are fine!! I am here alone for stress release and I couldn't have gone to a better place to do this! The resort is beautiful!!! I can't say enough about it! There is no price on your health and I would do this all again! I have had 6 spa services while I was here and Denisha is incredible.....the best massages I have ever had! Thanks Denisha! Life is good when you wake up every morning to the sound of the ocean and the blue sky! Thank you for a wonderful stay....I don't want to go home!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, but I stayed in the Seaside cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for the review! We are so happy to have provided a platform for you to reconnect with yourself and relax! As a health and wellness destination, our team is proud to offer an experience of total mind and body rejuvenation. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, one love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    22
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
186
21
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Spa Retreat in February and were delighted with the experience. It was our first trip to Jamaica, and we want to go back and stay at The Spa Retreat again. The service is truly amazing. Tyrone, Dwayne, Kemp, Camile, all were so friendly and helpful -- it really made the visit especially nice. Audley was patient and kind - helping tote us where ever we wished to go on the island. Loved the food, too -- consistently fine.

We stayed in a sea side cottage and had one of the most relaxing vacations ever. We loved having the doors open to the ocean view and appreciated the understated elegance. We learned that the wood-working (which is exquisite) was all hand-made by the owner - which made the simple beauty of the place even more special.

And Rosa! We loved playing with her! Such a sweet dog.

Hope we get back sooner rather than later!

Michelle and Greg Witt

Room Tip: Don't think you could go wrong with any - but we did love our sea side cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing The SPA Retreat for your first trip to Jamaica, what an honor! Our team is excited to learn that this was one of your "most relaxing vacations ever" and looks forward to welcoming you back home in the future. Soon come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riemst, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

First we booked in another hotel in Negril but did not like that. Through Trip advisor we selected the Spa Retreat in Negril and after a look we decided to book the rest of our holiday there. All expectations we hoped to find matched: nice, new built and clean ! rooms, friendly staff, very excellent fresh made / home made food, located on the beach: a real holiday feeling. We stayed in the sea side villa on the beach. The bed was a queen size so puzzling how to sleep. King sized bed are available off the beach in bungalows facing the ocean, but we prefer the beach view when waking up. There is no sandy beach at this part of Negril but the resort offers enough possibilities to relax or swim. Swimming in sea is possible when using the stairs. It's a couples only so no playing kids in front of your bungalow. Just outside the city centre of Negril and not so far from Rick's cafe.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your review! It is our pleasure to provide each of our guests with a unique and intimate experience during their time in Negril. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed the service, cuisine and cliff side setting. Until next time, one love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The service is here is impeccable. All of the staff is highly trained, efficient and can easily meet any guest expectation or request. Kemp, Tyrone, Dwayne, Camile, Staceyann make an effort with the guest. They are friendly and get to know you while still allowing you to enjoy your privacy. Kelly and Heather are available on site or by cell throughout your stay.
The owners, Shane and Christine, are on site. Shane is accessible and friendly with all guests.

We stayed in a roof top cottage. While the rooms are sparsely furnished, the bed is comfortable and linens are of good quality. We thought luggage racks would be useful. Our room was extremely clean. The covered porch has 2 zero gravity chairs and a table. We used this area every morning for coffee and to escape the heat of the afternoon sun. Beautiful views from the porch.

The grounds and common areas are very well maintained and clean.

Food is good. We elected the all-inclusive plan(no alcohol). Be sure to review the menu and how you spend your food dollar before electing this option.

Rosa. I am not a big dog person and suffer from allergies. I did have a little concern when I read other reviews about a dog being on property. Heather asked upon arrival if she would be a problem. I did mention I had allergies and if I was bothered I would let her know. We had no issues with Rosa; she is a sweet dog. If she comes near you, she will just quietly lie down unless you are looking to engage with her. She really is not a problem.

We had a total of 4 spa services with Michele and Denetra. All four were relaxing and enjoyable.

We elected to use the available transportation to and from the airport. Audley is on time, soft spoken and kind.

The resort is quiet! If you are looking for any sort of night life on property, this is not the place for you. My husband and I are not wild and crazy late nighters and did chuckle that many nights we were the last people at the restaurant/bar.

The Spa Retreat is perfect if you have high expectations and are looking for a quiet place to relax. The only real negative of the week was leaving. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of Jamaica's #1 hotel as rated by Tripadvisor users! We truly appreciate the feedback provided by you and all of our guests who have so thoughtfully taken the time to offer comments about their experience. Our team is happy to learn that you enjoyed the food, ambiance, service and time spent with the lovely Rosa. In addition, luggage racks are en route to The SPA Retreat and will surely be in your room for your next visit! Until next time, one love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negril, Jamaica
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Well I am back again to review my new favorite spot on earth. I took a friend there for lunch and it did not disppoint. I am so impressed with the level of customer service there, even if you are not a resident and paying guest. I have eaten there 7 times now and I cannot find a flaw. Impeccable service, food to die for. I just can't say enough good things about this place,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are truly grateful for your support of Blue Mahoe Restaurant at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel. Our team makes every effort to provide an unforgettable experience for each and every guest! Until next time, one love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

What a great place... This place is the perfect place if you are looking to experience true Nigril, Jamaican style. Away from chaos at "all inclusive resorts", yet close enough to tons of Nigril sightseeing spots. You can even walk to the Rick's (40min) if you are feeling like cruising. Beautiful and extremely clean ocean-view cottages and rooftops, very relaxing atmosphere, and this place just makes you want to smile and take it all in. Staff there are so nice and helpful. They become your friends. Some of us hung out by the bar that oversees the ocean at nights, talking about jamaican culture, politics, and really about anything. Not to mention their restaurant serves amazing Jamaican dishes. Anything from seafood omelet to crab salad sandwich, even jerk chicken Alfredo pasta... We will definitely be back when we return to Nigril. Most definitely!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are honored that you feel we offer an experience that is "true Negril, Jamaican style". We look forward to welcoming you back for another week of peace and tranquility in the near future! One love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This property was everything we hoped for and more! The location is off the beaten path and the boutique nature of the property made us feel like we were on our own private getaway. Everything about the hotel was beautiful - the view, the rooms, the amenities. The place is quiet and perfect for a getaway but not if you're looking for a party (we weren't). We spent our days eating in the Blue Mahoe, reading by the water, and practicing yoga at sunset.

We were initially concerned with not having the traditional beachfront but our seaside cottage overlooking the cliff and water was unbelievable. The grounds had beautiful woodwork in the rooms, the floors, even the chairs in the restaurant!

The service was impeccable, everyone was welcoming, and between the staff and the owners we felt like we were staying with friends and family, not at a hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed good. But spring for a seaside cottage if you can - we thought it was absolutel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiekeeley, Public Relations Manager at The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for expressing your kind words about your recent stay with us in Negril, Jamaica! The SPA Family strives to offer exceptional customer service and provide a "home away from home" experience for all of our guests. Until next time, one love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel

Address: West End Cliffs | Westmoreland, Negril ., Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Negril
#1 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#1 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#1 Business Hotel in Negril
#16 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true luxury escape located on the West End Cliffs of Negril, Jamaica and located on nearly 2 acres of oceanfront; this unique property extends from white sandy beach into exotic grey cliffs overlooking the vibrant turquoise hues of the Caribbean Sea. 18 Handcrafted stone cottages with spectacular tropical gardens and cliff side dining at the Blue Mahoe Restaurant will enhance your SPA escape. The SPA Retreat features an open-air day spa offering classic aesthetic treatments with a Jamaican flair. The adults only, SPA Retreat features a sea water pool, sandy beach deck, A/C, free Wi-Fi, in-room safe, yoga and specialty tours to enhance your experience. The devotion to quality and service familiar to The SPA’s Canadian locations continues to surpass guest expectations from the moment your flight touches down. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa Retreat Hotel Negril
Heart Beat Seaside Retreat Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.