We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Gardens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pure Garden Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pure Garden Resort to your Saves list
Pure Garden Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norman Manley Blvd | Next to the Time Square Mall, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pure Gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Pure Gardens was a great deal from Priceline.com. I stayed from 2/5 to 2/11. I managed to snag a double bed room with AC, and cable. The hotel grounds are sooo lovely. It is very quiet and peaceful. My only complaint would be the low water pressure. Sometimes I would have to wait until 9am to shower, but no worries. Overall, I would suggest it to everyone!

Room Tip: The curtains are see-thru, so be aware when you engage in any naughty behavior(s).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    35
    8
    8
    10
See reviews for
15
25
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I had a wonderful time at PureGarden. The staff is very accomodating and pleasant. I have been here a number of times and the improvements are beautiful. When I asked about pool loungers (it seemed previous owners might have removed them), Vincent got 4 of them the next day, plus new tables and chairs. My room was redecorated and was lovely. I am surprised about the negative comments. I had no one who was loud or blaring music. Not sure I would agree with a taxi driver about this place. Sometimes we forget we are in a different country and water can be a problem. You want perfection, go to an all-inclusive, although I'm sure they too have issues on occasion. As far as price of places on the beach; I question whether they can match or be less than here. I don't like the beach side because of the noise so that's why I stay here. One love.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed from Dec. 27th 2012 to Jan. 10 2013. Had a great time. I get the feeling that the place was allowed to run down a bit before new owners took over. Vincent and his staff are doing what they can to make improvements. The city of Negril is cutting water at night to the entire beach. While we were there the hotel installed an additional water tank and pump. After that we had water pressure all night. (I still kept a couple of large water bottles beside the toilet but never had to use them.) We've stayed at 4 other hotels in Negril that are comparatively priced and we'll be going back to Pure Garden Resort. Vincent also took care of the WiFi issue, Thanks! As with all of our trips to Jamaica: Show Respect to get Respect! (Even if you must occasionally remind someone who's trying to take advantage of you of the Golden Rule.)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It's not the location per say, but the way it is being run that is the problem. Like many people have observed, this place seems to let out rooms to locals. They are extremely loud (and I mean their talking and yelling - this is aside from the blasting music), and there are sketchy looking people (with and without shoes) entering and exiting the rooms all night. Some of the guys are clearly the dealers I try to dodge on the streets.

The facilities are terrible. Out of eight days, there was no water in the bathroom for 4. Two other days it was a trickle. Only two days did the water flow enough to feel comfortable. Don't ask how we managed! Not that we watched too much TV, but the transmission was out most of the time. The much talked about swimming pool was a dirty green color! The sea water looked a million times cleaner!( of course it has salt content, but I'm saying color-wise)

I stayed here, only and only because of a Priceline package. There are several places, costing more or less the same on the beach. These have tiny, pretty pools and have the restuarant/bar staff look after your belongings if you wish to swim in the sea. Also, having a restaurant on site will definitely be a plus, which pure garden lacks.

Lastly, Keri Ann at the front desk - very rude! Most of the other employees were very nice and courteous though.

Room Tip: For what it's worth, get one on the higher level and a room farthest from the stairs, keeping yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The past reviews do not live up to even descent standards. Rooms were moderately clean. Beds were uncomfortable. No room phones so anything additional needed you have to walk to the office. No washcloths were available. Water pressure was terribly low, sometimes no water at all. Wall tiles were popping off in the shower Customer service from the front desk was poor. WiFi connection wasn't consistent. According to one of the taxi drivers the also rent out rooms for locals to live, which explains the constant loud playing of cartoons on the tv from the room next to us. Only good thing about this resort is the location which is across the street from the beach, food, taxis, and duty free mall. Will never stay here again or recommend to anyone. Priceline should definitely remove this hotel from there list of places to stay in Negril.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Since I was there last Jan., I have learned it isn't the Bungalo anymore. There have been several owner changes. I finally contacted the place to reserve next Jan. I was told it is now Pure Resort. I will still use Bungalo as most drivers know the place. I still love it there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I've been coming back to this hotel for a number of years and this year it is under new management. I was concerned not knowing the new people running the hotel but I can report that Ms Onie and her staff are wonderful people who ensured my every need was met. This hotel is kept very clean and the trees and lush garden are second to none. They work very hard here to ensure your stay in Jamaica is hassle free - well done!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pure Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pure Garden Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd | Next to the Time Square Mall, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#25 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pure Garden Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard room Relax in comfortAuthentic Jamaican-style room complete with all the amenities you need.- Room with Kitchenette For all your cooking needsIncludes all the features of a standard room plus a fully-equipped kitchenette.Main facilities - Cable TV - Ready for your viewing pleasure. WiFi internet access - All rooms are WiFi-ready for browsing the internet. Free parking - All signed-in guests have free access to the resort's parking lot. Safe-deposit box - All guests can request access to the safe-deposit boxes at the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Pure Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalo Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pure Garden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.