We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priceline was sooooo wrong for having this resort for bidding ....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pure Garden Resort

Save Saved
You added Pure Garden Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pure Garden Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Bungalo Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 91 hotels in Negril
Great Lakes, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Priceline was sooooo wrong for having this resort for bidding ....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

The past reviews do not live up to even descent standards. Rooms were moderately clean. Beds were uncomfortable. No room phones so anything additional needed you have to walk to the office. No washcloths were available. Water pressure was terribly low, sometimes no water at all. Wall tiles were popping off in the shower Customer service from the front desk was poor. WiFi connection wasn't consistent. According to one of the taxi drivers the also rent out rooms for locals to live, which explains the constant loud playing of cartoons on the tv from the room next to us. Only good thing about this resort is the location which is across the street from the beach, food, taxis, and duty free mall. Will never stay here again or recommend to anyone. Priceline should definitely remove this hotel from there list of places to stay in Negril.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    23
    4
    6
    10
See reviews for
6
15
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Since I was there last Jan., I have learned it isn't the Bungalo anymore. There have been several owner changes. I finally contacted the place to reserve next Jan. I was told it is now Pure Resort. I will still use Bungalo as most drivers know the place. I still love it there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I've been coming back to this hotel for a number of years and this year it is under new management. I was concerned not knowing the new people running the hotel but I can report that Ms Onie and her staff are wonderful people who ensured my every need was met. This hotel is kept very clean and the trees and lush garden are second to none. They work very hard here to ensure your stay in Jamaica is hassle free - well done!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Our second time to Negril and this time we stayed the full last week of January. Glad we chose to stay across the road from the beach at the Bungalo this time.
Much quieter than the beach hotels - no loud music at night! Manager Onie and relief manager Vincent both VERY helpful.and did everything to accommodate and help us...including the use of her phone (no charge) to call our son in Canada due to an emergency. She also provided us with a bar fridge when it came available and fulfilled many other requests. We had a spacious room (14B) with two queen beds, color TV/remote, air con, screens on windows, good cross ventilation and a standard bathroom with lots of hot water on demand. The mattress was a bit on the hard side for our liking.
Nisha the room attendant kept our place spotless. Richard and William took turns for security and were always attentive and pleasant. The gardener, whose name we didn't ask, kept the grounds immaculate. I especially like the mature bamboo and palms that provide a fair amount of shade. We especially liked the option of the large pool --- and a respite from the beach activities. It was surprisingly, largely underused. We also made friends with many other travelers at the Bungalo, some have been returning year after year, others with children, yet others solo travellers. All we spoke with gave good feedback about their experiences. Though there is no restaurant service presently,there are many options for meals: from Biggs' jerk chicken stand (freshest & tastiest), and next to it Helen's Blue Mountain Coffee shop (great home cooking especially the fresh fish and best coffee as Helen roasts her own )--- located a five minute walk away from town on "land" side of the road. The Sweet Spot close by is also top notch. And there's endless restaurants on the beach: high prices don't always equate with great food, but you will catch the sunset. There are also two convenience stores across the road from each other and next to the Bungalo for the snacks, rum, etc . All in all, we had a great holiday and will return to the Bungalo, next time for at least two weeks, and a room with a kitchen. The Bungalo is also well situated and is only about a one kilometer walk into town. Your choice of walking along the beach or going down the road.
We take a respectful attitude towards the beach vendors, taxi drivers and everyone in between. If we're interested, we'll take a look, bargain or just say, "no thanks, man". In no time the locals know who you are and what you're about. Simply put, they're just trying to make a living. "No problem!"
. Our attitude is: you show respect, you'll get respect. And Jamaicans understand respect!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I've been going to Jamaica since 1986. Bungalo has been my "home away from home" for a number of years now. The staff and owner are just great. The room is comfortable, clean and large. It isn't too noisy and across the street from the beach, easily accessed. The property is lovely with a very nice swimming pool at the rear. And, the price is always right. The only problem is that occasionally the visitors aren't aware they are at a nice hotel; they don't realize they don't have free rein to do what they want. Respect. Ann

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Just stayed here in late January, 2012. For room 15A we had strong hot shower, clean room, screens on all the windows, AC was fine and very friendly staff and management. We felt comfortable leaving our important thing in the room. Pretty setting and fabulous pool area with the ocean just across the street. Mrs Barrett, the manager is working hard to please the guests, did everything she could to make our stay enjoyable. Yes she is pretty determined to keep out strangers for the safety of the paying guests, and some of our visiting family found this inconvenient. Perhaps some adjustments needed there. Mrs Barrett found us a refrigerator for the second half of our stay at no extra charge. We would definitely stay there again. Recommend, you go to Kuyaba or Bar-B Barn just across the street (or many others) for meals, no restaurant/ bar operating at this hotel.

Wireless internet access, important to me, which was no extra charge, (unlike Cuba) had limited range, but once you got it the service was fast. I did a check of high end hotels, and found every hotel in the area, even the fancy ones, lacking in good wireless internet coverage. Not a unique problem to Sun Garden.

Side note: In Negril, and perhaps Jamaica, all things take longer, especially anything to do with restaurants. So be prepared to relax, take a deep breath, bring good conversation or a book!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Well we just back from the best honeymoon ever!! I can only find one word to decribe our honeymoon AWSOME!! We went to the Bungalo on the recommendations of some close friends and boy we were not disappointed.
This was our first trip to Jamaica so we really didn't know what to expect [Or for that matter out of Bismark.] We were greeted by a very frindly manager named Onie and was she ever terrific!
Though they were very busy upon check in, she gave us her undivided attention and made us feel right at home. We had heard horror stories on the plane about being ripped off by the locals and we were assured by Onie that they provided very good security and that kind of stuff that happed on the beach did not happed here.
I probaly speak for many when i say that the beach can be very trying, peddlers everywhere and everywhere you turn people are trying to sell you something!!!
It was such a comfort to be able to get off the beach and away from all that hustle and bustle.
The accomadations were nice, nothing real special, however the cleaning staff did a great job making sure that we were comfortable. Though they did not have an operationl kitchen the Sun Beach resturaunt occross the street had faboulus food at very reasonable rates.
While speaking with other tourist we came to appreacate how lucky we were to NOT being in a beach hotel. Though the view the other hotels offer might be great, the seclusion and privacy the Bungalo offerd far out weighted the extra money that they charged on the beach and really who would want to pay to get hassled.
Onie was correct we did not get hassled once, and we found the pool area a grat place to go when you didn't want the hassle of the beach. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to enjoy the tropics while not getting all the hassle, very quite and romanic place!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pure Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pure Garden Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Bungalo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#50 Business Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pure Garden Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard room Relax in comfortAuthentic Jamaican-style room complete with all the amenities you need.- Room with Kitchenette For all your cooking needsIncludes all the features of a standard room plus a fully-equipped kitchenette.Main facilities - Cable TV - Ready for your viewing pleasure. WiFi internet access - All rooms are WiFi-ready for browsing the internet. Free parking - All signed-in guests have free access to the resort's parking lot. Safe-deposit box - All guests can request access to the safe-deposit boxes at the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Pure Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalo Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pure Garden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.