I staied at this hotel for two days to meet my mother who lives in Italy for a short vacation. As soon as we got there we understood that we made a terrible choice in terms of accommodation. At a level that after one day we decided to leave and spend our holiday elsewhere.
The whole property seemed a work in progress, with men working on the roof (of our room), and using drills near the restaurant to fix a tube that was falling down. The place was old and deteriorating, it was messy and in many areas dirty. The only receptionist is the British lady who runs the place, but they have a 24h guard.
I could easily write a whole review solely on the room. Starting with the good things, the bed was confortable and the view was rather nice. That's about it with the good things. The closet was dark and dirty and the hangars were of the same kind I get from the dry cleaner in Brooklyn. They have the same "we love our costumers" piece of paper on them, and they were way over-used. The room had no phone, and was poorly lit. The fridge, which contained only water upon our arrival, froze the water.
There was no window expect for two shades which did not completely close, and a glass which did not open at all. Bugs were free to enter through said shades.
The bathroom deserves a separate chapter, but I'm including it here. The shower was ok (high pressure and warm water, although this might be explained by the fact that we were the only guests–more on that later). There was no shelf whatsoever and the sink, which was also full of dead bugs, was the only place where one could place toothbrush and make-up (which you do not need at this hotel!). The sink also leaned and was not properly fixed, which made it impossible to put things on it without them falling down.
Although the British lady (the manager) and the staff tried to be nice and accommodating, they offered a rather poor service. There was no lifeguard on the beach, and waiters at the restaurant wore no uninform (although some of them wore a t-shirt with the hotel's logo). At one point we asked for a knife to cut some fruit we bought outside the hotel (they had none at the time), and we were given a large (obviously dirty) kitchen knife with which I looked like I was going to commit a homicide. Later I realized there was no other guest and therefore I could have not killed anybody.
The restaurant was one of the lowest quality restaurant I dined at. And I've had some nasty stuff around the world.
The first breakfast we decided to try was the Jamaican traditional breakfast for lack of a better alternative. We had no expectations, and it was fairly good. We were not served any orange juice, but only some coffee.
For lunch, we decided to have lobster, which it was advised by some folks from Chicago. After a long way we recived a clearly undercooked lobster from which we had troubles getting the pulp out. We also had troubles talking to each other, because the drill was 5ft from us.
For dinner, we had some local chicken. The food was tasty but required us to wait more than 40 minutes with no appetizer or bread, which was not available. We were the only people dining at the restaurant which felt kinda lonely.
The restaurant was also overpriced compared to the hotel we moved to, which was amazingly good.
In the afternoon we asked for some fruit, and we recived a few Bananas for $3, which we both disliked.
There is no entertainment whatsoever. Being the only guests doesn't help either.
The location was nice but not perfect as other reviews suggested. The hotel sits right between two large resorts (one of them being the renowned Sandals) and there is not much to do around the area. Further south on the beach, were the second hotel was located, there were a lot of mini-markets and restaurants. The locations would be nice if you were interested in going to the water park which was at the other side to the street.
The 7mile Beach is rather amazing, but the part of the beach where Our Past Times is located is only average. A line of floats kept the bathers in a restricted area, outside of which large boats were anchored and many PWCs ran around. The place was not quite at all.
A lady that performed massages took up a large portion of the small beach, and the shade was limited. The towels provided were however really soft.
The pricing is well below the area average (although not that low). I advise you to stay less in a better place than longer at Our Past Times. There, you look forward to the day you leave, and the extra days do not help to make you feel better.
After we decided to leave and confirmed a room at the Chalera Inn (amazing resort) I asked the British lady to refund us at least the remaining nights. After a long discussion she disagreed to do so, blaming it on a director to whom she refused to let me speak.
I don't know if there is any good room, but to better your chances of getting one, avoid room 20...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative. We're sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. Yes, we were making some renovations to the hotel while you were there. We are so sorry that you were disturbed by the noise. Since your stay in March 2012, we've made improvements to the hotel. If you would consider giving us a second chance, please get in touch. We'll do our best to make it up to you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.