We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gardenia Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Gardenia Resort to your Saves list
The Gardenia Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Daniel Village Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Boston MA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

I stayed at Daniel Beach for spring break 2007, and it was a great experience. The hotel was absolutely beautiful. The room was comfy, AC worked great, and we even got american chanels on TV. I read complaints from people and i have no clue what they were talking about. I had a great experience. Only problem was the water pressure was low, and if you took a showa when alot of other ppl were taking one the hot water ran out quikly. I think that was more of an island problem than a hotel problem though. The staff was very nice, friendly and helpful to us the entire time. They helped us when we got locked out of our room and were all around nice the entire time. There was 24 hour security, and they were also very helpful and friendly. Bottom line, Daniel beach was a great hotel, and a great location. I would recomend it any day. I would especially recommend it for spring breakers. I had a blast and will definately be there in 2008. Oh yea.. just laugh and joke with the cab drivers outside, you can get them to take you where you need to go for about 100 JA. Dont pay anymore.

  • Liked — It was directly across the street from the beach.
  • Disliked — The water pressure was bad. And they only gave us towels, No face clothes.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    9
    9
    14
See reviews for
8
13
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
boston, mass
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2007

Daniel Village gives you a touch of the Jamaican Jungle. Furnished with coconut trees and colorful bushes, this quaint and cozy hotel has no distractions (room phones, televisions, alarm clocks, but they do have air conditioners) so you can truly relax and enjoy your vacation. I highly recommend the all inclusive package because the free drinks are strong, and the food is EXCELLENT!! The staff is amazing (helpful, and friendly). The pool is nicely located in front of the bar. We stayed a week and were sad to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2007

Love it. Perfect place to stay in Jamaica. Staff is friendly and the rooms are nice. REal Jamaica feel.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2006

My stay at Daniel's was fabulous. The staff was very hospitable and accomodating. The rooms were clean, spacious and relaxing. The grounds was well kept and secure. The security guard was friendly and informative.

  • Liked — The clean, spacious room
  • Disliked — No entertainment on the grounds
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2006

We love Daniel Beach! We have been going there for about 5 years. Sophia and the rest of the staff are the nicest people I've ever met. Prices are great, some of the rooms have kitchens and some don't. Water pressure is a little low but that happens all over the island. They also have 2 ocean front rooms that are 15 feet from the shore. They come with kitchen, bathroom, dining area and numerous beds. We have rented that the last 2 times we were down there and worked perfect!!!!! Watch the sunset from your patio! Security is not an issue. We have never had a problem at this resort. Will be back again February of 2007.

  • Liked — clean
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2006

Daniel village was what i expected, it was small, easy and relaxed. Just like jamaica. I have read a few of the other reviews moaning about roaches and bugs but these people don't understand that all hotels in tropical countries whether they be 5 star all inclusive hotels or a 1 star B&B's there will always be insects in your room, get over it!!! Another thing is, Daniel village doesn't propose that it's a hot shot hotel it's what you pay for. Going to a country like jamaica means that you use the hotels as a place to sleep not to lounge around all day by the pool. If you want an all inclusive, caged in hotel, then go to couples or sandals.,

  • Liked — friendly
  • Disliked — expensive wash service
  • Tips/Secrets — Get the rum friut punch, its ace!
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2006

I stayed in this hotel with 8 other people for spring break. It was nice for spring break, but not for families. It was clean, we had some problems with water not working, but that is an island issue not specific to the hotel. It has taxi drivers outside all of the time, they are really good guys will take you anywhere for $1 don't pay any more. The hotel maids brought clean towels everyday and were really nice. I cut my foot and the front desk lady helped me with first aid, really sweet woman. The pool is nice, pool bar is ok doesn't have a huge selection but that is NO PROBLEM MON because there are plenty of bars. Legends restaurant was really good, there is tons to do in Negril, never boring. I wouldn't bring a family here only because security was a little sketchy. Guys in the resort were a little sketchy didn't know if they worked there or just hung out but they said some things that made me think twice. Keep your stuff locked (room and luggage) and be assertive. Only get into taxi's with red lisence plates they are the safest, don't stop to talk to people on the streets, and always bargain for the best deals!! E-mail me if you have any questions about this hotel. I would stay here again if I had to.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gardenia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardenia Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Daniel Village Resort)
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gardenia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gardenia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daniel Village Hotel Negril
Daniel Village Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gardenia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.