We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the best value in both worlds...cliffs and beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset on the Cliffs Resort

Save Saved
You added Sunset on the Cliffs Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset on the Cliffs Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West End Road, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Coral Seas Cliff Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 91 hotels in Negril
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“Get the best value in both worlds...cliffs and beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

For those of you who have never been to Negril, it is basically divided into 2 sections.
One being the stretch of a sandy beach known as 7 mile beach(not really that long.more like 4)
and further south of the downtown core is the cliffs region or more commonly called the west end.
This hotel also has a sister property "Sunset on the Beach" which is the very last hotel at the
most southern end of 7 mile beach. Both hotels offer reciprocal rights to a free shuttle to and from
each other. They will drop you off and pick you up. You can enjoy your complimentary (very good) hot breakfast at either resort.The distance by car is no more than a ten minute drive. Some brave guests do walk the road, but it is quite treacherous and always walk facing traffic here!
We stayed on the cliffs for 2 weeks visiting the beach resort every third day. The beach is full of hagglers and husslers...but I do find that the location on the beach is the "quietest" one. further it is not as narrow as other parts. If you do visit the beach, do know that you can charge all food and drinks to your room at the cliffs and vice versa.
There are only 16 rooms in this resort all come with oceanfront spectacular views.They come with a large private balcony to sit and enjoy the stunning sunsets. ( there are other rooms facing the garden which are for long term stays one month or more)
Beds ar queen or 2 doubles. Comfortable. The rooms are large with a spacious bathroom. Lots of closet space. The rooms also come with good A/C , ceiling fan., and cable TV.
We were provided with plenty of bath towels, mats, and beach towels on request at the front desk. There are no coffee makers in the rooms. Breakfast starts around 7:30 am so if you are an early riser and want your coffee, I would suggest you request a coffee maker for the room as we did. This resort surprisingly provides the "real" jamaican blue mountain coffee. Excellent!
There is also a safe in every room that comes free of charge. Lose your key and you will be out
$125...so don't lose it!
There are 2 floors of the ocean front rooms. 8 on one side and 8 on another with the bar and pool
area in betweeen. The quietest rooms would be the corner suites far south or north. We stayed
in room 705 corner suite second floor. The view is slightly better than the lower...not by much.
The women seem to feel safer on the second floor for obvious reasons.
Good hot and cold water that you can drink. Water pressure is better on the lower floor than the
second floor. If you require a vigorous shower then do not book the second floor.
The complimentary breakfast is good and served very quickly. You simply just sign for your food.
All our meals were served in less than 20 minutes which is outstanding by Jamaican standards.
Maid service was there when we needed it. We requested maid service every third day. You can have it daily, but not required in my opinion. It was all good.
Breakfast is served with a spectacular view of the ocean and cliffs. We ate lunch and had a few
snacks here which was good, but there are far too many other restaurants that you will want to
visit while staying here. As in previous reviews, it is true that "De Bar" across th street makes about the best jerk chicken I have ever had. "Sips and Bites" next door is another good place to eat. Excellent curried goat and other dishes.
The pool is kidney shaped and clean. There is hardly ever anybody swimming in it.
There are cliffs you can jump from into th ocean, or step down a ladder for snorkelling.
The cliffs are where most serious snorkelers come and not the beach. You will see practically nothing snorkeling on the beach area.
There are other hotels close by which you are free to visit and stay the afternoon. Rockhouse is next door and Tensing Pen further south. Everything is within walking distance, but a lot of people use the cab as it is simply safer. (2 lane windy road is treacherous with speeding drivers)
Cabs will continually honk their horns at you hoping to get a fare.
So let me tell you why I love this place........
at approx $100 per night including breakfast it is simply the best bang for your buck.
16 rooms gives you the feeling of a exclusive boutique hotel with privacy , peace and quiet.
You almost feel like a celebrity who demands that kind of privacy.
All at a fraction of the cost of the other finest hotels on this strip ..ie Rockouse,Catcha Falling Star, Tensing Pen, Moondance Cliffs , th Caves and The Spa Resort etc. Those resorts all
start around the $300 range and go up to over $1000 per night?
Why pay that? Its all the same ocean water, rocks, coral, cliffs, all basically the same view.
Give me all that and a comfortable room and good security and Bobs your uncle!
The security here was exceptional. Guards day and night. You don't see the night guys as they are undercover .
Further the rooms here had telephones that worked well and all calls within Jamaica are free!
Excellent for room service, security and anything else you need. The front desk is prompt to answer and helpful with most requests.
Loved going to the beach. The staff get to know you at both locations. All very friendly and helpful. If you book a room at the beach beware there are only 2 oceanfront rooms.
The owner/manager "June" was on hand most days and very pleasant and always making sure
your stay is a pleasant one.
Note: the only extra cost here is internet. $12 per day, or $36 per week .
I would not bring children or toddlers here, or practically any resort on the cliffs. Its just too
dangerous. Adults only. Bring your kids to the beach.....Breezes is the resort I believe.

This hotel exceeded my expectations and I would say is probably the best kept secret in Negril.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    19
    7
    8
See reviews for
13
28
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My sixth time to Negril, second time staying on the cliffs.

We are low maintenance people, so this place is just fine. The grounds are nice, the rooms are clean, but outdated and could use some cosmetic work, but if that does not bother you, you are good to go. Rock house is right next door, which is lovely. Buy a drink there and use their free WiFi since Sunset doesn't have it for free.

The sister property, Sunset on the Beach is nice, and is the last hotel on the strip, which means it is quiet, and very close to town center so you can easily go to HiLo or Cambio from there via 10 minute walk. This trip we split our time staying on the cliffs and staying on the beach. A nice way to visit Negril.

Quiet place, with breakfast (not buffet) included. The coffee is the worst I've had in Jamaica (didn't think it was possible to have a bad cup of coffee inJamaica, but apparently it is). But the breakfast is nice.

I think every room has a view of the cliffs and ocean, which obviously is a great deal for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This Oceanfront resort is really quite amazing considering the cost per night. It is basic BUT clean. THe cliffs views are fantastic. We watched dolphins playing in the sea as we ate lunch at their restaurant. The staff are extremely friendly. The grounds are patrolled by security day and night. You get a daily shuttle to their sister hotel on Seven Mile beach and can use their facilities also.
The restaurant is good and provides a lovely view of the sea.
We paid $89.00 u.s. per night per room (not per person) for a full breakfast included.
Terrific price for this place. I will return.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper unit for better views, although all rooms are oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We recently took our Honeymoon to Negril on the suggestion of a family member who visits yearly. He suggested Sunset on the Cliffs. The excellent thing about this Hotel is that it is quiet, safe, and you have a free shuttle that will take you back to the beach in the late morning and will take you back mid afternoon.

We did pay extra for a limited all inclusive. Could we have saved some money by eating out at food stands, sure, but it was so enjoyable to not have to worry about going grocery shopping and the rum punch was great.

This is NOT a luxury resort. BUT. We were more than pleased with our stay at Sunset on the Cliffs. Bonus - They have a diving platform near the cliffs. The pool was clean and the meals were nice. We stayed a week, so we did get to know the staff well. They went out of their way to make our trip great. The papaya was fantastic!

We had A/C in our room. There is some bleed-over noise. We were right under the dining balcony and heard spoons and other items dropped above, but it didn't bother us.

If you venture to the beach, stay on the Hotel's property. Security will watch out for you and chase away the hustlers. :) What an excellent, relaxing place!

The only complaint we had was regarding the bed and pillows. The bed was iffy, but bring pillows or ask for an extra. They were super flat and we both had neck aches from the pillows.

Besides the bed and pillows, it was an excellent home base for us and I would love to return!

Room Tip: Room 605 is great with an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is at a great location. Unfortunately the customer service needs some work. I found the staff, with the exception of the groundskeeper (Melvin), needs to be trained on hospitality. We booked three rooms at only 1 room was ready at check in time at 4pm. When we complained about this the manager check on the other two rooms and notified us that they are ready. But we later found out that one of the rooms had dirty sheets and comforter which had to be replaced later that night when we complained. No towels were in room and we had to wait hours to receive towels after requesting them. The breakfast was very slow took over an hour to receive meal. I think this hotel has great potential if they just work on the basics of hospitality. The location was great and we enjoyed our time jumping off of the cliff into the ocean and hanging by the pool. There are taxis readily available in front of the hotel that can take you to the square and/or beach for only ~$1US ($100JA) each person. Walking distance to nice restaurants like the push cart. So I would go here again if this hotel improves on the basics!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Let me start this review by pointing out the obvious.....SSOTC is a budget property. However, it is not budget in a bad way!

First, when I booked this property through booking dot com I couldn't believe the price, which included tax and full breakfast. However, the hotel gladly honored the reservation, and, upon check-in upgraded me to one of the nicest rooms on the property, an oceanfront king-bedded unit with great balcony, fridge, cold ac, clean bathroom, plenty of closet and dresser space and a reasonably firm bed. Oh, and about 800 square feet and a vaulted ceiling with ceiling fan to boot! I have no complaints about the room. Since it is a second floor room, you have to wait anywhere from two to five minutes before the hot water makes its way up. No shortage of hot water, the water pressure wasn't the greatest, but was more than serviceable. The only small issue is the size of the room safe. It is too small to fit a 10" netbook. In fact, this is the smallest room safe I have seen! The towels were replaced as requested, there WAS a bathmat and, contrary to others, you can get a beach towel at either property by showing your towel card, no worries.

I took my breakfasts and one very late lunch on the property. There is one restaurant, which, contrary to prior reviews is not overpriced. It has typical prices for Negril hotel food. The breakfasts were OK, with the callaloo, cheese and bacon omelet being my favorite. Sometimes the omelets were a bit overcooked, but that isn't terribly uncommon in Negril. Skip the continental breakfast, small portions of fruit, 1/2 of a piece of toast....feh....my late lunch was curry chicken and it was fine. The portion was very large.

The staff is what helps make this property a bit special. The bar/restaurant staff are friendly, competent and fun. Tip of the hat to Millicent, TracyAnne, Clevon and KITWAN!! The drinks are priced fairly for a hotel property in Negril.

Security is tight. There was always a guard on duty, both night and day. The grounds are very well maintained.

The swimming pool is both very large and VERY deep for Negril. And, spotlessly clean. It could use a fresh coat of bottom paint, but it doesn't effect your enjoyment. Plenty of chairs and tables poolside.

The hotel is located upon the cliffs of the WestEnd. There is a very easy entry/exit to the ocean here and a very tall and very scary jumping platform! Cliff jumping is a long-time tradition in Negril, and I always enter the ocean this way! Snorkeling is good here as well. If you find a pair of vintage FosterGrant's on the bottom of the ocean by the jumping tower...those are MINE!!! LOL!

There is a shuttle to the sister property, Sunset on the Beach, but it only leaves once per day. It was easier for me just to hail a cab when it was convenient for me. You are free to use the facilities at the sister property, and some of the bar/restaurant staff rotate between the two. The sister property has a fine beach location, but is usually quite a bit more expensive.

The WestEnd of Negril is a very relaxed area, and this hotel fits in well. It is not a tiny property, but it is not big, by any means. Actually, to my tastes, it was just the right size. Many people who stay here are quite active so that even when the hotel is above 50 percent capacity, you may not see any other guests, other than at breakfast. Perfect for me, but if you are looking for a vibrant social scene....this isn't your hotel. If you are looking for laid back, you've come to the right place.

In conclusion, if you are considering staying here, and are shopping by price, I can't imagine doing much better. I will gladly return.

Any questions or comments, feel free to PM me!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms oceanfront are the best. Room 708 would be a great choice, although the breakfast se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negril, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Vacations are very personal, but basic good standards will always share general agreement.
Sunset on the Cliffs, was for me, a great value, relative to its more noted neighbors,
but lacked nothing in having good rooms with excellent cliff-side, ocean view private patio, a
decent size bathroom, with all the expected amenities (i.e. hot water, cable t.v, air conditioning).

An charming elevated pool, next to a decent bar and restaurant, overlooks the cliff side,
with many private "chill-spots". This is a wonderful hotel if you like quiet, snorkeling,
and cliff jumping.
Staff was adequate, grounds-keeper very helpful

Room Tip: Second Floor rooms, facing the cliffs and Caribbean sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset on the Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset on the Cliffs Resort

Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Coral Seas Cliff Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#10 Luxury Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset on the Cliffs Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Venere, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sunset on the Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset On The Cliffs Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset on the Cliffs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.