We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Service needs work” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset on the Cliffs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sunset on the Cliffs Resort to your Saves list
Sunset on the Cliffs Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West End Road, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Coral Seas Cliff Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 91 Hotels in Negril
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great location, Service needs work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is at a great location. Unfortunately the customer service needs some work. I found the staff, with the exception of the groundskeeper (Melvin), needs to be trained on hospitality. We booked three rooms at only 1 room was ready at check in time at 4pm. When we complained about this the manager check on the other two rooms and notified us that they are ready. But we later found out that one of the rooms had dirty sheets and comforter which had to be replaced later that night when we complained. No towels were in room and we had to wait hours to receive towels after requesting them. The breakfast was very slow took over an hour to receive meal. I think this hotel has great potential if they just work on the basics of hospitality. The location was great and we enjoyed our time jumping off of the cliff into the ocean and hanging by the pool. There are taxis readily available in front of the hotel that can take you to the square and/or beach for only ~$1US ($100JA) each person. Walking distance to nice restaurants like the push cart. So I would go here again if this hotel improves on the basics!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    23
    20
    7
    8
See reviews for
14
28
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Let me start this review by pointing out the obvious.....SSOTC is a budget property. However, it is not budget in a bad way!

First, when I booked this property through booking dot com I couldn't believe the price, which included tax and full breakfast. However, the hotel gladly honored the reservation, and, upon check-in upgraded me to one of the nicest rooms on the property, an oceanfront king-bedded unit with great balcony, fridge, cold ac, clean bathroom, plenty of closet and dresser space and a reasonably firm bed. Oh, and about 800 square feet and a vaulted ceiling with ceiling fan to boot! I have no complaints about the room. Since it is a second floor room, you have to wait anywhere from two to five minutes before the hot water makes its way up. No shortage of hot water, the water pressure wasn't the greatest, but was more than serviceable. The only small issue is the size of the room safe. It is too small to fit a 10" netbook. In fact, this is the smallest room safe I have seen! The towels were replaced as requested, there WAS a bathmat and, contrary to others, you can get a beach towel at either property by showing your towel card, no worries.

I took my breakfasts and one very late lunch on the property. There is one restaurant, which, contrary to prior reviews is not overpriced. It has typical prices for Negril hotel food. The breakfasts were OK, with the callaloo, cheese and bacon omelet being my favorite. Sometimes the omelets were a bit overcooked, but that isn't terribly uncommon in Negril. Skip the continental breakfast, small portions of fruit, 1/2 of a piece of toast....feh....my late lunch was curry chicken and it was fine. The portion was very large.

The staff is what helps make this property a bit special. The bar/restaurant staff are friendly, competent and fun. Tip of the hat to Millicent, TracyAnne, Clevon and KITWAN!! The drinks are priced fairly for a hotel property in Negril.

Security is tight. There was always a guard on duty, both night and day. The grounds are very well maintained.

The swimming pool is both very large and VERY deep for Negril. And, spotlessly clean. It could use a fresh coat of bottom paint, but it doesn't effect your enjoyment. Plenty of chairs and tables poolside.

The hotel is located upon the cliffs of the WestEnd. There is a very easy entry/exit to the ocean here and a very tall and very scary jumping platform! Cliff jumping is a long-time tradition in Negril, and I always enter the ocean this way! Snorkeling is good here as well. If you find a pair of vintage FosterGrant's on the bottom of the ocean by the jumping tower...those are MINE!!! LOL!

There is a shuttle to the sister property, Sunset on the Beach, but it only leaves once per day. It was easier for me just to hail a cab when it was convenient for me. You are free to use the facilities at the sister property, and some of the bar/restaurant staff rotate between the two. The sister property has a fine beach location, but is usually quite a bit more expensive.

The WestEnd of Negril is a very relaxed area, and this hotel fits in well. It is not a tiny property, but it is not big, by any means. Actually, to my tastes, it was just the right size. Many people who stay here are quite active so that even when the hotel is above 50 percent capacity, you may not see any other guests, other than at breakfast. Perfect for me, but if you are looking for a vibrant social scene....this isn't your hotel. If you are looking for laid back, you've come to the right place.

In conclusion, if you are considering staying here, and are shopping by price, I can't imagine doing much better. I will gladly return.

Any questions or comments, feel free to PM me!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms oceanfront are the best. Room 708 would be a great choice, although the breakfast se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negril, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Vacations are very personal, but basic good standards will always share general agreement.
Sunset on the Cliffs, was for me, a great value, relative to its more noted neighbors,
but lacked nothing in having good rooms with excellent cliff-side, ocean view private patio, a
decent size bathroom, with all the expected amenities (i.e. hot water, cable t.v, air conditioning).

An charming elevated pool, next to a decent bar and restaurant, overlooks the cliff side,
with many private "chill-spots". This is a wonderful hotel if you like quiet, snorkeling,
and cliff jumping.
Staff was adequate, grounds-keeper very helpful

Room Tip: Second Floor rooms, facing the cliffs and Caribbean sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negril Harbour, Westmoreland, Jamaica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have stayed hear 10 times and these are the wrong pictures so be wear.its nice and clean pool is nice.its a little out dated but dependes on what you are looking for.good location on the cliffs.rooms need updating.the grounds and gardens are nice.people very helpfull and nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Sunset on the cliffs is a nice place to stay stayed there for two nights when we got to the reception the lady at the desk was very nice we was shown our room which was a superior garden view the view was amazing we had bath towels and the ac did work the breakfast was very nice staff was also very nice the only thing is the pool is deep if u have kids that can't swim which I did but they stayed at the shallow end would recommend it to anyone who wants to get away for a few nights I would not advice you to eat at the hotel as the prices are very high go to the town and eat where it is cheaper will be going back there next year December 2013 for a few day

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

On one was at the front desk when the hurricane passed over the island and the light was out, they didnt make any provision for the guests, luckly i brought a flashlight with me. Other than that mishap the staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Second floor, ocean view, rooms are large
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobay
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I'm a local and decided to get away for the weekend my wife and I. The pics on the website seemed ok based on the fact we weren't looking for anything luxurious, just a little chill out spot of r the 2 days away. First the rooms were in a deplorable condition, the bed had some sort of protective plastic on it and the ac unit was barely working. The bathroom was a mess, NO HOT WATER, NO TOWELS AND NO BATHROOM MATS. We checked out faster than we checked in. We could not stay the night so we booked at breezes grand negril which thank god saved our little trip. To make matters worst, they don't refund unless we had booked from the website and gave a 30 days notice for cancellation. This is exactly how they make their money, by ripping people off.
DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY, TIME NOR ENERGY.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset on the Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset on the Cliffs Resort

Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Coral Seas Cliff Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#11 Luxury Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset on the Cliffs Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset on the Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset On The Cliffs Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset on the Cliffs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.