We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Seas Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Coral Seas Garden to your Saves list
Coral Seas Garden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 91 Hotels in Negril
Denton
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Small, locally owned hotel, not on the beach but across the street . . . nice gardens. We had rm 305 upstairs and in the back. All rooms have a table/chairs outside on the balcony. Our room was good sized, two dbl beds, tile floor, tv, a/c, big chair, dresser, tub/shower, hot water in the sink, soap but no shampoo, safe . . . a bargain at $50/nt.

The cons: No hot water until after noon one day, manager needed to flip switch and no one else could do it. Office was locked up when we needed something and every time we walked by. Bring earplugs, walls are thin and live music on some nights around the pool.

The pros: Good price, clean room, free wi-fi in/around office area.

Sandy (in Denton)

Room Tip: Rooms near the office can get wi-fi in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
10
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I just love staying at the Garden. They have really done an awesome job fixing up the place over the years. Nothing happens over night, but to see the changes is really great. This year was especially great. I wish I never had to leave the place. Everyone is so helpful and very protective. I traveled with my cousin and some friends this trip. I go every year in membrance of my mother. We had the time of our lives. Negril is just AWESOME!!! Looking forward to returning soon just because. I cant say enough good things about the Garden. Room is always clean, the housekeepers are great.

if you are looking for a nice, clean, hotel you have found the right spot. Just 15 clicks from the 7 mile beach also.

Any questions... I can answer them.

Room Tip: The bathroom is always a must for me. I can bring my own sheets and linen if need be, but if the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

The previous writers of the reviews, must have been paid to write what they did. The gardens are a mess, do not leave any valuables in your room, the staff have keys to your room and keys to the so called safe in the room. The maids are good, it is the other people who work for the place, the only good guy is the very old man who is always there, we stayed there for two weeks in April 2011, never again beware !!! The day receptionist is phony, never does anything for you, so do not bother to ask, do not bother to stay, stay on the beach if you have to, safer !!!!!!! Noise from across the street will keep you awake until late at night, no sound insulation between rooms, you know what that means, be quite, the pool was filthy,internet did not work.

Room Tip: yes, go to any other place
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

i have stayed at this hotel for the past 18 years 2 to 3 times per year. in the beginning it was called the golden nugget.it has been very nicely renovated.i would recommend this place to anyone.great staff,clean and well manicured gardens.i wsh the reviews for this place from years ago would be removed. they are not reflective of the hotel today.happy holidays

Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whycocomagh, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 1 week..was not our first choice but due to over booking this was it. The staff is very friendly and accomadating. Located directly across the road from 7 mile beach....was perfect no noise a small hotel nestled in a tropical forest...if you wanted the beach it is right there if you wanted the tranquil of your balcony it is right there. Christine and Marg in housekeeping are wonderful...linens and towels are crisp and white thanks to Devon....Louis the security gard is the best. Junior the driver is amazing...We have not one bad thing to say about this hotel and would most defenitely stay there again...tks to all see you soon....T&B NS Canada

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

I have stayed at the Coral Seas many times, the most recently being April 13 - 25. The rooms are very clean, the AC works well, there is security at night, and the staff are wonderful. The employees are friendly and promptly deal with any requests. The pool is wonderful in the late afternoon when the hummingbirds come out. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with many varieties of trees and plants. It is only a 10 minute walk to the roundabout in town, which saves on taxi fare. The hotel is walking distance to the Bourbon Beach and Alfreds where you can hear live reggae most nights. I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

We stayed in one of the Honeymoon Suites for our stay.

What we liked:

1) The grounds were well maintained and the gardens were really nice.
2) Our room was large and the bed was firm.
3) The pool in the back is fantastic. It has a bar, pool table and men's/women's showers.
4) Plenty of hot water and pressure.
5) Room was clean.


We would like to see the following improvements:

1) The pots & pans in the kitchen really need to be replaced.
2) The toaster was broken and burned the toast.
3) The taxis park right next to the property and the noise from this was a bit loud.
4) There are several restaurants very close to the property which crank up very loud music around 10PM at night.
5) The outdoor balcony was right next to the other outdoor balcony so the privacy was not there.
6) Every time we stepped near the very front of the property we were approached by people selling everything (and we have been to Jamaica many times, usually this is not an issue on other properties).
7) Maid service was a bit too early (10:30 AM) for us.
8) The bottom sheet on the bed kept coming off the mattress all week. They need new sheets.
9) Bathroon had a funky smell to it until we cleaned out the bathtub drain to remove all the backed up stuff.
10) The sound from the road was quite loud in our suite.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Seas Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Seas Garden

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 91 Hotels in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Seas Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooks Royal Palm Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coral Seas Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Seas Garden Negril
Coral Seas Garden Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Seas Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.