We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic!!”
Review of Pushcart Restaurant & Bar

Pirates Cave | Rockhouse Hotel, Negril, Jamaica
957-4373
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #38 of 135 restaurants in Negril
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Cuisines: Jamaican
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Street Food
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Street Food
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    132
    67
    37
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Pushcart Restaurant & Bar
See the most recent reviews
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Loved the atmosphere!Very good food!Service was impeccable.We went here our last night and would have gone again if we had more time!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic rum cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Quiet, cozy, intimate restaurant where you are put at ease while waiting for your food.

The food portions were on the smaller side. That said, the jerk chicken entree was greatly appreciated by bf and I, as it had a distinct smoky quality. Had a fantastic rum cake which are not as common in Jamaica as we expected (or maybe we just picked places that do not serve it?).

Props for wooden tables.!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Pushcart is just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have eaten many places in Negril. This was my first time at pushcart and based on other reviews I am surprised. The other reviewers must not get around much cause this is not close to the best Negril has to offer. I assume Rockhouse side will be better but Pushcart is really average. I have had better jerk at US knockoff Caribbean places. Drinks are ok but again just average. My recommendation get out to other Negril locations as pushcart is average and over priced living off the Rockhouse name.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Clinton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Quick appetizer - not appetizing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have lots of great things to say about Rockhouse's main restaurant, but not so much about the Pushcart. This is a little offshoot of the main hotel/restaurant and it's got a nice view, and even very nice staff. The drink i ordered rates 4 stars, but the food only 2. That's why I gave them a 3 overall. The jerk chicken skewers were small, grisly, and fatty. The "jerk sauce" was nothing like traditional jerk from jamaica. It tasted like it was from a jar. I won't be eating again at the pushcart.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pushcart wasn't worth the time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This used to be called 'Pirate's Cave' I think, and back then it was fun with good food. When it changed to Pushcart we decided to give it a try and it was disappointing. It was a beautiful setting and they had a great band playing, but the food was not good at all. I think I had the roasted fish and my friend had a lobster dish and we would NOT recommend either...

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pushcart Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Pushcart Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pushcart Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.