We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too impressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pushcart Restaurant & Bar

Pushcart Restaurant & Bar
Pirates Cave | Rockhouse Hotel, Negril, Jamaica
957-4373
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 177 Restaurants in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Food, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not too impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I have dined here twice now and will not be returning. On our most recent visit we waited an extremely long time for our food (even by Jamaican standards). When it finally came it was just mediocre and pricy for small portions.
The mento band was good however so I may pop in for a drink sometime

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kajah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quick stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We just stopped by here for a quick drink and something light to eat. Try the jerk sausage . That was excellent . I had the Pepperpot soup. It was good, , it's the first time that I have ever had it so I can't compare it to another .

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“We stop here every visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The food is consistently good and love that you can get a martini and pinot grigio wine. The band was good too!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MMaurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mixed Review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We're a bit mixed about dining at Pushcart. I had a vegetarian dish, the Bushman stew. It was wonderful. A nice mix of legumes & vegetables in a spicy sauce on a bed of rice. It was nicely presented and the taste was delicious. My husband had a jerk platter with shrimp, chicken & pork with festival. It was nicely presented but the food was cold and dry - definitely overcooked and had been sitting around for a while. Not enjoyable.
We were there around 7 and the entertainment started. It was interesting. The group of three did a Jamaican version of folk music. It was something different than what we had experienced in other restaurants & bars in Negril. Once we realized what they were all about we relaxed and enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice Jamaican food & Friendly Staff at Push Cart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I don't know what they do to the staff but these are the friendliest and most helpful waiters/waitresses in Jamaica. It is a fantastic atmosphere in the evening or day overlooking the ocean on the cliffs on the west side of Negril. Food is good, staff is friendly, and it is good value for your dollar, they even have live entertainment. Must visit, we make this our regular evening eating spot when in Negril.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pushcart Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Pushcart Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing