We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love it and return as often as we can!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Negril Yoga Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Negril Yoga Centre to your Saves list
Negril Yoga Centre
1 Norman Manley Blvd. Beach Rd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 88 Hotels in Negril
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We love it and return as often as we can!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

If you're looking for a nice place to spend some time that is low key and easy on the budget, this is definitely worth considering. My husband and I have stayed there several times and look forward to returning. While it is a yoga center, many guests do not do yoga. That being said, they have a very experienced and knowledgeable yoga teacher who teaches based on the Iyengar method. Like much of Negril, the atmospher is laid back. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food from the kitchen, open from 7 a.m. to 3 p.m., is delicious. The cooks make yogurt and feta cheese from scratch. Like several of the other guests I have spoken to, I have found the food to be among the best offered in Negril and less expensive than some lesser quality restaurants. The cooks are very willing to accomodate guests according to dietary requirements and preferences. That being said, there is a communal kitchen for those who wish to cook their own food, and one room has a kitchen in it. The rooms are modest but certainly adequate. Some have air conditioners. Most have private baths although some do share communal facilities. Most have refridgerators. The landscape is robust with native flora. This really stands out relative to other hotels that developed as much of the land as possible and left only a small sample of the nature. Due to that and the cottages and rooms being relatively spread apart, guests can have a real sense of privacy. The center is not on the beach, but is only a couple of minutes walk from it. It is also about a 10 minute walk from Negril's main square. Plenty of good restaurants are also within walking distance ranging from budget to expensive. This is an ideal place to stay for women traveling alone or in a small group. That being said, my husband and I have gone many times together and enjoyed it a lot.

Room Tip: Look at the options on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    32
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
9
23
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

I stayed in both Casa 1 and Chickee on this trip. Both have their charms. In November 2010, I stayed in Casa 3 and it is still my favorite due to location and privacy. The staff pays attention but does not intrude. They are there when you need them. I love the garden atmosphere and the location is across the street from the beach and walking distance to town. Don't forget to say hello to Blondie, the resident dog, who sleeps all day and guards the grounds at night.

Room Tip: Casa 3 is my favorite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

The Negril Yoga Centre has a beautiful garden setting,several artfully colored huts and a big open yoga studio.Staff are very friendly and helpful,they have a big menu (breakfast,lunch,dinner),that would satisfy every taste.You are in for a very rustic experience,its no fancy hotel,my room was very nice and comfortable,also very basic (no radio or TV),I had a shared bathroom with the room I picked,which was almost outside,I took a shower in the tropical rain,it was awsome!There weren't too many other guests on the property,so it was a quiet and secluded.Bring Bug Spray and Ear Plugs!Mosquitos are everywhere and theres no glass on the windows so it could get a little noisy at night time if you are a light sleeper like me.The beach is across the street,and the stores and bank is a 5 min walk away.They are going to arrange transfers for you from Montego Bay,so you don't have to worry about that.
I had a great time,keeping in mind I travel alone,I would definetly stay there again and recommend it to my friends!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

From the moment of arrival all staff were friendly and helpful. All we need is bed to sleep, so thankfully no phones, telly, computers. yes okay you are in a tropical country so yes take some bug spray, but really not that bad, had friendly gecko and gorgeous emerald green humming bird to greet me most mornings in the lovely gardens. Annette and Melissa cooked us some fantastic authentic home cooking, l have tried to recreate, with some hope? plan to return again!! Delightful. Gennyx

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Let me first start this review by saying that we had a great time at the Yoga Centre! WIth that being said, there are a couple of things that I feel travelers must know before staying here. If you read this review, like what you hear, and then still go, you won't be disappointed and you'll have a great time.

1) this place is "RUSTIC" and located in the middle of a garden setting which means that you do have bugs... so come prepared to see some critters in your room ocassionally, it's nothing crazy, but I would recommend some bug spray to use before you go to bed

2) if you are a yoga person, the instructor at the center is wonderful, but don't go expecting some crazy power yoga workout, she teaches iyengar style yoga, which is great for alignment, but not so great for sweating

3) the kitchen is open for breakfast and lunch and meals are delicous and cheap, nothing fancy, but very authentic and fresh

4) the staff is very nice, but you are pretty much on your own at this place, so I would travel with a friend or a group as there is nothing to do on the property except sleep, eat, and do yoga in the morning

5) you will be staying in what resembles a hut, with no windows, only screens, and little water pressure, our cottage had an outdoor shower which was nice because you felt very close to nature, but not so nice because the water pressure was bad, and sometimes the shower water was cold

6) you can hear everything at night because there are no windows on the huts, so I would bring earplugs if you are sensitive to sound

7) the beds are not very comfortable

8) there is no wireless, no tv, and no phone

Basically, you come to this place because it's a great value, feels very authentic, is eco-friendly, and the staff is very nice. But keep in mind that it is no frills! If you book a stay at the Yoga Centre with this in mind, then you will have a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate, ny
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

this was a great place to stay in negril. i was a pegnant woman traveling alone and it felt safe inside the gate. i would give a heads up to anyone that there are no windows only screens, therefore you can hear everything around you. so at night it was generally loud for sleeping, everything from music down the street, dogs looking for food, and lovers having a go at in thier own rooms, kids up and on the move early in the morning. i loved the menu of food options, the daily yoga, friendly staff and the garden layout. it's in some sense a caribean hostile.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

NYC is a beautiful oasis from the sometimes high-intensity interactions on the "7-mile beach" (directly across the road). We stayed in Casa 3 for 5 nights; it faces a courtyard and has a beautiful private dining area. The light, sounds, and breakfasts were absolutely delicious in the mornings. Our first night was somewhat unsettling due to a lot of noise coming from Sunset on the Beach (they had a concert). We'd recommend bringing earplugs, just in case. But as the days went on, we looked forward to our breakfasts and lunches (excellent selection of foods--we highly recommend the Raquel salad) and the privacy of our hut. FYI: they do not cook dinner.

The food was priced very reasonably and was a great value! We loved ordering our meals to eat right outside our hut, and we took pictures of the food on many occasions. Make sure to try the blue mountain coffee--it's the best ever.

The accommodations were rustic and very modest. There were some lizard and ant situations around the bathroom, and the shower left something to be desired. But if you are ok with more of a campground feel to a shower, this will be perfect. For example, the shower would give warm water at best and the water pressure was very iffy.

The people on the grounds were very friendly and they had a very nice security guard on duty from around 6pm-6am. The staff were generally helpful in directing us toward tourist activities. We ended up going with John (driver known by NYC) to Roaring River. This was a fun 5-hour adventure and we saw a lot of the "real" Jaimaica--both on the way and during our visit.

We visited the beach everyday during our stay at the NYC. By the third day we were worn out. As you have probably read, there are many "hustlers," and they will try to sell you pretty much anything. We found it helpful to carry something in each hand while walking, as this way you don't need to shake hands--thereby limiting contact. A simple "no thank you" works in most situations... keep walking, don't stop (unless you're interested). We did enjoy the bananas sold by "Robert" (big sombrero). The "hustlers" are generally friendly, but remember that their main concern is getting your money. Contact the NYC staff in order to get ideas about traveling beyond the beach scene (find someone you can trust). Also, look for taxis with red plates, these legit.

You may need to go into Negril in order to get money from the ATM (as there are none provided near the hotels). At Scotia Bank there are two ATMs, and one provides funds in either US or Jamaican.

We went to the Rockhouse hotel (on the cliffs) after our stay at the NYC. It was a nice retreat from the beach and downtown Negril. We highly recommend the Rockhouse in addition to the NYC.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Negril Yoga Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Negril Yoga Centre

Address: 1 Norman Manley Blvd. Beach Rd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#39 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Negril Yoga Centre offers our guests Sunshine & Serenity ~Jamaican Style! CELEBRATING 33 years of Excellence, offering relaxing and comfortable accommodations, in a tropical garden setting, across from the MOST BEAUTIFUL BEACH in Jamaica: Negril's FAMOUS 7-Mile Beach. The Negril Yoga Centre, offers a laid-back atmosphere, and a friendly and safe haven to renew your Mind, Body, Heart and Soul. We offer daily Yoga Classes and Spa Services. Guests who are drawn to our "little oasis" are enchanted with the friendliest and most helpful staff on the island! We are like one BIG family at the Negril Yoga Centre, and our guests return year after year to see old friends and make new ones. Our legendary Jamaican Chef provides all natural, farm-to-table cuisine. We use all locally grown fruits and vegetables, create fresh juice and vegetable smoothies, homemade cheeses and so much more! Please consider staying with us on your next vacation or retreat, or simply stop by for an invigorating yoga class, a walk through the gardens, and follow it up with a wonderfully healthy, delicious meal in an outdoor, casual setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Negril Yoga Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negril Yoga Centre Hotel Negril
Yoga Centre Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Negril Yoga Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.