We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow down and enjoy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Home Sweet Home Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Home Sweet Home Resort to your Saves list
Home Sweet Home Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   West End Rd, Negril 20147, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Berkshires, MA
1 review
“Slow down and enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

It took a day day or two to slow down and get adjusted to Jamaica time, but eventually we did. Our room number 12 had a spectacular view of the ocean. There was a bit of work going on at the property (room makeovers), which our room hadn't been through as of our stay. It didn't matter though as the view made up for it. If they can polish up a few of the other rough edges, this could be a first class Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful with all of our wishes and desires. Terry the manager and chef was awesome and we wished that we would have stayed in for dinner at least one night...we definitely will on our return to HSH in the future. Just another note: the Inn is located up the road from the "beach" in what is known as the "west end". This is a much more desirable location to the busy high traffic beach area. Stay at the cliffs of the west end and go to the beach during the day.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    89
    12
    11
    7
See reviews for
26
118
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

we arrived tired and grouchy from an awful flight down, but after a good nights sleep and time to appreciate all that was around us we fell in love with home sweet home. terry took care of us very well and boy can she cook, only place i have been asked how i want my dinner created, dinner is worth coming back for. this is not the trendy cookie cutter big chain hotel with every ammenity known to man, if you need that you should go somewhere else(save this place for those of us who can appreciate it). if you are looking for a smaller hotel on the cliffs with very personal attention, this is it. yes there are newer more updated superhotels, but this is the place for the less touristy escape from the busy-ness of the beach. wake up to hear the ocean crashing on the cliffs, walk down and swim or snorkle in the ocean. wander the west end checking out the views and enjoying the people and come home for the best meal you will have in negril. wifi if you need it, great views, pool, location and service. had a great time.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

We just got back from our 7th trip to Negril. We’ve stayed at a few different places on the cliffs as well as a couple of the 7 Mile Beach Resorts and HSH ranks at the top. We found HSH to be the best value in Negril. This was our second stay with Home Sweet Home in the last 3 years and the new owners have done a great job updating this resort. The property was very clean, everything was in good working order and the views are incredible! Access to the water was great and the snorkeling was the awesome! We had some of the best meals found anywhere on the island at their restaurant. In comparison, many of the beach resorts are nice, however, you have to deal with the peddlers. The area around HSH is very quaint and comfortable, we found ourselves walking around the neighborhood to a few of the local restaurants and shops. Some of the other cliff resorts (even the really expensive ones) are not as lucky...as there are loud bars with amplified music nearby which can be quite annoying. If you’re looking for a safe, quiet, comfortable place with an amazing staff be sure to try HSH.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

This was my second trip to Jamaica and we decided to stay on the Cliffs at Home Sweet Home rather than on the beach. I highly recomend staying on the Cliffs if you want to get away from all the tourists and crowds on the beach. The snorkeling on the cliffs around Home Sweet Home was awesome as well. We ate at all the top restaurants as well and concluded that Terry's meals at Home Sweet Home were the best.. Terry made an amazing lobster feast for New Years dinner with her own special butter sauce. If you go there make sure you try her declicious deserts like her fudge brownies as well.

I also highly recomend that you go on one of their "local" tours with their your own personal driver who will show you all of the local attractions that a lot of people don't even know about. I enjoyed seeing the homes of the famous reggae superstars and learning all about the past history of Jamaica that only a local would know.

In summary, we loved staying at Home Sweet Home and are already planning our next trip back there. Thank god for having high speed internet all over the resort and in our room; now we can work from our second home away from home :)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

Been back for two days and we already miss our "home" . Living in Manhattan, the place we have always considered "home" is now on the back burner. We had such a wonderful stay... It was hands down the best two week vacation we've had in awhile. This resort is really special, from the team who run it, to the fantastic location... The place is great! The fireworks from the roof deck over the restaurant were the best I have seen anywhere. See you next December!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new haven ct
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

We happen to stay during the week the new owners and their family's were vacationing. We got to know them pretty well and it truly seems they are there to do great things with not just the resort but the region as well. Terry-Ann the manager of both the hotel and the restaurant adds the perfect charm to this resort. Friendly and outgoing was always her pace! Our long afternoon's by the pool was perfectly attended to by the staff and the cocktails were perfect!!! We have grown to love the resort over the past 5 years. The new owners have given Home Sweet Home the shot in the arm it needed and i would highly recommend singles, couples, groups and family's consider this as their destination in Negril.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
postal33
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

The resort was clean and the staff was incredibly friendly! The location was perfect and created a peaceful and serene atmosphere. Home Sweet Home was the perfect place to enjoy the beauty of Jamaica!!!

Monica Calder

USA

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Home Sweet Home Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Sweet Home Resort

Address: West End Rd, Negril 20147, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#20 Family Hotel in Negril
#34 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Home Sweet Home Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HSH Resort - Nestled on the beautiful cliffs of Negril, you'll find your tropical home away from home. Offering 14 spacious rooms, each with a private veranda and a breathtaking view of the Caribbean.Explore the island or never leave the resort! Our goal is provide you an atmosphere where you create your own brand of fun and relaxation.You can spend your entire sun-drenched days and moonlit nights here! We look forward to having you as our guest, where you will enjoy the most spectacular sunsets in all of Jamaica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Home Sweet Home Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Sweet Home Hotel Negril
Home Sweet Hotel
Home Sweet Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Sweet Home Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.